Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Garlic Rice Pilaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Garlic Rice Pilaf

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on March 02, 2009

      this is a great side dish. loved the fresh garlic taste. i added parmesan cheese. next time i will add some parsley. thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2008

      This is an excellent side dish. I did use long grain brown rice. The first time I kept the liquid and cooking times the same The next time, I doubled the recipe, again used the Long Grain Brown Rice, but increased the broth a total of 5 cups, and increased the cooking time to an hour up from the 45 minutes. It was perfect, and all gone.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2012

      Good, easy and cheap. Lots of little variations possible. I always double it for leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2012

    • on October 06, 2011

      The rice was done perfectly and very flavorful. I enjoyed how quickly it came together and it will be making many future appearances on my menus. (32)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      Although my family enjoyed this baked rice...and I got to use up some chicken broth that needed to be use up...I found that this rice was finished cooking in 55 minutes, which meant I had to rush to get the rest of the dinner ready. I turned the oven off and let the rice sit in the oven to keep warm. I liked the concept of the recipe...but next time, I would consider using brown rice and cooking it for 1 hour total

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2010

      This one is definitely a little time consuming, but I'm a big fan of the end result. This baked rice is a great, healthier alternative to fried rice. We've used it as an accompaniment to stir fry and grilled fish. Plus the house smells divine while it bakes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      When I first read this recipe I thought it sounded very bland but I tried it because of the reviews, It was even more bland than I thought it would be. We ended up throwing it all out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

    • on May 16, 2009

      Very good recipe (and forgiving!) that will be going into rotation at my house. I melted my butter and did the whole thing in my cast-iron dutch oven. (Saved washing a skillet!) When I went to crush my garlic cloves, I found my bulb had started to sprout (Eep!), so I used 1 tablespoon of garlic paste I had on hand - adding it with the first cup of broth after browning the rice. The liquid amount and times worked out perfectly for me. DH absolutely loved it, and he usually doesn't care for rice side dishes. I did get the crispy edge and creamy center, and looked a lot like the photo. Thanks for the wonderful and easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      This was fantastic! I doubled the recipe and had only needed to add abuot 10 minutes cooking time, and that may have been more just for my liking than anything (it was still a bit too moist in my opinion before the added time.) It didn't get crispy around the edges like I expected it would, but it was great none the less. Served it with freshly caught snapper and amber jack fish that we cooked on the grill. I will certainly keep this recipe handy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      excellent recipe!! i usually do instant rice in the microwave because i'm terrible at making rice! but this is an easy recipe to follow and turned out perfect! made as written but added some onion, doubled the butter, probably tripled the garlic, added fresh parsley and 2 thyme sprigs. it smelled insanely delicious as soon as i put it in the oven! fabulous! will use this method many times with various seasonings/flavors/veggies. thanks for the keeper!! love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      Good! Mine was a little dry. I may add 1/4 more chicken broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      I needed a rice side dish for a barbeque that had kabobs I wanted something that could stand alone because there would be no sauce. Well end result is my kabobs were ok but everyone I mean everyone raved over the rice. Good thing because I had made 30 servings. I made it early in the day about 8am and after it finished cooking I made one small change and added a handfull of parmesan and mixed it in. Super thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      This was very good, I added just a bit more broth toward the end and also reduced the cooking time to 60 instead of 70 min. but I don't think it would have burned if I had left it the whole time. Crunchy on edges, creamy in the middle. Everyone loved it! I made it for Easter now I'm making it again for a pot luck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      My family LOVES this rice. I always double or triple the recipe and use a big oblong pyrex baking dish. Left-overs and make flavorful Chicken-Rice soup the next day. The mild garlic flavor is just wonderful. Great with baked Salmon or Pheasant!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      I am not rating this as I am not sure if I used the correct rice. Following the recipe exactly my rice was very dry and overcooked. Seventy minutes is long. I used Carolina enriched extra long grain. When I pulled it out of the oven, it was like confetti. Any ideas on what went wrong??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      I used vegetable broth to make this and served it with spicy ribs. This pilaf was a good complement to the BBQ sauce. I needed the dish to have a touch of color as there was too much white in my meal so I added some Italian herb and parsley which went with the flavor very well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      This had great flavor and was a nice change from plain rice. I made it with brown rice to make it a little more nutritious. The best part was that my husband, who doesn't like rice, enjoyed this dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      You were so right when you said it was hard to stop eating it!!! I love anything with garlic and since I am Thai... I also LOVE rice!!! So this was the best of both worlds for me... I considered scaling this down to half since there is only 2 of us... but I am so glad I didn't. I used about 4 large garlic cloves and slowly toasted them along with the rice on the stove top. It took me about 10 minutes since I wanted to be sure I didn't burn either... I loved the fact that this pilaf cooked at the same temperature as Favorite Chicken Thighs, and I didn't have to "babysit" either. This was by far THE BEST pilaf I have ever had... delicious crunchy edges and it baked up so tender and perfectly seasoned. My BF, who is not a big fan of rice, even had seconds... YUM!!! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Garlic Rice Pilaf

    Serving Size: 1 (139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 198.5
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    25%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 12.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 648.6 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites