8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was good and just like my mom use to make. I did cut back to three cups of milk and would cut it down to two cups next time. I didn't measure the salt and pepper. Mine took over an hour to cook. I made this grilled sausage and we all enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol June 18, 2012

Delish! I, too, mix the butter and pasta together before layering. So easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joanna K January 03, 2010

sounds great; can't wait to try it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gingercook September 25, 2009

This is a great recipe. I've made it twice now. I mix the butter with the cooked noodles. I never seem to have shredded cheese . I've made it with cubes of cheese the first time and slices the next (4c of shredded cheese is about 1 lb block) and it still comes out perfect. Thanks for the good eats!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tinibee June 20, 2009

This is a wonderful recipe for the ULTIMATE in comfort food. I cut the recipe in half and used Kraft Classic Melts 4 Cheese in the recipe. Absolutely will put this into our regular dinner rotation. Next time I may add a little Louisiana Hot Sauce for a little kick. I made this to serve with Brats on the grill, green beans with onions and steamed carrots. Dinner was very filling. DH gave his thumb up (between forkfuls). Thanks for sharing a truly great recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiJ November 03, 2007

Very Yummy!! This is the way my Mother in Law always made her Mac N cheese so now I have the measurements to go with it!! Thanks! My hubby & I like it crispy on top, and we cover the kids' side with foil! Oh, and we use those twisty 'ronies because they crisp up so well! Yum! My house smells SOO good right now! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Curlee827 October 08, 2007

The Ultimate Comfort food! This is the same recipe my mom used while I was growing up and the same one I raised my family with. Never a complaint from family or friends when I serve this. Nice to see it written down, always kept this one to memory the way I learned it. Nice to see it posted.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paintpuddles January 06, 2007

This is basically the mac and cheese I grew up on too. Sometimes I use a mix of american and cheddar cheeses, and often use seasoned salt and seasoned pepper instead of plain. I probably use less salt but i've never measured. I don't dot the butter--i just lightly butter the noodles before layering. We like it very crispy on top. My kids adore it! Glad to see someone has posted it here :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
helowy March 14, 2006
Baked Macaroni and Cheese