Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Manicotti With Meat Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Manicotti With Meat Sauce

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 11, 2010

      This is totally awesome!!! I could not get manicotti anywhere so I bought fresh cannelloni sheets instead, I know there is a difference with manicotti, but they are very close so I hope you don't mind. I also could not get Italian sausage unless I bought it already made up as sausages and squeezed out the meat which would have been terribly expensive, so I took the liberty of buying a pork, veal mince and adding Italian herbs and extra spices to create something similar. I did follow everything else the same and I am sure it did not change your excellent recipe too much. I too like other reviewers used my own homemade tomato sauce. I made a little extra instead of 16 manicotti shells I made 24 cannelloni shells I upped the ingredients accordingly. I still made up the extra shells and cooked the extra meat and then froze that half of the mix to make it a very quick assembly meal for our next time. My family was very glad when I told them I would be making this again in the next couple of weeks. This truly is a wonderful recipe NurseJaney, a definite keeper for us. Thanks for sharing!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      These turned out wonderful. I cut the recipe in half and did everything the same. But I did use my own homemade tomato sauce. The mixture of the cheeses was delicious and the sausauges made a nice change. I prepared everything the night before to have ready to pop in the oven for lunch the next day. Turned out great. Thanks for sharing your recipe, it is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      I made this for the June 09 Aussie/Kiwi Swap. The texture of the cheese filling was creamy and smooth. I've never put nutmeg or almonds in my Manicotti before - great addition! They didn't take long to make and I will definitely make these again! My DD even took some home to her boyfriend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2012

      Aussie Swap #63: AMAZING Recipe!! I love pasta - especially cheese-filled ones!! This recipe did not disappoint! I made sure to double it and froze a batch for later!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2012

      I made this at my in-laws house and everyone said it was a definite 5 stars. I did make a couple changes though. I used 1 pound ricotta cheese and 1 pound cottage cheese for a creamier filling. I also left out the slivered almonds because my FIL doesn't like them. I served the manicotti with a simple side salad and some garlic bread. Yummy! Will being making this again and again. Made for January 2012 Aus/NZ Swap.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2011

      Another great recipe from NurseJaney. So delicious, quick and very easy to make. Loved the flavor, great sauce, (used homemade basil marnara sauce) excellent tender noodles filled with delicious cheese mixture, simply awesome. We really enjoyed the use of the sausage meat in this dish, really outstanding. We inhaled this delicious dish in record time. Thanks so much for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2011

      this was a drama to make! NO manacotti shells anywhere, I used cannaloni thingies, as another reviewer suggested. mixed everything up, and ended up filling 36 of them! Thank goodness they tasted like heaven!!!, or else we would be eating them into next month!!!!
      ok
      Aussie hints. (because we dont usually do this stuff)
      do the mix in the old sunbeam mixer, and then leave it til its "pipe-able" much easier when its warmer!
      buy italian sausage in the Woolworths deli, and cook with the onion, then slice finely.
      I used instant canaloni, but I have heard that crepes make a good alternative.
      use a good piping bag, and fill the tubes well!!!, otherwise they collapse, and you end up with too much pasta!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2012

      Made this via request from my boyfriend for his birthday. I didn't have the almonds, so I left them out. Otherwise I made it according to the recipe. This was very very good. Will be doing it again. I really don't like using manicotti shells, so next time I will use the small lasagna shells and roll them up. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Manicotti With Meat Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (316 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 918.6
     
    Calories from Fat 592
    64%
    Total Fat 65.8 g
    101%
    Saturated Fat 30.7 g
    153%
    Cholesterol 236.0 mg
    78%
    Sodium 2448.0 mg
    102%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 10.3 g
    41%
    Protein 55.8 g
    111%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    manicotti

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites