9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful! I cooked it for 25 minutes as "duo_mom" suggested. However, I used finely chopped onions (didn't have any shallots), used 1/3 cup bottled lemon juice (didn't have a fresh lemon) and it turned out terrific! This recipe is going to be a standard for my house! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kentvee October 20, 2008

I liked it, however, I would definitely recommend cooking it the full 25 minutes if not a little more, so you don't experience undercooked fish. Which is a huge turn off for people who don't really care for fish, but want to go outside of their comfort zone. Overall, okay.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duo_mom November 04, 2007

I'm going 4 stars as that was the concensus at the dinner table. I thought 5 appropriate, my husband and son thought 3. I am the fish lover. This just might have been too mild for them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in AZ April 02, 2007

I loved this recipe! I just bought the orange roughy for the first time and saw this recipe and decided to try it. I had all the ingredients except the shallots so subbed them with green onions. This was soooo delicious! My husband loved it as well. I will use this recipe on other white fillets too. This is definitely a keeper!! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dianeverc March 30, 2007

This was so easy and my boyfriend proclaimed it "the best orange roughy he ever had." I subbed green onions for shallots and olive oil for butter. I would make this dish if I needed to impress someone!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LA (Lower Alabama) February 25, 2007

Very nice change for serving fish. It would be good with any light fish. I used onions instead of shallots, I didn't have any. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando March 20, 2006

This is so great. I was in a hurry and used packaged italian bread crumbs.I was suprised at how quickly I put this into the oven. It actually only took me just a couple of minuts longer than it took to heat my oven to 375. The flavor is excellant and I know my husband is going to love it to. Fast, flavorful and wonderful, what more could you want. I know I will be trying this recipe again and I will try the fresh bread crubs next time. Thank

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dgbow50 September 19, 2005

Very good recipe, and the left over sauce is good to dip the cooked fish in.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie in Indy August 31, 2004

I made this with Chilean Roughy, and I estimated ingredient amounts because I only had about 3/4 lb. of fish. The only thing I added was some fresh ground black pepper, and I used dried Italian bread crumbs instead of fresh. I made this thinking I would have the leftovers for lunch today, but NOPE!!! I ate the whole darned thing!! Wonderful, simple, flavor-packed recipe!! Thanks so much for posting! ~Manda

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda May 11, 2004
Baked Orange Roughy