10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Simple and good. Thanks for sharing. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme January 08, 2013

I'm not going to put a star rating yet because I think my oven may have been the problem. Lots of smoke and the potatoes didn't taste as fantastic as everyone has said. Hmmm... I may have to try them again sometime, maybe at a lower temperature or something...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chesska January 03, 2011

These were great! I was really being bad so decided to put bacon on top of the potatoes. Needless to say, since I had just made fresh bacon, I used the bacon drippings to coat the potato instead of canola oil (decadent I know!). They turned out great. Crunchy on the outside, steamy and creamy on the inside. Yum! Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender August 17, 2008

who would believe that making a great baked potato was so easy, i have tried every way possible and even roasted them on a bed of kosher salt (big coarse grains) and nothing compares to these! Thanks again for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ItalianMomof2 September 11, 2006

These potatoes are so good ~ just like a restaurants!! I made them for supper and we all raved about how good they are. The potato was fluffy and just perfect with our steaks. Thanks so much for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lvs2Cook July 30, 2006

Finally, a good understanding of how to bake potatoes!! Ours took 1 1/2 hours since they were giant bakers, and were oh so fluffy and good. This must be how they make them in restaurants. We were "not very hungry" and still ate one whole huge one each!! THANK YOU!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasBlonde July 26, 2006

I don't know what makes these potatoes special...but they are!!! DH is still raving about them. I grilled them this time, but I believe this will be my baked potato recipe year round.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deely November 20, 2005

Very delicious potatoes! They were very fluffy, and tasted great. We only put butter on ours, and served grilled chicken and biscuits with it. YUM! One thing I did need to do though, was put a cookie sheet on the rack underneath to catch some dripping oil. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda Beth October 17, 2005

Loved the photo Jan took of these potatoes and baked potatoes isnt something we have often..even though we do love them..have to admit to loving sour cream and chives on them too! Great recipe, thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* May 26, 2005

I've been making my spuds like this since our cookery teacher told us to 35 years ago. I like a grinding of salt over them after oiling them, and sorry, but I love sour cream on them. I also like to use them as a base for other toppings, but good old sour cream is a must sometimes ;-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS May 23, 2005
Baked Potatoes Forever!