26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The muffins are wonderful! They are highly addictive, so I recommend doubling the recipe. I live in upstate New York, and one of the treats around here that everyone knows and loves are apple cider donuts. These muffins taste a lot like those, so they keep my family satisfied during winter, spring, and summer (when apple cider donuts are not available). I was thinking of substituting apple cider or juice for the milk, just to see if the taste would come closer. Also, to make the recipe more decadent, I used a pastry brush to put some melted butter on the muffins before I rolled them in cinnamon and sugar. It makes the mixture stick more and gives the muffins a little bit more of a sinful flavor. I saw a show on the Food channel called "The Best Thing I Ever Ate," and one of the cooks suggested donut muffins from one of her favorite bakeries. When they showed how they made the muffins, they slathered the muffins in butter when they came out of the oven and then dusted them with the cinnamon and sugar, so that gave me the idea. It's worth the extra calories.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrunkFrack March 30, 2011

Absolutely yummy! I doubled the batch, then made half mini muffins with cinnamon topping and then added a squirt of lemon juice and a handful of blueberries to the rest of the batter and made them regular size and they were perfect! I'm going to freeze some so I don't eat them all at once.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
campergirls3 January 31, 2009

Made these yesterday and boy do they smell good. I couldnt resist one right out of the oven. They do have a donut taste and would be good w/confec sugar on top as well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzanne Stewart February 25, 2004

Yummy. Very versatile. I doubled the batch and made 4 different muffins - raspberry, cherry, plain and passionfruit cheesecake (mixed together cream cheese and passion fruit jelly - this mixture kind of disappeared into the muffin somehow - gave a bit of flavour but no cheesecake layer). Easy and very tasty. I made some of the plain ones as directed except I did brush the hot muffins with melted butter before sprinkling on the cinnamon sugar. On the rest of the plain ones I sprinkled the cinnamon sugar before baking - gave a nice crunchy top. All were great! Thanks so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marysdottir October 30, 2013

I would give this 4.5 stars if I could because they were great! There was just a little bit too much nutmeg for me; I'm going to reduce it next time. The texture was similar to a cake donut which I really liked. I put a little bit of melted butter on them before rolling them in the cinnamon sugar mixture like the previous reviewer suggested, and that was delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swanddwarfs April 15, 2011

This was an easy and delicious recipe, i would give it more stars if i could. They taste exactly like a Tim Horton's old fashioned sugar donut. i will be making these often. Thank You!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yellow Lab Lover July 06, 2010

I liked these very much. I agree with some of the other reviewers in that I didn't think they tasted like doughnuts, but they stand on their own merit I think. Plus they are quick and easy to make. (i was a little worried about adding the milk after the dry ingredients, in my experience it's usually the dry ingredients that go in last, but it worked OK) I made one batch as the recipe The second batch I made with a little blob of jam (jelly) in the middle and that worked well too. Thanks Petunia (and your aunt!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patchwork Dragon February 03, 2010

These filled the need to make a quick and easy treat this morning but weren't anything I would make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPsBarbie September 21, 2009

This is easier than the other donut muffin recipes I've tried. My son likes them rolled in powdered sugar instead of the cinnamon sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chocolatl June 06, 2009

I agree with some of the other reviewers that these don't really taste like donuts, but they are still very good. I made mine vegan (by replacing the margarine with canola oil, the egg with Ener-G egg replacer, and the milk with rice milk) and they turned out fine. I also filled the centers with jelly after I took them out of the oven and before I sprinkled them with the cinnamon sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lashannamasala April 25, 2009
Baked Donut Muffins