10 Reviews

Usually dinner is a joint affair ... but because the Stanley Cup playoffs are on (GO CANUCKS GO) I was on my own. Granted it is a lot of prep but it was Friday night and I got an early start. If you do some of the prep ahead of time things will move a lot faster.
Although it's not a 'low cal' dish it was very "light" in flavor... a nice summer pasta!
I expected to taste the lemon and fresh thyme more than I did so more could be added and it wouldn't overwhelm (and I added a tiny sprinkle of dry thyme too) I was debating whether to make Giada DeLauentis's Creamy Farfelle WIth Cremini, Asparagus and Walnuts or this one but I choose this recipe and threw in the mushrooms. I ended up just pan frying all the veggies in the big LeCrueset and carried on. We thought it was enough sauce but we're ok with pasta dishes that aren't smothered in sauce. Didn't have pinenuts on hand so followed Giada's recipe and used toasted walnuts instead. All in all it was very tasty and great with the Cuma Rose' from Argentina.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
addicted2food June 10, 2011

I made as written but used 1 lb. asparagus and serving for two of pasta. This is very rich and could only eat a small amount. We still have lots leftover so will have it for lunch later this week.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound February 22, 2011

We loved this! I too doubled the sauce after reading the reviews and it was perfect...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc January 29, 2011

The recipe definitely needed the Béchamel sauce to be at least doubled and since I didn't plan for that I didn't have enough mascarpone cheese. I still doubled the sauce but the flavor of the cheese was lost. Even doubling the sauce, the pasta was still a little dry. Generally, I still liked the dish but not sure I would make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diane C #2 June 07, 2009

Oh, MY this was good!! It was a little work-intensive but the results were super! YUMMY!! Made for Family Picks ZWT4 for the CAFE ZMAKK Gypsies!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annisette July 09, 2008

ZWT4: This pasta is unbelievable!!! I never would have thought to try this flavor combination - but it is delectable!! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose June 28, 2008

Oh yummy! This is a lot of work, but the taste is so worth it! We loved it. I served it to some unexpected guests and they enjoyed it too. They wanted the recipe. Made for ZWT4 for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 June 28, 2008

This was really excellent, perfect for a balmy summer evening. I agree with the previous reviewer about doubling the sauce -- I cooked the full recipe (which btw would probably feed 6 people) and found that the noodles weren't very creamy. the taste was just delicious though, I would make this again in a heartbeat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enigmused May 31, 2007

Simply outstanding. It felt like quite a bit of work, but the taste is altogether worth it. I thought I had fettuccine but didn't so I made it with spaghetti rigate. Perhaps it was the pasta that made the difference, but having cut the recipe in half, I made, used and felt it needed the full recipe's amount of sauce. I cooked the half recipe with double sauce in an 8x8 glass baking dish and it came out perfectly after 15 minutes in the 450F oven. I recommend this HIGHLY.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbryT May 13, 2007
Baked Pasta With Asparagus, Lemon, and Mascarpone