56 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this for my husband's birthday today and it was very tasty, and incredibly easy. I didn't have Italian breadcrumbs, so I used panko and added some paprika and pepper, and two cloves of crushed garlic, the parsley, salt and pepper. I think I might have overcooked it at 25 minutes, but it was still quite delicious. Everyone ate every last bite on their plates, but my sister-in-law said she'd only give it four stars since it wasn't moist enough. Might have been the fish, or the length of time I cooked it. I really enjoyed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzy Snoflake November 13, 2009

Inez, this recipe is delicious! So easy, so tasty! My seafood market was out of Halibut so I used Cod. I am definitely keeping this recipe and will be trying it with the Halibut and will also use Cod again. Thank you Inez ; )

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RecipeNut September 09, 2002

Pretty tasty. I made a few changes. I dried then buttered both sides of the halibut, then sprinkled it with parm cheese, bread crumbs, garlic powder with parsley, salt and pepper. They were big pieces so I covered it with foil for the first 25 minutes, checked cooked for another 10, checked and then another 3 minutes. It was pretty good - the kids 3/5 ate with no problems. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ceezie September 18, 2013

This was a very good recipe. So quick to make. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn January 07, 2013

As all the others said, this is a great and simple recipe. I made a few changes - instead of breadcrumbs I used panko. In the panko I added some herbs (rosemary, thyme, oregano, etc), some dried chili flakes, garlic powder. I didn't sprinkle this on - I coated the halibut with the butter, and then coated it with the panko mixture. Once on the dish to bake in the oven I sprinkled it with grated parmesan. I wasn't sure how it would turn out, but it was a.m.a.z.i.n.g!! It definitely will be a staple dish!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greece2012 September 25, 2012

I rated this 5 starts for being a very tasty, very easy and very low risk way to prepare an expensive cut of fish. I've never made halibut filets before, and after searching though a number of recipes decided on this one. What a great choice. Even the thirteen year old who doesn't eat fish loved it! Changed nothing in the recipe.

As a side, we had one filet left, so I tried the Mexican Ceviche recipe with it, and that was a hit, as well! http://www.food.com/recipe/mexican-ceviche-8899
Thanks, MizzNezz!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wyze Sky July 17, 2011

Great! made for dinner we loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelseyMorgan February 22, 2011

Thanks for a great easy recipe. I used homemade Italian breadcrumbs and omitted the parlsey because I was out. Used it on halibut my parents' gave me that they caught in Alaska. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ridinthewind October 28, 2010

Perfect! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PearTree April 05, 2010

very tasty. Didnt have italian bread crumbs so I just added oregano pepper and onion powder to regular bread crumbs, along with the other suggested herbs, I this will go good with chicken too, thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
N0_0ne March 29, 2010
Baked Halibut