12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! I read the reviews about the dish being on the dry side & considered altering the milk, eggs or adding applesauce, but instead I just baked it in four 6-oz ramekins instead of an 8x8 dish. I reduced the timing to 20 minutes & they were perfect. Moist on the inside & slightly firm to crunchy on the top. The only real changes I made to the recipe were to add about 1/2 cup pomegranate flavored dried cranberries & stirred in the spices instead of sprinkling on top. I did that because it wasn't actually me making the dish, but my DH & toddler DD. I stood by, barking out orders & filing my nails. LOL This recipe is super easy & breakfast was on the table in less than 30 minutes total. We're so happy we tried it & made a family affair out of it! :) Thanks for posting, loof! Made & enjoyed for Zaar Stars tag game.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** July 04, 2010

Delicious! My family loves baked oatmeal so I am always looking for different ways to make it. This goes together very quickly and easily and turned out perfect. I was a little surprised at previous reviewers who said that this was dry. Isn't that the way baked oatmeal is supposed to be? The whole idea is to scoop it into a bowl and add milk to it...right? This was a huge hit with my family. I guess that we have larger appetites than most as this would have only made 2 servings for my family. I'm glad that I doubled the recipe. I made this as written, except that I stirred the spices into the mixture instead of adding them on top, and I added a large handful of fresh blueberries. We really loved the addition of the chopped pecans. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe...it is definitely a keeper!!
*Made for 2010 Football Pool*

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill January 23, 2011

YUMMO. . .what a great way to start the day. . .and it was so easy to throw together! Perfect for this rainy fall morning. Next time I will use 1/4 cup sugar and see how that works, as it was a little too sweet for my taste. Of note, I used 2 T melted vegan margarine and 2 T walnut oil with great results. Also stirred my spices into the mixture instead of sprinkling them on top. This is an attractive and easy breakfast perfect for a weekday OR for company. THANKS! Made for Photo Tag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride October 14, 2009

The cinnamon was stirred into the oatmeal as was 1/4 cup of raisins and the brown sugar reduced to 1/3 cup. The pecans were scattered on top and finally sprinkled with a small amount of freshly grated nutmeg. ~Tasty Dish~ unfortunately is on a toddler hunger strike (she's not liking anything these days) and poor mommy had to eat her portion! My serving had a splash of milk around the edges and I felt I were cheating by eating pecan pie for breakfast! ;) Old fashioned oats worked out fine. I was a little worried because old fashioned is all I had on hand. (We eat a good amount of oatmeal in our household.) Buttering the pan was helpful as was letting the oatmeal sit about 5 minutes after removing from the pan to make slicing easier. Reviewed for Best of 2010.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl February 21, 2011

I love baked oatmeal. This recipe was very good and tasty. Baked oatmeal can be dry so we eat it with a little milk. Made fro your win Football pool 2010-divisional playoffs.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
School Chef January 17, 2011

Oh, loof, this is SO GOOD! Yum, yum, YUM! I took JB's advise and used 1/4 cup of packed brown sugar, and that worked perfect! Also, because a few chefs had mentioned that they found this a little dry, I added two apples, chopped & peeled. What a great addition! It was perfect, and I'll make it often. Thanks, loof! Made for 1-2-3 Hits.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen May 24, 2010

Really tasty! I made a couple of changes: Added about 1/2 cup dried cranberries, and since they are sweetened, cut the sugar to 1/3 cup. Both worked fine. Didn't bother cutting into squares-we just scooped it into bowls. Nice change from regular oatmeal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey February 12, 2012

I was not crazy about this, although I like nutmeg I didn't like it in this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureen in B.C. March 02, 2011

This was good and easy to make but I must agree with the other reviewers that it was a bit dry. I followed the recipe exactly as written. My son and I enjoyed it for breakfast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol November 06, 2009

I thought it tasted just like a pecan cookie 8+). Having read the other reviews I added an egg white to help with the moisture and crumbling, didn't help as it was still a little dry. But if you like baked oatmeal and pecan cookies, two of my favorites you will like this. Next time will use 2 two whole eggs and 3/4 cup milk. Thanks for the tasty post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl October 31, 2009
Baked Pecan Oatmeal