Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Manicotti Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Manicotti

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on April 12, 2013

      I followed the concept of the recipe and it was amazing with the béchamel sauce. I didn't want to fuss with sausage casing which I remove on sausage. So I added sage and a touch of cayenne for spice in the ground meat. I made the cream sauce using my own measurements but kept the same ingredients and I have to say it was the best Italian dish I have made so far. Thanks for the great idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2011

      I modified this one slightly because I needed a smaller amount, and to make use of what's on hand. I used a pound of ground beef and left the sausage out. Left out the onion due to allergies. Used dried basil/parsley. For boullion, I used "better than boullion" paste. I didn't have any parmesan, I topped with shredded cheddar as it was all I had.

      The boullion paste did NOT work. It instantly solidified into chicken-concrete on my whisk.
      Other than that, everything came together nicely. I thought it was a nice, solid four star meal. Pretty and tasty. My husband, however, did not enjoy it at all.

      I'll be having lefties for a yummy lunch tomorrow, but I won't make it again simply because I was the only one who liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      This was delicious. Did not use 10 cloves of garlic but instead used a big spoonful of my roasted garlic paste. The filling is enough for 18 to 20 shells. Very important not to overcook the shells before stuffing them. The white sauce elevates this dish from everyday to special occasion. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2007

      This recipe was enjoyed by the family but I did not receive the compliments that I had hoped for. I halfed the recipe & had a fair amount of stuffing leftover. Which I will try to use up this week. I found the sauce to be heavier then expected. I was thinking that with the white sauce it would have been lighter so maybe it was the richness of the dish that gave it a heaviness. I will make this again but will serve a smaller amount with 2 very "light" side dishes. Thank you for the recipe Chippie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      AMAZING! This was by far the most difficult recipe I have ever made and I couldn't have done it by myself. However it was SO delicious. It had so much flavor! I used beef boullion instead of chicken because that was all I had, also I left the basil out because I didn't have any. I think if I were to make this alone I would have to have everything measured out and ready ahead of time. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2006

      DELICIOUS! INCREDIBLE! The Italian in me was drooling! Iwent with Sue L.'s double idea and changed the parmesan to mozzarella, and left the 10 cloves of garlic [My family loves garlic]. This recipe is amazing! Thanks Chippie for a good One!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      Wow! I have made this twice now. The first time as written with homemade crepes, and it was amazing! A great dish for those nights you can decide on a Red or a White sauce. With my leftover crepes, tonight I made a low fat version with lf beef, lf sausage, and lf ricotta. It was equally fantastic! I made my own spaghetti sauce and kicked up the basil in it for the chicken dish. I loved it! THIS is amazing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      All I can say is WOW. I've made this dish and shared the recipe with many of my friends, and they've all enjoyed it. I've had to use 2 jars of spaghetti sauce instead of one, so it doesn't turn out too dry! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2005

      Very good,it was a hit for my family. I used 6 cloves of garlic and had 1 lb beef and Johnsonville sausage,1/2 lb hot and 1/2 lb honey garlic( which I wanted to use). That was a perfect combo for us. The sausage gave it nice flavor No guestion , I will be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2004

      Horrible, I spent over an hour in the kitchen and the end result was a trip to McDonalds. This recipe would be good without so much garlic. The garlic was so strong that my Wife couldnt finish the meal. I advise at least cutting the call for garlic in half, if not less.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2004

      This has excellent flavor! Very rich, creamy, and yet has a nice tomato flavor. It is a bit time consuming to make, but the end result is worth it. I have found that there is enough filling here to make 2 batches, so I would advise that someone buy 2 boxes of manicotti shells, 2 jars of pasta sauce, and prepare 2 orders of bechamel sauce and do things up in 2 pans, or else freeze half of the filling for later use. I found that the amount of pasta sauce and bechamel sauce used on the manicotti was sufficient and made it nicely saucy. The parmesan was nice (asiago would be good as well), but if I made this again, I might add a touch of mozzarella or provolone cheese on top. I would certainly make this again, and would have rated it slightly higher if the filling had been scaled properly for the size of this dish. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2003

      I made this for my husband's birthday. We loved it! The white sauce definately makes the dish! The only thing I would change...I would add more spaghetti sauce. Other than that... it was full of flavor and easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2003

      This recipe is just delicious...I believe the white sauce is what made this recipe..I've made basic manicotti before but never with a white sauce...I followed everything exactly as stated..just delicious..thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2003

      Chippie, this was just wonderful! The addition of the bechamel sauce was heavenly, so rich and creamy. I made a few changes to suit our tastes. I used italian sausage instead of ground beef, only used 5 oz. spinach, and added 4 oz. of mozarella cheese to the filling. Since I used a tomato and basil pasta sauce, I did not add the additional basil. This more than filled a 9X13 baking pan, and I had extra filling left over, so I cooked a few lasagne noodles and put the extra manacotti and lasagne in a 7X11 pan. I made an extra cup of bechamel sauce to compensate, and now I also have an extra pan in my freezer for later. Thanks for posting a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2003

      My family said that this was the best dinner they've ever had. I doubled the recipe, and they were all fighting over the left-overs. I found it easier to stuff the shells with my fingers. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Manicotti

    Serving Size: 1 (431 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1137.3
     
    Calories from Fat 638
    56%
    Total Fat 70.8 g
    109%
    Saturated Fat 32.0 g
    160%
    Cholesterol 274.6 mg
    91%
    Sodium 1396.0 mg
    58%
    Total Carbohydrate 66.2 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 9.1 g
    36%
    Protein 57.3 g
    114%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes