47 Reviews

As it is written, this recipe would probably be a 4 star in my book. I made a few changes though when I made it and it turned out great! Used 1 pound of chicken cut into bits. 4 T honey, 3 T yellow mustard, 2 T light evoo, no salt, 1/4 t. curry powder. Mixed sauce ingredients together. Cooked sauce with chicken in the frying pan with a tiny bit of evoo to coat the pan so the chicken wouldn't stick. Done in about 10 min. We added fresh veggies (peapods, carrots, red pepper slices) to turn it into a healthy grain free dinner as I am allergic to grains. Thanks for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PardenMe247 June 07, 2010

Awesome! I used boneless skinless breast halves instead of thighs. Instead of basting the chicken while cooking it, I poured the honey mustard mixture over the chicken before putting it in the oven. The chicken was soo flavorful and juicy. I baked it at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. I will definitely be making this again

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stefanie828 September 30, 2009

Made this for one person so cut it in half. I also love that the ingredients are all in the pantry. May try some poultry seasoning next time. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty January 21, 2010

Deserves every one of the 5 star rating. So easy, so delicious. We were practically licking our plates!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
johnnyfay February 25, 2016

UPDATE: I have made this MANY times since I first reviewed it in 2009 (was it really that LONG ago?). I've followed the recipe as is, with the exception of how I cook it. I prefer to cook the chicken first & then serve with the sauce on top. I always double the sauce now as it is great on rice. I'll be making this for a birthday lunch at work in a few days...it was requested by one of the people having a birthday. It's a BIG hit for our office parties and with my 2 boys. LOVE that it is so easy to make & so delicious. If you're using bottled honey mustard, STOP and make this....you won't regret it! First review: A YUMMY, EASY dinner! I modified the recipe slightly as I didn't have Dijon Mustard but had some honey mustard. I used that instead of the honey + the mustard. Didn't have lemon juice so I used some orange-pineapple juice. Also added a few more spices (from a spice grinder I have). I used boneless, skinless thighs and cooked it at 425 for 20 mins. I will definitely be making this again!!! DELICIOUS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jrsygirl17 September 22, 2015

Loved this recipe!!!! I didn't have lemon juice so used vinegar instead. This comes out so tender and yummy. Instead of basting it, I turned over the pieces after 20 mins. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debby H March 24, 2014

Awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lets.eat September 17, 2013

Can finally make this tasty dish without resorting to just pouring a jar of ready made sauce over some chicken. I used chicken tenderloins and added a fair amount of various vegetables which I had stir-fried in olive oil, garlic and lemon to the final dish. It was muchly enjoyed by my three adult males!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fungooleyruley January 21, 2013

Great recipe! Even the kids gave it compliments!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PB & J October 08, 2012

We made this exactly as written and found it to be a very nice improvement over our traditional honey mustard (just equal parts honey and mustard). I liked the extra spices and how they countered the honey's sweetness. And of course it's still an incredibly easy recipe to make which scores bonus points for us. It isn't necessary in the all-star team of recipes for us but really good and it has definitely bumped out all other honey mustards for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AbbaGav April 27, 2012
Baked Honey Mustard Chicken