13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow, Wow and Wow is all I can say about this one.. You should have heard all the oh my this is so good and the Mum you have not made anything this great in ages.. I made extra tomatoes and filing as there was eight of us and we are a little piggy sometimes. Every single person that tried this thought it was outstanding and would have given more than five stars if it was allowed. I like another reviewer put the seeds and some of the pulp back in with the pesto.. I also used gruyere cheese as we are in Switzerland and you can not get monterey jack cheese here and we love gruyere.. Nurse Janey this was soooooo gooooooood and one that I will be making again many times as I have been requested by the family.. Totally gorgeous, really easy to prepare and absolutely fabulous on the flavour. A huge hit and a real winner as far as my family is concerned..

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Flying Chef August 06, 2011

Great combination of flavors. Made for Aus/NZ swap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn June 21, 2013

Made this with roma tomatoes and homemade pesto and this is a winner! This is so easy and a beautiful recipe to present. Thank you for posting. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup tag game 2013.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf May 29, 2013

Leftovers? What leftovers? We inhaled all of this fantastic dish in no time. Made as written, except that we can't get monterey jack cheese in Australia, so I used a cheddar. Thanks so much for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy March 25, 2013

I placed some of the called for cheese in the bottom of the tomato and mixed the remainder with the stuffing mixture with good results. I must say...I envy your abundance of tomatoes and wish I resided in 365 days a year tomato bliss.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng May 05, 2011

I needed to use some tomatoes and this recipe was perfect and I had everything on hand to do it­. It's so easy to do. Just a few ingredients and the taste is unbelievable. So yummy. Thanks Nurse Janey :) Made for the Australian recipe swap for May 2011

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette May 04, 2011

Great fresh side dish! I love tomatoes and basil so this was perfect. Quick and easy to prepare too. Thanks for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof June 27, 2009

I loved these so much, I've already made them twice! The second time, I scooped some of the tomato seeds and pulp out of the halves, and mixed it with the pesto cheese mix before re-filling the halves and baking them. An extremely easy and delicious vegetable that I will be making often, fabulous way to enjoy tomatoes! I used Tismes Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto in this recipe. Made for Aus/NZ swap#29

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth June 09, 2009

Amazingly delicious and altogether too easy to pass up.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TKSellman October 20, 2008

Wow, so much flavor. These tasty tomatoes were amazing. The combo of monterey jack cheese, green onion and basil pesto just kicked it out of the park for me, perfect just perfect. I'll be making these again often. They were quick to put together, really easy to make and everyone loved them. Thanks so much for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato October 10, 2008
Baked Pesto Tomatoes