17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a wonderful mushroom recipe. I substituted minced garlic for the garlic powder. Just a personal preference. Otherwise I followed the recipe. The sauce was rich and flavorful. A very easy recipe to prepare. Serve this as a side dish with roasted chicken. Umm umm good. Thanks yooper :)

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' July 28, 2002

I love this recipe! I've made it several times now and it's been great every time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kat Renee January 27, 2009

Nice, simple mushroom dish. I sauteed the mushrooms and onion in a pan prepared with non-stick cooking spray, so I could cut down on the butter. Thanks to the previous reviews, I added the broth gradually so that I could control the thickness of the sauce. I left it a little thicker to account for the liquid the mushrooms would release, and that seemed to work out nicely. I used the ketchup option, but I may try it with my homemade tomato sauce next time. Thanks for a tasty recipe (and I am not a big fan of mushrooms!)!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews November 18, 2008

I made a nice roast and was looking for a side dish, and this one looked especially good. We loved these on the side. I dipped my roast in the sauce and it was so good as we are mushroom lovers. Very nicely flavored and we will have again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Charlee October 02, 2008

I don't know if I should review this or not, because I tweaked it more than a little bit ... but it was really delicious, and I did use this recipe as a template, so you're getting the credit! The tweaks: I used shallots instead of an onion, dry sherry instead of chicken broth, and a heavy cream substitute instead of sour cream (the substitute was nonfat cottage cheese pureed with a bit of nonfat dry milk powder, and a bit of nonfat cream cheese thrown in.) Still, this came out great. Not only will I make it my way again, I'll also try the recipe as written (when I get all the proper ingredients in the house!) Thanks so much for posting this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLHquilts February 28, 2008

We served these VERY yummy mushrooms with polenta and 'My marinara sauce' recipe tonight. They were runny and I think the thing to remember is how much the mushrooms will release their juices in the baking, so really let the white sauce thicken. Also we needed to saute in a soup pot b/c it was such a big amount of mushrooms. We had a huge amount left over with just two of us. So we'll happily have the meal all over again tomorrow, and then I am going to try to turn the mushrooms into a soup! Thanks for the great recipe yooper, definite keeper!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Pollo December 31, 2007

I don't even know what to say, and my other half is still speechless, too. OK, I'll try. Incredible! The only mushrooms available when I shopped were huge, so it was only about 1.5 pounds and still was almost too much to fit in the huge skillet. Because of this, I did have to sautee for quite a bit longer and waited until I could see the tops just starting to turn a mushier and darker brown. The sauce came out nice and thick, and not at all thin as some have experienced, but it may have taken a bit longer than 2 minutes. Thank you for such an unbelievably delicious recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maggie, Cooking September 03, 2007

I had some left over sliced mushrooms that I needed to get rid of soon so I used them and used the broth and rehydrated dried onions from chicken I had just boiled. Cut the recipe in half because of lack of shrooms. Wasn't runny at all. Poured on top of rice pilaf and my family even dipped their chicken that I baked using Barbecue Rub (two totally different flavors, I wouldn't recommend cooking together as a meal never mind using it for dipping) I can't wait to used this recipe with beef!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Shelby April 26, 2007

From an OLD Treasury of Home Cooking -- and I have been making it THAT long !! I usually fix something which could use a little "moisture: -- gravy type thing, like pork tenderloin or steaks. The fresh mushrooms should be small, and brushed with soft brush, NOT washed ! Thanks for posting, Yooper ! Janey

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney March 13, 2007

I loved this recipe and will make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shari Jones January 23, 2007
Baked Mushrooms