12 Reviews

I'm not sure how 20 oz of peas would have worked. I used 6 oz of peas and 4 oz of leftover quinoa, mushroom soup and instead of shredded swiss, I used 3 sections of Laughing Cow swiss and herb. no bread crumbs. It was wonderful, DH loved it too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise P. August 15, 2016

I followed this recipe exactly as written and loved it. Sometimes the simplest recipes turn out the best. Thanks for a keeper. And on a side note, I just have to comment on Andie's review: why in the world would you eat this when you are "not too crazy about swiss cheese" and then complain about the swiss cheese?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LainieBug May 13, 2010

This was a great addition to my lineup. Being a single guy, little casseroles like this can be good things to have in the fridge. I would definitely recommend some S&P for this, as it was a little bland. I think I may also try a stronger cheese, perhaps chedder, the next time I make this. Good recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mwarger January 15, 2009

Easy to make. Even my husband who doesn't like swiss cheese, liked this dish. I used panko breadcrumbs because that's what I had in the house, and it came out great. Very tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Dog May 23, 2008

This was a wonderful dish. I didn't have quite 20 oz. of frozen peas, more about 12 oz. I was going to adjust the recipe to the amount of peas I had, but when starting to mix the cream of mushroom soup and cheese in with the peas, I realized it could take the whole can. So I didn't alter the recipe, only using what peas I did have on hand. The only different thing I did was, as another reviewer mentioned, I used Panko bread crumbs (by choice, I did have seasoned and unseasoned regular, but thought the Panko would add to the dish....it did). I seasoned the Panko with freshly cracked black pepper, some coriander and Herbs de Provence and added melted unsalted butter instead of margarine. When the dish came out of the oven, I immediately grated just a hint of fresh whole nutmeg over it, and sprinkled it with freshly minced parsley. I spooned the mixture into individual ramekins, and served it with ribeye steak and mashed sweet potatoes. It was a wonderful meal, and complimented beautifully by this wonderful dish. Thank you Neta.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Citruholic April 19, 2008

My family loved this side dish. I cut the recipe in half but I shouldn't have as they all wanted more. The peas still taste really fresh and it isn't overly creamy. Sometimes the cream sauce dominates but in this recipe the peas are still the star. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaV February 02, 2008

This is such an easy way to make peas. We made Lemon Chicken and Garlic Bread to go with this. I didn't have any regular bread crumbs so I used Panko instead (which are Japanese Bread Crumbs) with excellent results. I will use this recipe again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andeey October 17, 2006

Let me first say I am not too crazy about swiss cheese, so this recipe was a bit much for me. My family, on the other hand thought it was great. When I make it again (and I will) I will either use only 4oz of swiss, or try it with another kind of cheese. It is a great way to dress up peas, though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andie June 20, 2006

Excellent. What a way to fancy up peas. Thanks so much for posting. Served this with meatloaf and mashed potatoes. Great meal

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ May 20, 2006
Baked Frozen Peas