55 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

we loved it...even the pickey ones. Next time I make it I will use low- fat cheese and less of it

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sharon32 January 10, 2003

I love the flavor of tomatos and cheese. Didn't want to have to share it with anyone, but the others wouldn't let me keep all to myself. I'll make a double batch next time.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl October 06, 2002

5++++++ stars! This is really too good. I could probably eat all of it by myself and it makes a lot! I did add a few t's of minced onion to the butter and a little sugar, garlic powder and onion powder to the tomatoes, but it I don't think it really needs any tweaking. I LOVE stewed tomatoes and use them in a lot of recipes calling for diced tomatoes. I never pay extra for diced tomatoes. I just cut them up myself, as I did the stewed tomatoes in this fabulous recipe. I make this all the time with the boxed mac and cheese, but this is so much better. Now if I can just find the recipe for the school spaghetti and meat sauce! I used to love that. Thanks Karen!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msjenjenp December 13, 2009

THIS IS THE BEST BAKED MACARONI AND CHEESE RECIPE EVER!! I used to make the old fashioned white sauce and add shredded cheese, but that sauce never was as creamy and rich and STABLE as this is. The usage of cornstarch to thicken is pure genius! I would put this recipe up against any other in taste and simplicity to make. It's my absolute favorite!! TEN STARS!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OPRACHEF February 17, 2010

Used 2% milk and 2% milkfat sharp cheddar cheese and it turned out great. Next time I will add some ham and a little bit more pepper (possibly a little less macaroni too) but that's about it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myoungp January 06, 2010

I had to smile when I found this recipe. Must be a cafeteria lady favorite because we had this same thing on Fridays in my old high school cafeteria. They always served it with fish sticks. I loved it so I had to try this recipe. Absolutely wonderful! Creamy, with just the right amount of tomatoes. The only thing I did different was to add a half teaspoon of sugar to the stewed tomatoes before combining with the macarone and cheese. Thanks for posting this recipe, I will be making it often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie in Texas December 18, 2003

delicious .. this is how my mom always made her mac n cheese.. and today im going to make it for a bunch of folks @ a potluck.. i hope they like it .. traditionally not a southern thing, since I am from the north... hope they are up for trying something new .. I definatley reccomend this !!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eatglitter March 22, 2003

Wow! If your using the food.com iPhone app the recipe does not state 1 lb elbow or 1 lb shell macaroni. The recipe reads like its 1lb of each! Of course I didn't figure it out till the whole thing was in the pan. I had to make more sauce and add it to the mix. Turned out great thank god! When I went on the website the recipe is correct. Lesson learned. Now I have enough Mac and cheese for a week!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef OG April 19, 2015

I made it for dinner and It was excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZTonie February 28, 2014

I had to use up some extra milk, didn't have any cream, ended up using all my really high quality cheddar cheese and some brie that I had left over, made it in two pans, and it was worth it all. The best macaroni and cheese we ever had, but it sure was decadent.<br/><br/>But, who cares. It's the holiday season, isn't it? and I have another pan left for tomorrow.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joanne G. December 27, 2013
Baked Macaroni and Cheese with Stewed Tomatoes