Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked King Fish/ Cod in Tomato sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked King Fish/ Cod in Tomato sauce

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on September 23, 2012

      I made this dish with pollock fillet and it came out perfectly. Hot, but not too hot. I prefer my fish not to be breaded so I was pleased to find a delicious and easy baked fish recipe. I didn't brown the fish because I find pollock to be pretty solid so there is no need to do it to keep it from falling apart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2011

      Flavour was good, but not sure if I would make it again. Three onions would have been excessive in my estimation, so I used one large onion which seemed sufficient. As a whole, it just didn't jump out at me as being as awesome as some others felt. Different tastes I guess!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      This dish made my week! Delicious! What a great fish recipe - such a nice change from baked lemon cod or anything that's breaded. The seasoning was perfect. It was easy to make and was out of this world delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      This was a easy tasty dish. I made it with trout though, as i had no cod. I will definitely be using this recipe again, maybe with cod next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      very nice recipe. Easy to cook. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      Wow! Easy, fun, delicious. I added some chopped, fresh spinach to the sauce during its 15 minutes of simmering, just because I had it and it needed to be eaten. But the recipe needed no additions -- except a little salt. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      Great flavour ... wonderful aroma .... easy to prepare ... not too much heat! Since my "fresh-from-the-garden" tomatoes were rather large & juicy, I had too much "sauce" but thats OK - I'll eat it for breakfast this morning. I suggest keeping a lid close by at step 3 as the mustard seeds were jumping everywhere (LOL)!!! I substituted some green curry paste (a concentrated mixture of green chilies & Thai spices according to the label) for the fresh green chilies as I had none. Thanx Fay for a delicious entree!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2007

      This was really good and we didn't change anything other than increasing the garlic and ginger a bit. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      This is a fairly simple recipe that was quick to prepare. The flavors were wonderful. I didn't have green chilies so I added a small pinch of red pepper. I also didn't brown the cod but the presentation was very eye appealing. We loved the dish! Thank you for sharing this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2006

      This was really good! Although i skipped the mustard seeds as I didn't have any at home, the recipe came out perfect! It was a bit sweet and sour with a nice fragrant to it. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2005

      mmmm very nice and not overpowering heat!just the right amount.loved the seeds but had mustard seed poppin all over!! The sauce was wonderful, I didn't brown the cod, I just put it in the casserole and it turned out gorgeous! Thanks for sharing a good one we will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2005

      Good! I used only 1 lb of cod fillets. I guess its because I had fillets, but I had no where enough of the chili/turmeric/salt mixture (you don't mention it here, but Madhur calls for the mixture to be made of 1/4 tsp each salt, cayenne and turmeric) to coat my fillets properly. In all, I needed about 3/4 tsp each to cover my fillets. Pretty though! I did sear my fillets in my cast iron pan, although with the fillets, I really don't think this was necessary, since they didn't really brown and they are quite flaky, so if you're using fillets, I recommend just going ahead and pouring the sauce over them and tossing them in the oven. I baked this in my cast iron and it cooked quick as a wink. We served with another Madhur Jaffrey recipe for cauliflower with fennel and black mustard seeds "Baghari Phool Gobi" (from the same cookbook as this one, titled, "Madhur Jaffrey's Indian Cooking"). A good meal with good flavor. I was a little surprised that this was not spicier since I used 3 times the quanity cayenne called for in her original recipe, so if I make this again, I will certainly follow your suggestion of adding chili pepper. Very good... wish my fish had been fresher, though. :( Thanks, Fay!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2004

      What a wonderful dish. The tomato sauce for this was so fragrant and flavorful, with just the right amount of heat. I used cod fillets, which happened to be on sale this week, and only 1 green chili because it was quite large, and dear hubby doesn't have quite the tolerance for "heat" that I do : >. Because I used fillets instead of steaks, I skipped browning them in a pan, and just let them cook through in the oven. I was so pleased with this dish because it tasted evey bit as good, if not better, then some of the tomato based curry dishes at the Indian restuarants here!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked King Fish/ Cod in Tomato sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (304 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 143.6
     
    Calories from Fat 70
    49%
    Total Fat 7.8 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 21.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    kingfish

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites