30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful! 1) I used less chicken but not on purpose since it was all I had, 2) used extra mushrooms since the package I buy at Trader Joe's is 10oz and they needed to be used up, 3) added 1 T paprika to the flour mixture, 4) cooked it longer in the oven since I kept the chicken the usual size and not pounded thin for about 30 minutes or so. I checked the chicken's temp to make sure it was cooked through before serving. Served with baked potatoes but maybe mashed potatoes would have been better since there was a sauce with this dish. Will make again and would be proud to serve this to guests!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mybirdzone March 19, 2009

I LOVED this recipe -- I was surprised that these simple ingredients all came together so well. I have made this as written (with chicken and baked), and I have also made this without the chicken (just in a saute pan with extra mushrooms, and then tossed the sauce with pasta). It was fantastic both times!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eightysixtomatoes February 21, 2009

This was great! I did everything as the recipe called for except, I did not have mozzarella cheese on hand. I just omitted it and it was great! My hubby asked me to double up on the mushrooms next time. Great flavors!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyMonteiro April 02, 2008

I made this on a day I was craving comfort food and it really fit the bill. I made as posted and it was super easy to put together. I think I added a few more mushrooms just because. I served with mashed potatoes for a wonderful dinner. This will be made many times! Thanks for posting!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lvs2Cook July 24, 2007

Excellent. I loved this dish. I only had three chicken breasts so that's what I used and I think next time I'll add some garlic powder to the flour (just because I really love garlic) and I'll add about 1/2 cup more mushrooms bcause I would have liked more mushrooms because we love those too! This is an easy dish to put together, it's delicious and beautiful as well. It's something I would serve to guests. Definately a recipe that will be repeated in our home. Thank's so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MTpockets June 14, 2007

I thought this dish was wonderful. I did add a little garlic and more cheese. I am making this again on Sunday for friends. Taste great and looks appealing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrspatrickwheeler March 23, 2007

I made this for a date who told me he loved chicken and mushrooms. It went over very well. I used whole wheat flour and I added a little cayenne pepper and jerk seasoning to the flour to give it a slight kick. I'd definitely make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shelley13 March 01, 2007

Just like the other reviewers have said, this recipe is easy and tastes great. I didn't have any green onions, so I sauteed a vidalia onion and added it when I added the cheese. I also used gluten free all purpose flour to make this a gluten free meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenFish March 01, 2007

I thought was sooo good, so easy & so fast!! My husband loves cheese and said he thought it could have used a little more-but I thought it was great as is. I did, however, add 2 chopped roma tomatoes and a couple of cloves of minced garlic to the green onion step. A great, healthy & flavorful dish-Thanks Charlotte!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meredith .F January 29, 2007

We LOVED this recipe! My fiance asked me to make it again tonight. The only change I made was I sauteed white onion slices and threw them on top of the chicken instead of green onions. So it made it more of a smothered chicken. The sauce is unbelievable and the chicken is so tender. You won't regret making this dish, thanks for another great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andreacooks November 21, 2006
Baked Mushroom Chicken I I