61 Reviews

5 stars for flavor, zero stars for baking. Liberally oiled pan, tried to flip after 15 minutes and latkes were completely stuck. Ended up scraping off sheet and frying in oil-delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sidsie D. December 10, 2015

Amazing! I can't believe they are not fried, they taste insanely good. I used a bit too little salt, I think next time I'll salt them right off the oven. It's so fast and easy it's probably my new favorite way to make potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
petipri1 August 13, 2015

Those were absolutely delicious, especially with sour cream! We had them for snacks as well as breakfast. I did add a dash of dried tarragon in the mixture before putting them into the oven. Tasted great! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen August 30, 2014

Just had surgery and cannot have anything fried in oil so I was resigned to making latkes for the family while I ate some mushy vegetables. Well Chia to the rescue! This baked latke recipe was just the ticket and really delicious. The only caveat was that when she says 1/4 of a cup and flatten it well, she really means you should use only a 1/4 of a cup and flatten it well. Those that were more than 1/4 of a cup and thicker ended up mushy inside whereas the thinner ones resembled the typical fried version. This was wonderful and a perfect addition to our Thanksgivingkkah :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leah K. November 28, 2013

Awesome recipe! I never much liked latkes because they always seemed to be soaked with oil, so this baked version actually taste so much better to me. I halved all the ingredients and made four very large pancakes like my parents used to make. SO GOOD! Thanks for sharing this :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer December 14, 2012

I created a food.com profile just so I could review this recipe. I've made it several times exactly as the recipe states and they came out perfect (they were just a bit on the bland side the first time I made them, so I made sure to add a little extra ground pepper the next time around, with much better results). I love that they are not fried.

I lined my pan with parchment paper rather than spraying it and had no issues with sticking or burning. Thank you for posting great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zbrighteyez December 26, 2011

These were really good. I used hash brown potatoes to make it easier. I ended up frying them because I had the time and my husband likes them that way. Very easy and good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adena mangis December 20, 2011

Made just half a recipe for two of us. I had no problems with the recipe. I oiled the pan really well, and they did not stick. Will make again! Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xidmary August 23, 2008

Thanks for posting a great recipe that cuts a lot of fat from the traditional latke! We really enjoyed this and will make them this way from now on.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Outta Here January 16, 2008
Baked Latkes