Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked French Toast Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked French Toast Casserole

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on January 31, 2008

      Wow! Never again will I make French Toast on the stove top! Your recipe caught my eye because the base ingredient list was very similar to my old standby french toast recipe, only mine did not use nutmeg and I usually use Texas toast for the bread. We loved the addition of the nutmeg, and the topping that turned into such a crunchy sweet delight absolutely knocks out the competition in my opinion! This recipe should be very easy to halve, or double, depending on the occasion. Our family loves "breakfast for dinner" and I gave your recipe it's test run with them. One of our favorite breakfast dinners is french toast, cream cheese scrambled eggs, and apples and sausages. Traditionally they will devour my cream cheese scrambled eggs before they even think about eating anything else on their plate, but they tried this first out of curiosity and 2 out of 3 of them broke tradition and darn near let their favorite eggs get cold! That's when you know you've got a good one! Thanks for this great recipe! :) Observation note: Try and leave a bit of space between each piece. I had crowded it a bit and noted that some of the inner pieces that were touching were still a bit "wet spongy" instead of "cooked spongy." Are those words? LOL I quickly resolved this by setting it under the broiler for just a few minutes. Next time I will save myself the step.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2013

      I tried this recipe but did a little alterations. I used one loaf of cranberry walnut bread from Publix and one loaf of egg and raisin bread, coconut milk instead of plain milk. It came out great a little soggy need to adjust liquids more when changing out from the french bread. The topping is great and even fried some leftovers the next day which gave me the crispy texture I prefer. I liked the cranberry walnut the best!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2013

      I have made this casserole many times. I made it for friends and family and they all love it. The topping is very tasty. No need for syrup! I leave a few pieces plain for those that cann't eat the nuts. No one has disliked this french toast yet. I had to bake it a little longer than stated or it was a little too soggy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      This was just okay for us. Dh and the kids liked it enough. Actually, dh loved it. It was a little strange texture-wise for me. Honestly, I'd have been happy just leaving off the topping and using syrup instead. I think it might have crisped up a little more. The crust edges were good. I even let it cook an extra 5 minutes, but it was still too mushy for me. The egg was fully cooked, so it wasn't that. It just was too mushy. I also wasn't crazy about the nutmeg addition. It would have been better with just the cinnamon, in my opinion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      I was kind of concerned as to how this would turn out as I've never made french toast in the oven before. Wow was this great!! Tasted better than on top of the stove and so easy to make! Thanks for sharing, I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      Awesome!! Made this for a brunch get-together with family,received lots of compliments!! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      Very tasty and sweet. Yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      Excellent recipe! Turned out perfect. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      I made this Christmas morning for my family. This is very special! Not something you would want every morning, but this will be a Christmas morning tradition in my house from now on!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      This was a great way for a simple brunch I served it with some patty sausage and had no end of complements. It was very easy to prepare, no muss no fuss and srpinkled the topping the next morning and voila' a meal. This will surely be a holliday breakfast treat for my family in years to come. Thanks so much for this fine recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      Yum Yum Yum I made this for my employees for an Easter Brunch and it was lovely and easy to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

      Made this for a brunch with 5 families and 14 children. It went over fabulously. The kids thought it tasted like cinnamon rolls. I was able to put all the slices in one 9" x 13" pan. The topping was so yummy!!! So easy that I will definitely make again and again!!! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked French Toast Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (273 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 594.0
     
    Calories from Fat 342
    57%
    Total Fat 38.0 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 17.9 g
    89%
    Cholesterol 239.3 mg
    79%
    Sodium 503.4 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.6 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 24.7 g
    98%
    Protein 12.4 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes