Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Glazed Virginia Ham Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Glazed Virginia Ham

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on October 24, 2012

      Was PERFECT for our Easter dinner. Can't WAIT for the leftovers tonight! Thanks, Jeff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      The ham is still cooking, but the glaze is amazing! I did a taste test, and could eat it right out of the blender, it was so tasty. I substituted apple juice for oj (dietary sensitivities) and used Silver Palate Mango Chutney. I can wait for my family to try this ham! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      I chose this recipe because you can't go wrong with one of Ina's recipes. I usually just use the packet from Costco's spiral hams but this time I used a different brand of ham and was suspicious of the packet. I left out the orange peel (because my kids don't favor the flavor). I usually don't care that much about ham but tonight this ham was my favorite part of Easter dinner! It really has a delectable flavor (very classic and not just "preserves" tasting). The Dijon really balances the flavor and keeps it from being too sweet. I am going to be making this next week for my aunt (who does not favor sweet glazes for ham) and I bet she will really love it. Thanks Jeff, for posting my favorite ham glaze (won't go back to the packet). Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      I think this is a great recipe, but I also think the original author, Ina Garten, should be credited. The recipe was published in her book, "Barefoot Contessa Parties", copyrighted in 2002, and is shown often on the Food Network. Thanks for sharing the recipe, but let's do give credit for copyrighted recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2005

      Am SURE you will agree, TRUE! This recipe was GREAT on ham too! Something different, something UNIQUE, Hope your curiosity this recipe does peak!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2005

      This was a great glaze for ham; I did follow a few of the other posters advice and cut back the mustard to 1/4 cup and was very happy with the yummy results!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2005

      This was wonderful, Mean. I loved the fruty chutney mustard flavor on the ham. Was a 5 star Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2005

      WAY too many mango chutney choices. I had no idea. I tried a mango ginger chutney but won't use it again; the ginger was too dominant. Even so, this was just delicious and I'm looking forward to exploring the world of chutney.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2005

      Excellent glaze, turned out great. Will use again. I might reduce the amount of mustard next time to 1/4 cup however. The mango chutney was fantastic in this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2005

      This was heaven on a plate! If you are looking for a slightly different, but richly flavored way to serve your ham, search no further. I reluctantly spooned out the last of the home made chutney to make this, but it was well worth the sacrifice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2005

      Could not resist trying this because I love mango. I can't believe how many different kinds of mango chutney there are (most were the same brand, just different types). I went with the major grey style (brand was Jaipur) when I noticed cloves floating in it. Good choice. No need to pay for a Honeybaked Ham again. I did leave out the zest. I used a smaller ham, but it was spiral cut on the bone even though there are only 2 of us because I think the bone adds flavor and ham freezes fine. I am guessing highcotton used a different chutney because neither garlic nor orange overwhelmed. I was concerned because the predominant smell while the ham cooked was mustard, but it was not an overpowering flavor at all. I would use this glaze again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2005

      This is the recipe I am going to use for all my hams from now on. Since there are only 2 of us in the family. I used one of the boneless packed hams. This is not to be confused with "fully cooked spiral-cut smoked ham, on the bone". My recipe using a cheap cut was fantastic. I used Mango Chutney. Can not wait to try this with a good ham.Dh kept commenting, how this was one of the best hams he had ever had & he is an expert as my MIL knows how to pick & cook a ham! Thank you Mean Chef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2004

      Despite my reluctance to give poor reviews, I am unable to recommend this recipe. Given the source and the glowing comments, I took a chance. Didn't work out. Both the garlic flavor and the orange flavor were strong to the point of being overwhelming. My guests were 'put off', to say the least. Perhaps I should note that these are people who love and appreciate good food. They have enjoyed several of Mean Chef's recipes enormously. Sorry to say that this one just didn't work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2004

      I didn't think I'd like this better than my old tried and true maple syrup/rum glaze, but it is absolutely superb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2004

      I used this glaze on my Easter ham and man oh man was it fabulous. Just the perfect sweetness to the salty ham. Thanks MeanChef for yet another keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2004

      I made this with Cranberry chutney because I couldn't find any Mango chutney...this was the best glaze ever! The flavor combinations of the brown sugar, garlic, orange zest and chutney was perfect! This is the perfect way to dress up your ham. I'm going to keep this recipe and look for Mango chutney! Thanks Mean for sharing another of your 5 star recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Glazed Virginia Ham

    Serving Size: 1 (425 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 699.8
     
    Calories from Fat 335
    47%
    Total Fat 37.2 g
    57%
    Saturated Fat 12.3 g
    61%
    Cholesterol 218.6 mg
    72%
    Sodium 5564.7 mg
    231%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 11.6 g
    46%
    Protein 73.9 g
    147%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mango chutney

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes