10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is very good. I was a bit elastic with the amounts and added too much cream, which made it too rich, so be careful and taste as you go. I left the skin on the potatoes and cut them into approx 1/3" dice, which worked well (I had been worried the skins would float off, but they didn't). Might add some sweetcorn next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarahEmmm February 03, 2013

My whole family loved this soup, and it was simple to make. I used 2% Milk instead of cream, and added extra hot sauce. I also left the peels on the potatoes. Thanks for a great recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenk November 02, 2008

I did end up having to change this a bit due to what I had. I had precooked bacon in the freezer so I cooked the onion in about 4 Tbs butter. I also had 1 can of evaporated mil and used 2% milk for the balance. The addition of the tabasco sauce was great and I will definitely do it again. Thanks for a great basic recipe I will definitely use again :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tish December 05, 2006

I gave 4 stars for this soup as a base to add other stuff. The soup as is, I find a bit too bland and needs a little extra, definately salt. Great started but once made I also added about 1 cup frozen corn, I used about 1.5 cups of chopped cooked bacon ends, so I'm not sure how that translates into slices, and it wasn't very salty so maybe that was why I needed to add extra salt. I also added some ground thyme, about 1 tbsp worth, the same of basil and I used fresh 2 cloves of garlic (no powder). I am not able to use cream as DH is lactose intolerant, so it was missing a bit. I also added about 1 tbsp of tamari soy sauce, and worschester sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saylaveev December 28, 2007

Wonderful recipe! I will use it again. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica #7 January 19, 2007

DH said that this was the best potato soup that he had ever had. Next time I will cut back on the basil a bit. Only used 1/2 tp of tabasco since we aren't big on spicy food, otherwise followed the recipe to a T. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chippy January 03, 2007

I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I used yellow new-style potatoes instead of baking potatoes because that's all we had. At the end, I just smashed 'em a bit and let them simmer a little bit longer. They worked out just well. My only complaint was it seemed a little bland, so I added some spike seasoning at the end, a couple of teaspoons. Any other all-purpose salt-free seasoning would probably do the trick. It's a relatively blank slate, so you could treat it just like a baked potato! Great recipe! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Misspudding March 03, 2006

I had to try this recipe after I saw Newspapergal's wonderful photo. I'm so glad that I did because this is delicious soup! I used the evaporated milk instead of the cream and used Penzeys Chicken Soup Base to make the broth. I couldn't bring myself to use all of the bacon drippings (there was more than 1/2 a cup full), so I ended up using about 1 tablespoon or so and that worked just fine. Besides the great photo, this recipe appealed to me because it didn't call for sour cream (which I don't really care for much). Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 January 19, 2006

YUM! I used leftover garlic-roasted red potatoes instead of baking poatoes, and I used pre-cooked bacon, so I cooked the onions in a little butter. I topped each bowl with the bacon, cheese & green onion (instead of mixing bacon in). Otherwise, I followed the recipe. It's creamy, and flavorful -- DH & I both loved this! A keeper :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newspapergal January 10, 2006

I tried this recipe during the first snow of the season and it was met with rave reviews! Thanks for the great addition to the collection of Baked Potato Soups!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Likkel December 03, 2005
Baked Potato Soup