10 Reviews

I am not familiar with preparing papaya's. I did this one, and added a dash of rum, and served it with vanilla ice cream and whipped cream. Mine was from brazil so I can't wait til I can find some that are from Hawaii! These were satisfactory considering my inexperience with papaya's. I don't think i'll put as much water in the pan next time tho. thanks for the recipe. can't wait to try it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lou April 23, 2012

A delightful way to eat that reasonable fruit (at least in our area) that I certainly hadn't thought about. Roasting "pumps up" the rather bland flavor of this fruit. Bumped it up a bit by adding sliced strawberries, a little rum, and lemon slices (and the vanilla bean of course.) My wife said this would be a wonderful dessert served with vanilla ice cream. I served it with pork chops, rice, and a green salad. What a great meal. It is to make again for sure. Jim in So Calif

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef 565650 Jim March 18, 2010

Very tasty. I have only had papaya while on vacation in Mexico and Hawaii, so it was a real treat having such a wonderful, tropical fruit at home. I could really taste the little vanilla beans, and I think it's the vanilla that really rounds out the overall flavor of this great dish. Made for ZWT5.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal June 03, 2009

The vanilla bean goes nicely with the papaya in this. I used half the butter and sugar and added a tablespoon of dark rum. Baked for 15 minutes and served this as dessert with low fat vanilla ice cream. It was yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito July 07, 2008

I baked 2 large-ish papayas for our breakfast. Very easy and tasty, too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 27, 2008

I cut this recipe way back 'cause it was just for 2 of us, so used only 1 papaya ~ Made for a wonderful late morning treat! Definitely will keep this recipe around, as I want to make this unusual treat for company sometime! Thanks for sharing! [Made & reviewed while touring South & Central America on the Zaar World Tour 4]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 25, 2008

Vanilla added a nice touch. Mine needed to cook an hour because they were quite large. Tasty treat (I am eating mine for breakfast!) Made for ZWT4.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride June 16, 2008

Very nice treat! The vanilla bean was a nice addition and the syrup the center went nicely with the Arepas that I served with this. Thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl May 31, 2011

Suprisingly good. This turned a mediocre (slightly overripe and not very sweet) papaya into a wonderful treat. The vanilla brings out the aromatic flavors in the papaya, I used real vanilla extract and added a bit of spiced rum as one reviewer suggested. I can't wait to try this again with a higher quality papaya.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wrecka November 08, 2009

Very good! This was my first trying papaya and I really enjoyed it. I only made half of the recipe for just my DH and I. Made for ZWT4 for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 June 29, 2008
Baked Papaya