51 Reviews

I absolutely love this recipe and have been making it for awhile; however, I just can't in good conscience feed my family something that has almost 64 grams of fat per serving!! I've made some slight adjustments, and it tastes almost exactly the same, in fact, we like it better - not SO rich and greasy: I use egg beaters instead of whole eggs; whole milk instead of half and half; spray the pan with Pam; cut the topping amount in half. Drops the fat grams to 15-20 per serving - still high, but at least reasonable. But it is a fabulous recipe - enjoy!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SouthernGirl23 April 11, 2009

Loved the praline topping on this. I reaad the reviews about some people finding this soggy after baking. So I looked up other recipes like this one. My findings were that the egg/milk ratio in this recipe were higher then others. The 1 cup of milk was not added when I made this, which worked well. Topping: I melted the butter added everything into the pan stirred and poured over bread mixture. I baked it at 400 degrees for 1 hour. I found that the top burnt because of the higher temp. So next time I will cover with foil for the first 45 minutes. Thank you for posting. I forgot to say I made this for my DD's prom breakfast at our house 4/2008. We have 6 guest here at 4:30 AM

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J April 27, 2008

I use this recipe everytime I have extra company staying over. I usually add a tsp of almond extract along with the vanilla. Gives it that extra something special. It's simply decadent and always a hit, thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cynna November 22, 2004

I think this is wonderful. The first time I made this was for my son's baptism. I made a couple of them the night before and put it in the oven covered with tin foil before we left for the church (reduced the temp. a little too) and let it bake while we were gone. When we got home it was delicious and many guests asked for the recipe. Now I make it every now and than when I just crave it. Due to my sons allergies to milk and tree nuts I use 3 cups of rice milk and leave out the nutmeg and pecan's. I also just make half the topping with crisco and brown sugar and cinnamon. It is still delicious (though I miss the pecans). I don't even let it sit overnight. I just make sure that all the bread is well soaked. It turns out like a bread/custard. You should let it rest about 10 minutes before serving.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommaWeb5ter October 29, 2008

I wish I had more than five stars. I made this for an office holiday breakfast, and it was the *star* of the show! Nervous because I hadn't made a trial run before I made it for a crowd, it was a total winner. I made this recipe at 1.5 times the quantity. Was still able to pile it all into a 9 x 13, which puffed up beautifully, without spilling over. (I cooked a little bit longer, not sure how much, until it was perfectly done.) I used french bread, perfect, altho it was a very small diameter bread (husband bought it for me), but fortunately lots of it. I had lots of little rounds, 1" thick instead of bigger pieces of bread. Net result - still fabulous. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
windy_moon December 20, 2007

Quite a wonderful dish when you want to have something special to serve in the morning and you don't want to spend your time in the kitchen--perfect for Christmas morning. I found it a bit on the soggy side. Next time I will just dip the slices as I would regular French toast, eliminating the 1 cup of milk. The topping is easily spread if you warm it a few seconds in the microwave. Found slices reheat to near perfection on a cookie sheet under the broiler, turning once and watching very carefully!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W March 23, 2005

I make this for a Christmas Eve breakfast I have with my husband and my best friend and her family. It has been such a hit I make it for breakfast Christmas morning at my in laws. Always yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsKimmyW December 22, 2013

This was one of the most amazing things I've ever eaten! I made it for a brunch I was hosting for my girlfriends and it got rave reviews from everyone including someone who didn't like French toast. Rather than serve it with maple syrup, I opted for fresh fruit and Cool Whip and it was perfect. I halved the recipe. I bought a loaf of French bread from the store and cut off 10 1" slices. I let the bread sit for a day to dry out. I dipped each slice in the custard then put it into the casserole, topping it with the remaining mixture. The next morning I topped it with the praline topping and covered it with foil. I baked it for 30 minutes then pulled the foil off and baked for another 25 minutes so it would get nice and golden. It was perfect and not mushy at all. Not something I will make very often, but definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
medieval wench March 06, 2012

Excellent!!! I excluded the extra milk though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3js January 24, 2012

Yuck! This recipe was very mushy! I followed the recipe exactly as written. I even put it back in the oven to cook about 20 minutes longer but it didn't help. I am disappointed but had my doubts that it might be soggy based on some other reviews. I will not be making this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kathmrp January 18, 2012
Baked French Toast Casserole With Maple Syrup