10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

YUMMY! I made these to go along with Cajun Meatloaf. Since the oven was already going to be on, I baked these potatoes instead of grilling them (350*F for 70 minutes - they cooked along side the meatloaf). I only cooked 2 potatoes (2 of us eating) and wrapped each potato with 2 slices of bacon. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. I really enjoyed the subtle hint of cilantro - I was worried the herb would overpower everything else, but it didn't. A nice change of pace for baked potatoes, simple to prepare, and really pretty on the plate (please see my picture of the "final product"). Great recipe! Made for the Groovy GastroGnomes of ZWT5!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NELady May 31, 2009

I love the idea of the bacon wrapped around the potato, I had large potatoes and baked them in the oven so they took well over an hour, I used butter in place of the oil, thanks for sharing Kate, this was made for the Carribbean region/ZWT 5

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencalskitchen May 28, 2009

Great spin on baked potato! Big hit with dh! Made cheesy cauliflower casserole so baked along with that. Appreciate the simplicity. Thank you for a repeater.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal March 20, 2014

I made these Saturday night for dinner guests. They were enjoyed by everyone. So simple to make. We made them on the gas grill. We served these along side of Pork Chops - Southern Style and a wedge salad. Pork overload! This is such a simple and creative idea. I had sour cream, bacon bits, cilantro, chives and cheese on the side for everyone to make their own loaded baked potato. Thank you for this recipe, it made for a wonderful dinner. (Made for PRMR)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 June 03, 2013

Very good. Made on the smoker. Took about 3 hours.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 December 27, 2011

Well in my opinion, adding bacon to almost anything makes it taste even better!!! This was great way to make a potato!!! I was making it to serve along with a marinated flank steak, but wasn't sure how much propane was left, so I started it out in the oven and then when it was time to grill the steaks, I added it also to the grill. I didn't add any cilantro and used a little butter along with the olive oil. Thanks for sharing Kate. Made for stars tag!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 July 10, 2009

These potatoes are beyond awesome. There is nothing that bacon doesn't make better. The olive oil and cilantro was lovely on them although I did use a little less of both. These potatoes accompanied Sweet and Sour Kielbasa Kabobs. We will be finding these on our table many more times over the summer. Thanks for sharing your recipe. Made for ZWT Hell's Kitchen Angels. **Picked as one of my top 2 for ZWT5!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaV June 07, 2009

I made these in the oven as I'm out of propane right now for my grill so I baked them at 350 for 1 & 1/2. I didn't use the cilantro as I didn't have any but did use the olive oil. These tasted great and are quick and easy to make. I will be making these again when we go camping. Thanks fro posting. Made for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shari2 June 05, 2009

Not really sure what happened but I baked them for 45 minutes on the grill and when I unwrapped the foil - all that was left of the bacon was a burnt chard mess. The recipe doesn't really say whether or not to use raw or cooked bacon - so I used precooked and I'm guessing that was possibly the problem. Anyways the combination of the oil and cilantro on the potato was really great- we really enjoyed that part! Made & enjoyed for ZWT5

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin_nurse May 29, 2009

This is one Hot Potato! They are delicious! The bacon flavor was so very subtle throughout the potato and worked amazingly well with the olive oil and cilantro. They were also very easy - so much flavor for so little work! I used smaller bakers which took the required time so would suggest that larger bakers may take a bit longer on the grill. This is one recipe that we'll make again and again. Thanks KateL! Made for ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acerast May 26, 2009
Baked Potatoes With Bacon from 3 Guys Cuban Recipes