Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Golden Syrup Dumplings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Golden Syrup Dumplings

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2002

      This were absolutely divine. I could have eaten the entire dish! As suggested by the recipe poster, I served this with a big of (Bird's) custard on top which was very nice. Oh - they were just the most delicious things I have ever tried. The measurements are very accurate and I made no substitutions - everything worked out just as described. Don't worry when you are mixing up the batter if it looks like there is hardly anything in your bowl - the dumplings grow huge upon baking and start out very, very small. I was worried at first about the large quantity of liquid that gets poured over the batter before baking - but never fear, the amount is perfect - as the dumplings grow, they absorb most of the rich,sweet syrup sauce and it comes out just wonderful. One note: I did set my pie plate on top of a rimmed baking sheet to catch any drips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2005

      Made these tonight and had forgotten all about the comments below and was concerned about the large amount of liquid that had to be poured on the small amount of batter but....it turned out delicious, next time I will make it in a bigger dish as my pie dish was too small and added the liquid in stages. The dumpligs were light and fluffy. Served it with cream, could have eaten the lot!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2004

      I've had this recipe in my cookbook for ages and was doing a bit of a tidy and clean up and thought it was time to give it a go. I wish I had tried it much sooner!! Good Aussie recipe, gotta love that golden syrup taste. Easy, delicious and with ingredients that are always on hand. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      I have never made baked GS Dumplings but these are wonderul. Such an easy recipe to follow and make. I served them with ice cream and they were just delicious. Just the thing for a cold winters night. Thank You so much Jan an old favourite the whol family enjoyed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2005

      I have made these twice, the first time I had 10 visitors, (3 adults and 7 kids) I got the kids involved and got them to do the dumplings. I have to admit that I love cooking with wine, and I did have a glass in my hand at the time. I didnt measure, I just plopped. I got the kids to roll the dough into balls, probably double the recipe. Poured the syrup over and baked, and they were wonderfull. As I had made so many, the leftovers were re-heated in the micro-wave, with a little extra water, and then drizzled with a little extra syrup, and were just as good as the night before!!! SO, I then made the recipe as written, and it was a little different. I found the batter a little too wet to roll, so I added just a scant more flour and did the tablespoon thing, (instead of rolling) they turned out just fine, though I did have to cook them a little longer then stated. for the reviewer that said the bottom of the dumpling was soggy, thats the way they are supposed to be :) if you want them to stay round and firmer, add more flour, and roll them before adding the syrup. Jan, I have made the old syrup dumplings a few times, and there was never enough syrup, and they were a bit "doughy". this recipe is perfect!!!! thank you!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2012

      Way too sweet for me, but DH loved them! Served with ice cream. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      This was pretty nice but the syrup didn't work for me - seemed like there was a cup too much water really, plus despite cooking it at a higher temperature I had to add 10mins to the cooking time. It is what it is, and what you expect it to be: A sweet, carb-based dream! But definitely the recipe needs tweaking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      These are absolutely beautiful!! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      We just had our coldest June day EVER on record so a warm dessert recipe was very welcome indeed. Nice and easy, it works well and everybody loved it, especially the kids. Definite winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2006

      5 stars for this one! I found this recipe to be simple to make & just delicious to eat! I had always been too scared to make dumplings but now I use this recipe on a regular basis. Real comfort food. We had it with vanilla ice-cream & it was just perfect. A great winter dish. Dynamite recipe Jan! Thank you :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2006

      Firstly, thank you to najwa for the cup conversions :) I've always wanted to make this kind of dessert but always felt it was too fiddly (until I found this one!) Couldnt have been easier, or tastier. The kids really enjoyed this with ice-cream, and I plan to make it again soon. Just one note, I did not end up needing all the liquid for the dough, I guess 2/3 of it was plenty. The dough was semi-sticky, but workable. Thanks for a great basic comfort food dessert. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2005

      I had a little difficulty following the ingredients/instructions and also managing the sticky golden syrup and had to throw it away and re-start once but the second batch turned out fine. I was worried about the amount of syrup that gets poured over the batter before baking but decided to go ahead and follow the recipe. After 25 minutes the top of the dumplings were done but the bottom half (under the syrup) was soggy so I had to pour a little syrup away and bake for a further 15 minutes. FINALLY they were done and tasted good. I'll keep this recipe but I'm not sure how often I'd make them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2004

      These are great and so easy to make! I don't usually make recipes that require weighing but the picture won me over! My husband loved them too .. thank you!! P.S. The flour is about 3/4 cup and the sugar is about 1/2 cup ..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2002

      mmmmm this sounds like the kind of thing i could eat the whole of! i think i'll be trying it! definite comfort food possibilities!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Golden Syrup Dumplings

    Serving Size: 1 (147 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 228.3
     
    Calories from Fat 57
    25%
    Total Fat 6.3 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 45.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 164.5 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 20.9 g
    83%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites