14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This were absolutely divine. I could have eaten the entire dish! As suggested by the recipe poster, I served this with a big of (Bird's) custard on top which was very nice. Oh - they were just the most delicious things I have ever tried. The measurements are very accurate and I made no substitutions - everything worked out just as described. Don't worry when you are mixing up the batter if it looks like there is hardly anything in your bowl - the dumplings grow huge upon baking and start out very, very small. I was worried at first about the large quantity of liquid that gets poured over the batter before baking - but never fear, the amount is perfect - as the dumplings grow, they absorb most of the rich,sweet syrup sauce and it comes out just wonderful. One note: I did set my pie plate on top of a rimmed baking sheet to catch any drips.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather September 20, 2002

Made these tonight and had forgotten all about the comments below and was concerned about the large amount of liquid that had to be poured on the small amount of batter but....it turned out delicious, next time I will make it in a bigger dish as my pie dish was too small and added the liquid in stages. The dumpligs were light and fluffy. Served it with cream, could have eaten the lot!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aussie mum 2_2 April 22, 2005

I've had this recipe in my cookbook for ages and was doing a bit of a tidy and clean up and thought it was time to give it a go. I wish I had tried it much sooner!! Good Aussie recipe, gotta love that golden syrup taste. Easy, delicious and with ingredients that are always on hand. Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sueie March 05, 2004

I have never made baked GS Dumplings but these are wonderul. Such an easy recipe to follow and make. I served them with ice cream and they were just delicious. Just the thing for a cold winters night. Thank You so much Jan an old favourite the whol family enjoyed.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme June 18, 2008

I have made these twice, the first time I had 10 visitors, (3 adults and 7 kids) I got the kids involved and got them to do the dumplings. I have to admit that I love cooking with wine, and I did have a glass in my hand at the time. I didnt measure, I just plopped. I got the kids to roll the dough into balls, probably double the recipe. Poured the syrup over and baked, and they were wonderfull. As I had made so many, the leftovers were re-heated in the micro-wave, with a little extra water, and then drizzled with a little extra syrup, and were just as good as the night before!!! SO, I then made the recipe as written, and it was a little different. I found the batter a little too wet to roll, so I added just a scant more flour and did the tablespoon thing, (instead of rolling) they turned out just fine, though I did have to cook them a little longer then stated. for the reviewer that said the bottom of the dumpling was soggy, thats the way they are supposed to be :) if you want them to stay round and firmer, add more flour, and roll them before adding the syrup. Jan, I have made the old syrup dumplings a few times, and there was never enough syrup, and they were a bit "doughy". this recipe is perfect!!!! thank you!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills October 19, 2005

Way too sweet for me, but DH loved them! Served with ice cream. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pammyowl November 26, 2012

This was pretty nice but the syrup didn't work for me - seemed like there was a cup too much water really, plus despite cooking it at a higher temperature I had to add 10mins to the cooking time. It is what it is, and what you expect it to be: A sweet, carb-based dream! But definitely the recipe needs tweaking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy-Bob February 27, 2011

These are absolutely beautiful!! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aussieqzine May 04, 2009

We just had our coldest June day EVER on record so a warm dessert recipe was very welcome indeed. Nice and easy, it works well and everybody loved it, especially the kids. Definite winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat June 20, 2007

5 stars for this one! I found this recipe to be simple to make & just delicious to eat! I had always been too scared to make dumplings but now I use this recipe on a regular basis. Real comfort food. We had it with vanilla ice-cream & it was just perfect. A great winter dish. Dynamite recipe Jan! Thank you :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
delnz99 May 21, 2006
Baked Golden Syrup Dumplings