8 Reviews

I have loved egg custard ever since I was a little girl. My mom used to make it for me all the time. This is a delicious recipe. I like to add just a touch more sugar to my custard. I will serve this custard with sliced strawberries sprinkled with sugar.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev May 05, 2003

LOVED IT! PanNan, this is pure comfort food! I used freshly ground nutmeg and topped it with raspberries, but it was so good it wouldn't need a topping. Thank you for posting! Made for ZWT, please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup October 29, 2011

Super fantastic!! The best custard I have ever made.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scorpioqueen56 August 01, 2009

What a lovely custard - with the baking making it all so easy. Rarely make custard so this made for a real taste treat! Topped with a dollop of whipped cream and an offering of berries - used some of my saskatoon topping from the freezer, as well as raspberries and fresh lush and sweet strawberries. Pure delight!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry June 25, 2008

Since I was old enough to sit w/my grandma at her breakfast room table, baked custard has been my ultimate comfort food. DH had dental work done yesterday, so I made this as comfort food for him too. It did not seem as dense as what she always had waiting for us when we arrived, but I used a reduced fat milk & I am sure she would have used a full fat milk + maybe more egg as well. I used ramekins & added 1 extra tbsp of sugar after reading reviewer comments. The fresh berries at the store looked pretty pitiful, so I put some grapes beside the custard when I served it & in the pic. I am so glad I chose this recipe for PAC. It was a pleasure to revisit my memories w/your lovely custard. DH was a hoot! He kept coming into the kitchen, pointing to his swollen face & saying - My mouth really hurts! Can I have more custard? Pls see my rating system - a very worthy 4 stars. Thx for comforting both of us w/this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis September 28, 2006

I LOVELOVELOVE baked custard! I ate it all day long. I like that it's not too sweet. I had it with strawberries & bluberries & I'm in heaven. :) Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo June 22, 2006

I love custard and this was very easy. I like that I didn't have to keep an eye over the stove on it. We used strawberrier and whipped cream on top. Thank you for such an easy recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Auntie Jan September 16, 2005

This custard was exellent!I did add just a couple tbls. more sugar. I didn't have any fresh fruit, so I drizzled over some caramel syrup I had made. Wonderful! Thanks so much. I'm so glad I picked this for the One Hit Wonders game!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 March 23, 2004
Baked Custard With Berries