51 Reviews

I made this today for Thanksgiving - I had a 17 pound bone-in whole ham and followed the receipe exactly, using the cooking instructions that came with the ham (it cooked for 5 hours). I let it rest for 15 minutes once out of the oven, then sliced it while in the roasting pan, laying the slices in a small stockpot, ladling the juice over each layer as I went. I did this because the ham was too heavy and hot for me to lift from the roasting pan. I've cooked quite a few different ham receipes, none of them twice - THIS one, however, is a keeper! An absolute keeper. The ham was amazingly moist, very flavourful, and my family just could not get enough of it. Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful receipe, it will be inserted into my kitchen binder of keeper receipes.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roo in the Kitchen November 24, 2011

Oh wow. This was the first ham I ever made, and I'll probably use this recipe forever. I made this ham for Christmas Eve and it was absolutely amazing. I used a 10lb boneless ham given out by my company for the holidays. I made a couple of very minor tweaks. I was low on brown sugar, so I used about a cup of brown sugar and a cup of honey. I also wanted the traditional Christmas look, so about 45 minutes before it was done, I added pineapple slices and cherries on top. I pinned the pineapples with toothpicks and the cherries with cloves. Three out of four of us agreed that it was the best ham we'd ever had. All of us went back for seconds, and some for thirds. Absolutely amazing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nicole F. December 25, 2012

I chose to make this recipe for us.

It was not sweet. The ham came out so moist.

This is one baked ham recipe I will be making again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BLUE ROSE April 10, 2012

Fantastic taste, easy to make, this recipe was a sure-fire HIT at our Easter dinner! I used a cook-first bone-in ham, basted every 30 minutes, tented w/foil from the start, and cut the cloves & cinnamon in half. Terrific results and great reviews from everyone, including my choosy in-laws! Thanks a million for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alma.sove April 04, 2010

This was great! I made it just as is written but I used pineapple slices in juice instead of straight juice. To accommodate the different tastes I sliced half of it and let it cool in the juice so the sweet lovers could have that half and the semi-sweet lovers could have the other half.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lunaraven_psi April 12, 2008

I made this delicous baked ham recipe for Easter. I was very, very tasty and moist! My family gave me so any compliments. I followed this recipe as directed and it came out perfect! The best main course I have ever made. You won't be disappointed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michie81 April 22, 2013

I have made this recipe several times. It's my go to recipe for baked ham. The seasonings are perfect. I usually use a bone-in spiral ham. My son (8), loves it! I think it's his favorite! Thank you so much for sharing your recipe. He is always asking me if I can make ham now bc of this recipe. :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jess 68 April 04, 2013

You no longer need to look for a baked ham recipe....this one is it!! Easy and delicious. Got rave reviews:) Wouldn't change a thing...thanks for sharing

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fighting Irish #7 November 06, 2011

This received rave reviews. Was told this was the best ham he had eaten and said was good enough to be at Granny's table. Used a mash's ham and trimmed some off excess ham. Cooked for and basted longere as was not a pre-cooked ham. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cst1996 April 26, 2011

I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could!! Absolutely delicious!! I have never gotten so many compliments on anything I have ever made and this was my first time making a ham. People raved about the ham and said it was the best they have ever had! I used pineapple slices in juice and some crushed pineapple leftover from another recipe. There is no need to ever find another ham recipe again be because this one is a keeper!! Thanks for posting!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lildido921 April 26, 2011
Baked Ham