64 Reviews

Wow! I loved these, as did everyone else at my party. The sauce was the best part for me, tangy and sweet. Another great recipe, Thanks. I chopped everything in my little food chopper and grated my ginger with my microplane zester and it was a breeze. My fiance was very excited, he said "Honey, you made eggrolls!" It's something I've never tried to do, next up, fried rice!

40 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Erin C. February 21, 2002

This is the second time that I have made & reviewed this recipe. This time I used ground turkey - they are very good but the pork is better. It is so easy to keep some of these in the freezer and just pop them out and into the oven when company comes. The sauce is fabulous and only takes a few minutes to make. I like to make it a few hours in advance to let the flavors blend but have also made it in the last minute and it is still very good. I have served this sauce with my pot stickers and also Empanadas - very versatile, tasty sauce. I think of you Diana and thank you every time I serve them. My freezer stays happy when I have a tin of Lumpias in it!

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy December 09, 2002

Baking the Lumpia Rolls was good. But the 8 cloves of garlic was too much. I cut it to 3 cloves and still very strong on the garlic. Next time will cut to 1 clove for this recipe.I love garlic but not to overpower the taste of the lumpia. I use 1 large carrot to give it some sweetness. The sauce using 1/4 cup of brown sugar was too sweet. So I cut the sugar down to 1 tablespoons and used 4 tablespoon rice vinegar, 2 tablespoons of soy sauce.4 tablespoons of water.This will be tandy & sweet. Been making egg rolls for 40 years. This sauce will not overpower the Lumpia just give it the right flavor to enjoy.

29 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tom March 24, 2002

really good appetizer. in my opinion, the sauce is what makes this recipe. it was a little too vinegary for me, but i just dumped in some extra brown sugar, and it was great. a little effort to prepare, but worth it in the end.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bratty May 23, 2002

This was ok. WAY too vinegary for me AND all my guests. Next time I'll cut down on the vinegar and maybe use different ground meat.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zobeed March 18, 2002

Oh yes thank you! My nieghbor growing up always made these for partys and any left over was sent to our house because my sister and I loved them so much.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ArtWork March 17, 2002

Excellent flavor (although a little time-consuming to make - but worth it!). We had these for dinner (sometimes have "appetizer meals") and they were delicious! I would double the sauce amount next time (DH is a big dipper!). Thanks, Diana!

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeyWee February 18, 2002

The flavors worked so nicely together in this recipe. Favorable reviews all around. Used actual lumpia wrappers versus wonton wrappers, don't know if there is much difference but I had far fewer than the 60 rolls indicated. I would defintely make these again.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoAnn March 24, 2002

This is for the dipping sauce --A 5* sauce. I make lumpia all the time & have hunted for a good sauce recipe--well Di has done it; this is perfect for Lumpia--& baking is the only way to go for me! Fry no more...they came out crisp & perfect!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iron Bloomers March 12, 2002

Very good. My prep time was about 30-45 minutes and I used a food processor to speed the work! I forgot to add the garlic, but the end result was still excellent--next time I will remember to add the garlic. I will also double the dipping sauce since mine cooked down considerably.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( September 23, 2002
Baked Lumpia Rolls