122 Reviews

I really was suprised by the flavour and tenderness of this recipe! It went over extremely well with my family as well. This is one that I will do again for sure! I did the recipe as published, with the exception of the water... I only used about 1/4 of a cup - just enough to swish the ketchup out of the measuring cup with. The next time I plan to exclude the water altogether, and add a cup of BullEye sauce, and instead of chops do a pork roast. I think this would be PERFECT for po' boy pulled roast sandwiches! Thanks for an excellent recipe! :o)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy Mommy January 28, 2009

I tried this recipe because I had some cheap (tough) pork chops and wanted to bake them but didn't want to use mushroom soup again. I had all the ingredients to this recipe so I tried it. Many mentioned watery, it needs to cook close to the full 2 hrs to thicken it up.I checked it at 1 1/2 and it was still like tomato soup, closer to 2 hrs its more like gravy. It also has a better flavor when its cooked long enough to be thick and the chops become more tender. I used balsamic, added onions and served it on yellow potatoes. It was much better than I thought as I am not a fan of this type of flavor, kind of BBQish. It wasn't too sweet either. I would serve it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BoldlyGoingNowhere January 17, 2009

5 stars for easy prep (from me, the cook) and 5 stars from DH, the meat-eater. I just mixed the sauce in the baking dish and then added the pork, turning once. I did have to modify a bit just to make it lower carb so used plain tomato sauce, splenda, and upped the spices a bit. I took other reviews into account and just left out the water. Now I just have to figure out a way to make it "look" like I slaved in the kitchen:) Thanks Sharlene!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi January 12, 2009

Some of the meat was tender, but the sauce was so watery it didn't stick to the meat to serve. Maybe i would try it again with less water added. The flavor lacked the punch I was expecting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annlouise January 03, 2009

I was looking for something different then plain ole pork chops. This was a great recipe!! even my 4 year old loved it and she is picky.... I didnt have quite a cup of ketchup so I added about 2 tbls of kraft sweet and sour sauce, added an extra zing. Was great and will definately be making these again! Thanks so much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamabearino4 November 20, 2008

I had very thin pork chops, so I cut the amount in half.As well as since I had my oven at 375 (i was making brown rice to go with) I only cooked them for 45 minutes, I could have probably cooked them less though.They were very tasty and moist.And I was a bit hesitant becuase I dislike BBQ sauce but this didnt taste like BBQ sauce at all.To me it tastes more like the sauce on porcupine balls(if anyone knows what that is).My family loved it and this recipe is a definetly a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bookybell November 05, 2008

This was good. I was in a hurry and needed something quick and easy so this fit the bill. I baked them along with roasted potatoes. They were a little dry after an hour and a half in the oven so next time I'll watch for that.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ihvhope November 03, 2008

DS and DH loved it! This recipe is easier than cooking pork chops in the crock pot, because you don't have to brown them. They come out tender. Watch the cooking time. I had a fairly thin pork chop and it took a little less than one hour. Next time I will cook 45 minutes and check them.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nicoleingermantown September 22, 2008

This was SO good. My picky 2 yo even ate some and asked me to make it again! It was VERY tender and the flavor was outstanding. I thought it was very easy, too. Once you combine everything, the oven does the rest of the work. I used thinner chops and cooked them for 1 1/2 hours.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nursewhitman September 17, 2008

delicious!!! so moist, these were perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shimmerz24 August 14, 2008
Baked Pork Chops