Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Donut Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Donut Muffins

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on March 30, 2011

      The muffins are wonderful! They are highly addictive, so I recommend doubling the recipe. I live in upstate New York, and one of the treats around here that everyone knows and loves are apple cider donuts. These muffins taste a lot like those, so they keep my family satisfied during winter, spring, and summer (when apple cider donuts are not available). I was thinking of substituting apple cider or juice for the milk, just to see if the taste would come closer. Also, to make the recipe more decadent, I used a pastry brush to put some melted butter on the muffins before I rolled them in cinnamon and sugar. It makes the mixture stick more and gives the muffins a little bit more of a sinful flavor. I saw a show on the Food channel called "The Best Thing I Ever Ate," and one of the cooks suggested donut muffins from one of her favorite bakeries. When they showed how they made the muffins, they slathered the muffins in butter when they came out of the oven and then dusted them with the cinnamon and sugar, so that gave me the idea. It's worth the extra calories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      Absolutely yummy! I doubled the batch, then made half mini muffins with cinnamon topping and then added a squirt of lemon juice and a handful of blueberries to the rest of the batter and made them regular size and they were perfect! I'm going to freeze some so I don't eat them all at once.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2004

      Made these yesterday and boy do they smell good. I couldnt resist one right out of the oven. They do have a donut taste and would be good w/confec sugar on top as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2013

      Yummy. Very versatile. I doubled the batch and made 4 different muffins - raspberry, cherry, plain and passionfruit cheesecake (mixed together cream cheese and passion fruit jelly - this mixture kind of disappeared into the muffin somehow - gave a bit of flavour but no cheesecake layer). Easy and very tasty. I made some of the plain ones as directed except I did brush the hot muffins with melted butter before sprinkling on the cinnamon sugar. On the rest of the plain ones I sprinkled the cinnamon sugar before baking - gave a nice crunchy top. All were great! Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2011

      I would give this 4.5 stars if I could because they were great! There was just a little bit too much nutmeg for me; I'm going to reduce it next time. The texture was similar to a cake donut which I really liked. I put a little bit of melted butter on them before rolling them in the cinnamon sugar mixture like the previous reviewer suggested, and that was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      This was an easy and delicious recipe, i would give it more stars if i could. They taste exactly like a Tim Horton's old fashioned sugar donut. i will be making these often. Thank You!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      I liked these very much. I agree with some of the other reviewers in that I didn't think they tasted like doughnuts, but they stand on their own merit I think. Plus they are quick and easy to make. (i was a little worried about adding the milk after the dry ingredients, in my experience it's usually the dry ingredients that go in last, but it worked OK) I made one batch as the recipe The second batch I made with a little blob of jam (jelly) in the middle and that worked well too. Thanks Petunia (and your aunt!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      These filled the need to make a quick and easy treat this morning but weren't anything I would make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2009

      This is easier than the other donut muffin recipes I've tried. My son likes them rolled in powdered sugar instead of the cinnamon sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      I agree with some of the other reviewers that these don't really taste like donuts, but they are still very good. I made mine vegan (by replacing the margarine with canola oil, the egg with Ener-G egg replacer, and the milk with rice milk) and they turned out fine. I also filled the centers with jelly after I took them out of the oven and before I sprinkled them with the cinnamon sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      I liked this recipe but can't say that they really tasted like donuts. I omitted the nutmeg and cinnamon sugar and added blueberries. Like I said, very yummy but not quite donuts. Thanks for a good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      Fabulous! They have the same dense, moist goodness and flavor of a cake doughnut. We thoroughly enjoyed these as is (except I used butter instead of margarine), but I really believe they would also be a good "base" for any other flavor you might want to add. I'm thinking blueberries will definitely be added the next time I make these. Thanks for such a yummy recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      I have an almost identical recipe except mine calls for oil in the batter rather than the margarine. I think the next time I make these (I made them tonight for dh to take to work tomorrow.) I will give the margarine a try tho I don't suspect anything will change. No, these don't taste exactly like a deep fried donut that you buy at the bakery but they are a wonderful easy alternative with the same feel. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2007

      I see a lot of people saying that these don't really taste like donuts. They are designed to taste like cake donuts. When we buy doughnuts from a bakery, we get the kids the regular glazed and my husband and I get glazed blueberry cake donuts. And no, they aren't quite the same as traditional doughnuts, but we prefer them. They are heavier (and I suspect healthier) so it's easier to stick to "just one". These muffins are SO good just like they are, but now I can't wait to try adding blueberries and a glaze!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2006

      These were good muffins. I cut the sugar to 3/4 cup as a rule that I read long ago goes, decrease the sugar in most recipes by a 1/4 cup and you will not even know the difference. My ownly complaint is that I really dont see how it tastes like a donut. It is good tho. Has a nice warm taste that is excellent for the fall weather. Very speedy to put together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      The amount of sugar listed felt like too much for my taste so I decreased it to 1/2 cup, and I was glad that I did that. Muffins were good. I rolled half in sugar, and added jam on top to the rest. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      Those muffins are to die for ! so good, moist, fluffy, miam miam miam ! i didn't roll them in the sugar, i added some cinnamon, and some apple slices and topped them with a teaspoon of nutella, that melted immediately Ha !!! we were 4 and we LOVED them, i didn't have the time to take picture ! but i will, i promise. I guess i have to say that it's the ultimate muffin recipe ! even if it didn't taste like donut, probably because of all the things i added ! Oh, and i added a tablespoon of almond cream. I made them again today :p with some grated apples, Huuum so good !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2006

      I've made these several times since trying this recipe, they are easy and absolutely delicious! I do follow the recipe exactly except that I let them cool completely coat them in a VERY light coat of butter on top then dip in the cinnamon sugar mixture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2006

      Very moist and fluffy. Our two guests loved them. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2005

      We loved these muffins-and I always have the ingredients on hand.I topped half with cinnamon sugar and the other half with powdered sugar,Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Donut Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (53 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 156.9
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    19%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 16.9 mg
    5%
    Sodium 183.2 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 16.7 g
    66%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes