Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked French Toast Casserole With Maple Syrup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked French Toast Casserole With Maple Syrup

    Average Rating:

    51 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 51

    Sort by:

    • on April 11, 2009

      I absolutely love this recipe and have been making it for awhile; however, I just can't in good conscience feed my family something that has almost 64 grams of fat per serving!! I've made some slight adjustments, and it tastes almost exactly the same, in fact, we like it better - not SO rich and greasy: I use egg beaters instead of whole eggs; whole milk instead of half and half; spray the pan with Pam; cut the topping amount in half. Drops the fat grams to 15-20 per serving - still high, but at least reasonable. But it is a fabulous recipe - enjoy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      Loved the praline topping on this. I reaad the reviews about some people finding this soggy after baking. So I looked up other recipes like this one. My findings were that the egg/milk ratio in this recipe were higher then others. The 1 cup of milk was not added when I made this, which worked well. Topping: I melted the butter added everything into the pan stirred and poured over bread mixture. I baked it at 400 degrees for 1 hour. I found that the top burnt because of the higher temp. So next time I will cover with foil for the first 45 minutes. Thank you for posting. I forgot to say I made this for my DD's prom breakfast at our house 4/2008. We have 6 guest here at 4:30 AM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      I think this is wonderful. The first time I made this was for my son's baptism. I made a couple of them the night before and put it in the oven covered with tin foil before we left for the church (reduced the temp. a little too) and let it bake while we were gone. When we got home it was delicious and many guests asked for the recipe. Now I make it every now and than when I just crave it. Due to my sons allergies to milk and tree nuts I use 3 cups of rice milk and leave out the nutmeg and pecan's. I also just make half the topping with crisco and brown sugar and cinnamon. It is still delicious (though I miss the pecans). I don't even let it sit overnight. I just make sure that all the bread is well soaked. It turns out like a bread/custard. You should let it rest about 10 minutes before serving.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2005

      Quite a wonderful dish when you want to have something special to serve in the morning and you don't want to spend your time in the kitchen--perfect for Christmas morning. I found it a bit on the soggy side. Next time I will just dip the slices as I would regular French toast, eliminating the 1 cup of milk. The topping is easily spread if you warm it a few seconds in the microwave. Found slices reheat to near perfection on a cookie sheet under the broiler, turning once and watching very carefully!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2004

      I use this recipe everytime I have extra company staying over. I usually add a tsp of almond extract along with the vanilla. Gives it that extra something special. It's simply decadent and always a hit, thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      I make this for a Christmas Eve breakfast I have with my husband and my best friend and her family. It has been such a hit I make it for breakfast Christmas morning at my in laws. Always yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2012

      This was one of the most amazing things I've ever eaten! I made it for a brunch I was hosting for my girlfriends and it got rave reviews from everyone including someone who didn't like French toast. Rather than serve it with maple syrup, I opted for fresh fruit and Cool Whip and it was perfect. I halved the recipe. I bought a loaf of French bread from the store and cut off 10 1" slices. I let the bread sit for a day to dry out. I dipped each slice in the custard then put it into the casserole, topping it with the remaining mixture. The next morning I topped it with the praline topping and covered it with foil. I baked it for 30 minutes then pulled the foil off and baked for another 25 minutes so it would get nice and golden. It was perfect and not mushy at all. Not something I will make very often, but definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      Excellent!!! I excluded the extra milk though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      Yuck! This recipe was very mushy! I followed the recipe exactly as written. I even put it back in the oven to cook about 20 minutes longer but it didn't help. I am disappointed but had my doubts that it might be soggy based on some other reviews. I will not be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      All of the pieces of bread in the middle were soggy while the ones on the outside were crunchy. The praline topping and overall flavor was great, but I couldn't get past the texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2011

      Yummy! I made this delicious French Toast this morning for Easter breakfast. Put it together last night and put it in the oven this morning during the egg hunt. I followed directions EXCEPT..... I laid the bread out in two 9x13 buttered dishes and didn't add the pecans to one dish for the kids. I also sliced fresh strawberries last night and added a little sugar to let them macerate over night. It was wonderful on top of the french toast! Bright and fresh! Add some thick sliced bacon and fresh squeezed oj and you have a beautiful breakfast that is easy as can be!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      What a great Christmas morning breakfast! If you can manage to get up before the kids, all you have to do is put on the praline topping and pop it in the oven! (Mine did spill over a little bit so put something under the pan to catch it unless you want to be cleaning your oven before Christmas dinner!) This recipe fed 7 with one serving left over (that I ate later that day!!) Definitely in the "Tested Best" cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      As a rule, I don't like french toast. Until now.

      Now I didn't make this as written, first, I halved the recipe. Then I used milk instead of half and half, and completely omitted the 1C milk, and just dipped the bread into the mix.

      I buttered a baking sheet, and laid the slices out one by one, baking at 350 for 20 minutes. I will try baking longer next time, as the edges were deliciously crispy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      This receipe was beyond incredible! My husband exclaimed, "You have really outdone youself this time." This is coming from a man who rates my meals...hardly ever gives me a 10 b/c he believes there is always something that can be done to make it a 10....My first 10!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      Made this for Christmas morning breakfast & it was sooo good!! I took the advice of others & did not add the 1 cup of milk which was good because there was plenty with the 1/2 & 1/2. I think next time I will not overlap the slices so that they get a generous dollop of the praline topping. I will not add the corn syrup because I felt the topping should have been crumbly but it wasn't & it was hard to put on. I also did not add any nuts due to personal preference & I didn't have any & I used a 1/2 stick a butter because there is no way that a whole stick is necessary

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      I've just been requested to make this recipe for xmas again this year! it is supper yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

    • on October 06, 2009

      Every time I make this people request the recipe. It is absolutely delicious. I use half of the nuts and make half with and half without for those people that do not like nuts. Bothe wasy is AMAZING!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      I have made this without the praline topping and I add 1 can of apple pie filling and a half jar of carmel sauce on top then bake. Yummo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      This was served at the first summer breakfast at the Cathedral this past Sunday. What a delicious start!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked French Toast Casserole With Maple Syrup

    Serving Size: 1 (348 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1296.9
     
    Calories from Fat 576
    44%
    Total Fat 64.1 g
    98%
    Saturated Fat 30.2 g
    151%
    Cholesterol 364.8 mg
    121%
    Sodium 1334.1 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 151.0 g
    50%
    Dietary Fiber 6.0 g
    24%
    Sugars 47.4 g
    189%
    Protein 34.2 g
    68%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites