Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Pasta with Asparagus (Pasta al Forno con Asparagi) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Pasta with Asparagus (Pasta al Forno con Asparagi)

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on May 20, 2001

      This dish is excellant!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2001

      I just made this using nonfat ricotta cheese and light butter. I also used Pam Olive oil spray instead of butter to "butter" the pan. It was delicious and, I'm sure, considerably lower in calories and fat. Very easy to make as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2002

      This is a very tasty dish but I did a couple of things wrong. The recipe says to use a deep oven dish - I used a 2 1/2" dish and this made it a bit dry - I found that 20 minutes in the oven was not enough time to cook the eggs and brown the cheese. The asparagus only needs to be sauted for about 5 minutes (I like them crisp) It is easily enough for 8 persons if it is a side dish and not the main course. I am not awarding stars because I feel it was my errors that caused it to be dry and want to be fair in my rating a/o comments

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2001

      This is a great easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2001

      I expanded the recipe a little to feed a larger group and put sauteed chicken breast as the bottom layer. It could have used a tiny bit of chicken stock in the expanded recipe, but was an absolute success. Very well recived - thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2001

      This was great!!!Probably the best recipe from this site. I will make it again soon. Try it !!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2001

    • on September 16, 2001

      This dish is excellent. I have made it twice now and the second time I didn't have any ricotta cheese, so I used cottage cheese which was also good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2001

    • on July 23, 2001

      EXCELLENT, MY HUSBAND AND TWIN DAUGHTER''S GET FRESH ASPARAGUS BY THE POUND''S IN THE EARLY SPRING BY JUST WALKING ALONG COUNRTY ROAD''S..IT''S OUT THERE AND WE LOVE IT. I AM ALWAY''S LOOKING FOR NEW WAY''S TO PREPARE IT.. THIS IS VERY GOOD. IF YOU LOVE ASPARAGUS, YOU''LL LOVE THIS RECIPE.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2001

      very good and my kids loved it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      I enjoyed this. If you want a flavor punch dish, this is not for you. It had subtle, delicous flavor though. I omitted the butter and cooked the aspargus in chicken stock instead and I used light ricotta as well. Everytime I make a pasta dish that requires the pasta to be layered without a 'real' sauce (lasagna for example) - it always turns out dry. For this reason, I mixed everything together instead of layering. I added the eggs on the top and baked as directed. I will definitely be making this again, I thought it was wonderful! Update, I have to say, this is one my most made Zaar recipes, I am so glad I found it. When I buy asapargus, this is the first thing I think of! Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      This was good...I sauteed one shallot and one garlic clove in the butter, along with the asparagus. I also seasoned up the ricotta a bit more and added some of the chicken stock and pasta cooking water to it. We all enjoyed it and I will definitely make it again. Thanks for a new recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      This was really good. I changed it up a bit because of all the comments about the subtle flavor. Sauteed a small red onion and several garlic cloves in olive oil before cooking the asparagus in chicken stock only. Added dried basil to the ricotta cheese. Added 3/4 stick of butter to the Penne noodles after cooking. This was a rich dish, but very tasty. Mine wasn't dry, but I am going to try it with a little red tomato sauce with the left overs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2006

      We didn't care for this but I think I know why - my Italian grandma always mixes her egg with the ricotta cheese in her dishes instead of just pouring it on top - we didn't care for the egg taste. If I try this recipe again, I'd make that change.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      Too much butter for me. I like ricotta cheese, but didn't think it did anything for this dish. I won't make this one again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      This was pretty good but I think it needed a little bit more flavor. I will make it again but maybe add some ingredients to give it a kick. Good overall.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2003

      I felt this was a little dry. For some reason my asparagus was tough. The flavor was good. I would consider making this again but possibly as a side dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      We did like this, but I changed a bunch of things: I cooked up about 3/4 lb of chicken strips first, then added some chicken stock and the asparagus. Let that cook until the asparagus was tender. I added garlic powder, a little onion powder, black pepper and red pepper flakes to the ricotta/parm/egg mix. Next time will only use 2 eggs. Used only a little bit of butter and oil when sauteeing the chicken. My husband had 3rds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2011

      I used creamed cottage cheese, a little less butter. I also wasn't sure what a "deep oven dish" was, so I used a 9x13 casserole...it seemed fine but maybe dry. I cooked my asparagus for awhile, I knew my husband would like it softer. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Pasta with Asparagus (Pasta al Forno con Asparagi)

    Serving Size: 1 (498 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 943.6
     
    Calories from Fat 451
    47%
    Total Fat 50.2 g
    77%
    Saturated Fat 27.6 g
    138%
    Cholesterol 263.0 mg
    87%
    Sodium 786.7 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 92.0 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 15.5 g
    62%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 37.0 g
    74%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes