31 Reviews

We just finished eating this dish, and loved it. After 1 hour the lemon juice was starting to "cook" the chicken flesh, so don't leave it any longer. I cheated a bit and patted the fillets dry, then layed them on the baking tray, brushed the exposed side with oil and patted the crumb and herb mix thickly on that side only. This made them quick and easy to cook and serve-no trouble with crumbs falling off. We ate these with wedges and a salad and if I could give this lemony, herby, easy, low fat dish a ten I would!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS November 18, 2002

I'm always looking for new, easy chicken recipes, and this one is definitely a keeper! All four members of the family thought it was great. I had too much of the breadcrumb mixture left over after dredging the chicken breasts . . . nextime, I'll probably cut the breadcrumbs down to 3/4 cup.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
agileangus December 31, 2002

Well, I realize that from latest posts, that honesty is the best policy. Mine turned out WAY too lemony. I used fresh lemon juice, and marinated for about 50 minutes,instead of an hour, and we were all puckering up. I did like the taste and especially the smell of the fresh herbs,but had a bit of a problem getting the breading to stick to the chicken.We had mashed potatoes and broccoli spears with it - didn't need those lemon wedges on the side, however. Maybe I did something wrong. I would try it again, but maybe reduce the amount of lemon juice next time. But thanks! It's always fun to try something different.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HEP MEP January 08, 2003

Loved the recipe. Unfortuneately my fresh herbs were not quite ready yet so I used dry ( 11/4 tsp basil, 3/4 tsp parsley,& 1/2 tsp rosemary) Very good but looking forward to using fresh next time. The chicken was moist and the lemon flavor was just right. Quick easy recipe - a keeper thanks PanNan

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy June 06, 2003

Perfect. I made enough for two and added the season without measuring. Just what looked like what we like. I marinated the breasts with the juice from half a lemon. Not lemony at all, just enough for a little flavor. I took the suggestion from the other reviews and added Parmesan cheese to the mix and a little to the top of the breasts. Used the convection roast feature on my oven and it came out crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ilee1990 March 30, 2013

This was awesome. I added dried sage and parmesean cheese as well. Just Lovely! Thank for Posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
presidentpel June 29, 2010

Awesome! This is the first time I have been able to achieve crispy breaded chicken in the oven, I'm not sure if it's from the oil/butter dip or the oven temp. Either way, this will be my go-to method in the future! My only complaint is that I reduced the recipe to serve 4 (about a pound of chicken) and it called for 1 cup of breadcrumbs, which turned out to be way too much. I hate to waste my homemade breadcrumbs. Next time, I will start with 1/2 cup. Other than the reduction of the recipe, I followed it exactly and it was perfect! Thanks so much for sharing

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Island Girl 525 May 31, 2010

Followed the recipe as written and thought it was absolutely delicious! Very simple to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HappyWife313 December 12, 2011
Baked Herb-Crusted Chicken Breasts