123 Reviews

Great baked oatmeal! I have been in search of a good baked oatmeal recipe and this is it. I have tried may others this week, but this has the best flavor for the calories! Tried three different variations, apple & raisin, peach & cranberry, and strawberry. All were excellent, but DH and I liked the peach & cranberry the best! When adding the fruit I used dried cranberries, fresh apple, canned peached (in 100% juice), and frozen strawberries. I equally divided the fruit to equal 3/4 C of fruit and added it before baking. This would also be great with some nuts if you like!!! Plan to try it next with blue and black berries!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ransomhouse April 11, 2011

Delicious and so easy to throw together. I mixed it all right in the greased baking pan. Halved the sugar, added a little butter and used a grated apple for the applesauce. My son, who hates oatmeal asked for seconds! Yay!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breadmakingmama September 28, 2010

This is my go-to *healthy* baked oatmeal recipe! I usually swap the eggs for 1/2 cup egg whites and reduce the sugar to 4-6 Tbs. Depending on what I have on hand, I've been known to substitute the applesauce for pumpkin, baked sweet potato, fresh cranberry sauce, or mashed banana. I've thrown in chopped pear, frozen cranberries, blueberries, pecans, coconut (not all at once, though!) Never gets boring and by now I've memorized it so I can make it on trips and family get-togethers. Thanks!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendybird 2 March 25, 2010

Excellent! I added walnuts and dried cranberries some vanilla and cinnamon...my kids loved it, ate the entire pan. It has a consistency of a soft cookie to me and I really liked being able to mix it up the night before and pop it in the oven for a great treat!! Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deanna Walker February 01, 2010

Fantastic recipe! Easy, quick, versatile and soooo tasty - what more could one ask for? I subbed honey for the brown sugar, added 1/2 tsp vanilla, a Tbsp of chia seeds, and some diced nectarine and mixed berries. i don't know whether to eat this for breakfast or as a dessert, but who cares - its just yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shazzie November 19, 2013

I'll add my 5 stars to the ratings. Did everything as instructed, and it turned out great. I will add some fruit in the next batches to see which I like the best. Thanks for the keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike McCartney June 14, 2013

Wonderful even with the sugar cut back to 1/3 cup. Very flexible base recipe. 1) It can be easily doubled and cooked in a 9x13 or even tripled and cooked in an 11x15. 2) The slices freeze and reheat beautifully. 3) Just SOME of the alternative versions include:<br/>~ Add a chopped apple, raisins, walnuts, cinnamon and nutmeg.<br/>~ Substitute pumpkin puree for the applesauce. Add some clove and ginger for a pumpkin pie oatmeal.<br/>~ Substitute mashed ripe banana for the applesauce. Add your favorite banana bread stir-ins.<br/>~ Add berries to the base recipe. Thaw and drain first if using frozen.<br/>~ Substitute crushed pineapple for the applesauce. Add dried banana chips and macadamia nuts for a tropical version.<br/>~ Substitute OJ for the milk. Add dried cranberries

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady + 3 March 18, 2013

I discovered that I was out of applesauce, so I subbed apple butter for the applesauce and sugar. I also added chopped apple, pecans and raisins. I didn't even bother with adding the yogurt. It was delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buttercup 42 October 07, 2012

This is wonderful. I made this for our breakfast this morning and DD and DS loved it. DD was a little unsure since she has never like oatmeal before but she has changed her mind with this. I LOVE the consistency of this and the applesauce was yummy in here. Thank you for sharing this with us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour February 19, 2012

Delicious and easy healthy breakfast. I might add a little less sugar next time and I like things sweet. Used splenda brown sugar

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba January 16, 2012
Baked Oatmeal