Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    151 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 151

    Sort by:

    • on March 08, 2010

      I realize that anything less than a five-star review for such an obviously adored recipe won't win me any fans, but I do have a few comments about this soup recipe. First off, how could anyone make this in a medium saucepan? Eight cups of milk, a stick of butter, a cup of sour cream, four large potatoes, fourteen strips of bacon? What's the definition of "medium" here? I used my biggest pan of all, the dutch oven, and it still threatened to slosh over the top with all that whisking. Then, the issue of seasoning... this soup needs a TON of salt, in my book. I added regular, garlic, onion, and seasoned salt -- without it, it tasted a bit like wallpaper paste, even with all that bacon, onion and cheese... kind of peculiar. Since it requires so much seasoning (salt, mainly), the seasonings should really be listed in the ingredients and directions, in my opinion. With no direction given, I went ahead and roughly chopped my baked potatoes before adding to the milk mixture, but the soup was then hugely lumpy. I used a potato masher to squash it down, which allowed for a much better consistency and texture. I also wonder about those potato peels... wish I had chopped mine up a lot smaller, as I'm making the soup for some neighbors with little kids, and I wonder if the kids will be grossed out by the big pieces of potato peel. All in all, I think this recipe is kind of heavy on the work, light on the finished product, but I realize I'm in a definite minority here -- sorry, just have to be honest! P.S. Since posting this review, I feel I must add that the flavor of this soup was outstanding, especially the next day. With adjustments for pan size and seasonings, I can see how it earned all those five-star reviews. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2010

      Let me start out by saying, I used this recipe as my starting point and worked from there. The recipe is good, but I used my ideas to sort of cut the fat, and I didn't really like the idea of the peels being just stirred in. Anyway, I started out by sauteing the green onions with some celery (my g-ma always added celery to hers) and then made the rue (sp?). I then added 1 reg sized chicken broth, and then used FF half and half/ 1% milk to make the consistency that I wanted. I also used baby red's (peel and all), cut them into the pieces and just cooked them in the soup. It is really a challenge to get seasonings right (IMHO), so for this I used cayenne, s/p, and some all purpose seasoning. Off the heat, I added the cheese and some RF sour cream and used RF bacon bits in the end. It really was a nice, quick flavorful soup. I thought that this recipe was a great place to start!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2003

      This soup is wonderful, Evelyn. We had it for supper the other night and my whole family gave it 5 enthusiastic stars*****. I thought adding the chopped potato peels was a great idea and something I haven't tried before. The bacon and cheese add just the right yummm factor. My husband and I took the left-overs to work for lunch. Thanks for a lovely recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2011

      Your recipe is totally going to replace my old recipe from now on! I'll confess that I wrote down the recipe wrong and so only used 6 cups milk and a little less than 1 c cheese, but it was delicious nonetheless! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2011

      Recipe as written was ok, not one that I would make again. However, it was a fantastic base. I cooked celery and chopped onion in the butter then added the flour to make the roux. I used a mixture of half milk and half 1/2 & 1/2, added seasoning salt, sea salt and pepper. I also omitted the skins just personal preference. We will continue to play until I get it perfect, but its getting closer. thanks for getting me started

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      We love this soup! (It is just like another recipe that I have but couldn't find in my pile of moving boxes.) I usually just chop up the potatoes with the skin on and put them in rather than scooping out the pulp and chopping half the skin. Makes it very easy and the skins are not a problem at all!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      This was excellent..I made it in the crockpot,I diced potatoes and put them in the crockpot first and then melted the butter over the stove and added the flour.I added the milk and minced garlic and brought it to a boil and continued to stir.Once the milk was hot,i added the sour cream and put the mixture over the potatoes in the crockpot and added the rest of the ingredients...wow this was wonderful.It took a long time for the potatoes to cook but it was really really good,i plan on making this again really soon.Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      This was yummy, perfect for tonight's snowy weather. My son, ever the enthusiast, proclaimed, "This is the best soup I have ever eaten!" So even though you seem to have plenty of reviews, I just had to add my compliments. I would agree with another reviewer that this makes more than what a medium pot would hold, especially because the whisking can get really shloppy. I thought my medium-large stockpot would be too big when I first added the milk, but the whisking does get crazy. I also added about 1/2 t each of seasoning salt and celery salt, about 1t of salt and 1/8 t pepper. Very good, filling soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      This has now become a staple recipe in our home! It reheats REALLY well in a crock pot! Thank you for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2004

      This is a great and delicious soup.Thick and hearty, I served it with sour dough crusty bread and a complete meal was served. Thanks!!!!!!!1

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2004

      This soup is sooo delicious. Baking the potatoes gives it a much better flavor than regular tater soup. I didn't have any green onions, so I chopped a large onion, sauteed it and added it to the soup along with 1 tablespoon minced garlic and 1 tablespoon chopped chives. My family started making "mmmmmming" noises when they tasted it and that is the absolute truth. I know this has become a favorite in our home. I can't wait to try some more of your recipes, Evelyn.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2014

      I just made this soup, and it was delicious! It's better than any I've had at any restaurant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2014

      This soup has a good taste, after you add a bunch of garlic powder, onion powder, seasoning salt and pepper. There is no way you can make this in a medium saucepan. It makes A LOT of soup and you have to use quite a bit more than 8 cups of milk to thin it out because it is very thick. We did like this and this is a good starting off recipe. Thank you evelyn/athens.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2013

      This recipe was pretty fast and very delicious. I loved it and it was thick enough and hearty enough for a bread bowl. Great flavor too. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2012

      Mine came out thick. Leftovers are like twice baked potatoes. Had a good flavor but I agree with another poster...no way could this be done in a medium sized pan and it needed tons of salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2012

      Loved it! Just needs a bit more seasoning to my taste, which I'll adjust next time I make it. I didn't put in the skins, but added saut?ed onions. Thank you for this great recipe, my kids want the leftovers for lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2012

      Delicious! I did have to add some salt though, I probably didn't use enough bacon, my bf kept swiping it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      Delicious for this cold weather.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2011

      I found this exact recipe in a newspaper years ago, been using it ever since. Everyone that has tried it loves it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2011

      Perfect soup, Evelyn! I had to change one thing, I ran out of milk so I used half milk/half chicken broth. This came out so good, I don't have any left. I used my own russets from the garden, some chives, and fresh bacon. How in the heck could you ever go wrong with such grand ingredients? I didn't have a problem with the salt content, and I mashed my potato with a fork before adding to the soup. No need for me to write a book, cause' I have soup to eat! Loved it! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (430 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 632.4
     
    Calories from Fat 412
    65%
    Total Fat 45.8 g
    70%
    Saturated Fat 26.6 g
    133%
    Cholesterol 128.9 mg
    42%
    Sodium 574.8 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.6 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 20.1 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites