Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Macaroni and Cheese with Stewed Tomatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Macaroni and Cheese with Stewed Tomatoes

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on January 10, 2003

      we loved it...even the pickey ones. Next time I make it I will use low- fat cheese and less of it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2002

      I love the flavor of tomatos and cheese. Didn't want to have to share it with anyone, but the others wouldn't let me keep all to myself. I'll make a double batch next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      5++++++ stars! This is really too good. I could probably eat all of it by myself and it makes a lot! I did add a few t's of minced onion to the butter and a little sugar, garlic powder and onion powder to the tomatoes, but it I don't think it really needs any tweaking. I LOVE stewed tomatoes and use them in a lot of recipes calling for diced tomatoes. I never pay extra for diced tomatoes. I just cut them up myself, as I did the stewed tomatoes in this fabulous recipe. I make this all the time with the boxed mac and cheese, but this is so much better. Now if I can just find the recipe for the school spaghetti and meat sauce! I used to love that. Thanks Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      THIS IS THE BEST BAKED MACARONI AND CHEESE RECIPE EVER!! I used to make the old fashioned white sauce and add shredded cheese, but that sauce never was as creamy and rich and STABLE as this is. The usage of cornstarch to thicken is pure genius! I would put this recipe up against any other in taste and simplicity to make. It's my absolute favorite!! TEN STARS!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      Used 2% milk and 2% milkfat sharp cheddar cheese and it turned out great. Next time I will add some ham and a little bit more pepper (possibly a little less macaroni too) but that's about it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2003

      I had to smile when I found this recipe. Must be a cafeteria lady favorite because we had this same thing on Fridays in my old high school cafeteria. They always served it with fish sticks. I loved it so I had to try this recipe. Absolutely wonderful! Creamy, with just the right amount of tomatoes. The only thing I did different was to add a half teaspoon of sugar to the stewed tomatoes before combining with the macarone and cheese. Thanks for posting this recipe, I will be making it often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2003

      delicious .. this is how my mom always made her mac n cheese.. and today im going to make it for a bunch of folks @ a potluck.. i hope they like it .. traditionally not a southern thing, since I am from the north... hope they are up for trying something new .. I definatley reccomend this !!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2014

      I made it for dinner and It was excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2013

      I had to use up some extra milk, didn't have any cream, ended up using all my really high quality cheddar cheese and some brie that I had left over, made it in two pans, and it was worth it all. The best macaroni and cheese we ever had, but it sure was decadent.<br/><br/>But, who cares. It's the holiday season, isn't it? and I have another pan left for tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2013

      Best homemade mac & cheese I've made- I like how it uses cornstarch instead of flour; usually when I make it it has a too-floury taste. Didn't have stewed tomatoes but added a can of regular diced tomatoes and they were delicious in there! A nice comfort food treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2013

      Absolutely delicious. We like spicy so instead of the cheddar cheese I added the Kraft shredded habenero and jalapeño cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      Everyone in my house loved this dish, and it brings back memories from childhood. My grandmother used to make this, though she would add sauteed onion and bacon to the mix. I sprinkled in a little bacon, and it tastes just as I remember it. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2012

      made this to-night great macaroni dish used 1 tin of stewed tomatos and 1 tin of fire roasted tomatos It is now our favorite macaroni and cheese dish!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2012

      I have made this several times and love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2012

      Pure comfort food for us. I halved the recipe and I think it still could have fed six people. Not that that's a bad thing. I'm really looking forward to the leftovers. I used Rotel tomatoes and would use them again. I loved how creamy this came out. It seems like most mac & cheese recipes get a little dry. I'm sure this recipe will be a staple in our home. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2012

      My entire family really enjoyed this recipe. Nice homey, creamy mac n cheese! I think I even left out a cup of cheese but it was still great. Will definately make this recipe often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2011

      I have tried many Mac and cheese recipes, and this is by far the best! Perfectly creamy. I used whole milk and low fat cheddar and it was great. I might add some red pepper flakes next time I make it to spice it up, otherwise wonderful! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      I used 20oz of stewed tomatoes (we don't have small cans of stewed tomatoes in canada) This was very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2010

      This was delicious! I added a bit of onion for extra flavour, and chopped a can of plum tomatoes as i didnt have diced, it really reminds me of my childhood! excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2010

      Really good! I used my own mac & cheese recipe and added regular canned tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Macaroni and Cheese with Stewed Tomatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (326 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 627.2
     
    Calories from Fat 359
    57%
    Total Fat 39.9 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 24.8 g
    124%
    Cholesterol 118.8 mg
    39%
    Sodium 1262.6 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.2 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 24.3 g
    48%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites