Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Custard Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Custard

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on January 20, 2014

      I love this baked custard. I mix it up( about 3 batches) in my blender, pour it into 4 qt. jars. Heat huge pan with water on the stove top, when it comes to a boil turn stove off, add the 4 filled jars and put it in a pre-heated oven. 1 hour later we have a huge batch of custard. Let it cool and put in fridge for tomarrow. I like it warm in the winter.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      This is a great egg custard! Nice and sweet and creamy. I used this recipe to make them in little wonton cups to make little bite size sweet/savory appetizers. Next time I will make them in custard cups as a dessert with fresh berries. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2011

      This is wonderful. I can see myself making this often. Sweet and creamy ... YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      Sorry, I usually like to say something positive, but this recipe was bland and had poor texture. I have made custard with cream before and this did not measure up. I will not try it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2011

      So far I'm failing at this one. The first time I dropped my bowl into the water it sank and my custard turned into a watery mess. I'm trying again with no water so it's been over two hours and it's still very watery.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      I have to admit, the first four times I tried to make this it was less than delicious. But the fifth? Oh my goodness! I used my Magic Bullet and the consistency was just PERFECT. It was cool and creamy and you could taste the individual ingredients in it. Even the watery bit was yummy! I used a simple pyrex pie dish because I don't have individual dishes and it was simply amazing. I highly recommend using the magic bullet or even a blender, and if it doesn't work the first time (or first four times) try again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Good. Light taste, but it had a bit too much nutmeg in it for me. Also, I used 2% milk and it did not cook very well. The fat content of the milk should be more specific.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      HOLY MOLY! Gosh, this is soooo good! So easy to put together and the end result is fantastic. I did mine in individual ramekins and they came out beautiful. I fell asleep in the recliner and woke up about 15mins. after they should have been removed..but they were fine. Even my "custard hating" husband said they were out of this world. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      awesomely delicious! I cut the sugar to 1/3 cup, might try 1/4 cup next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      If I'd made it in custard cups, it may have been a 5, but I used a single casserole dish, instead. Much easier, since I'm sick right now! I'd say that it could use just a bit less sugar, but overall very good. I love custard!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      I saw Paula Deen making custard yesterday and it gave me the craving for it. I found this recipe and thought it sounded too easy. It was definately easy and oh so yummy. I put it in my special Jewel Tea custard bowls and it looked so pretty. I even invited my parents over to share it with them. We all loved it but my husband and kids didn't like it. I ate mine and my son's last night and for lunch today I am having my husbands! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      What a fantastic recipe!! I can not believe this is SO simple to make and it turns out simply delish. I love this baked custard!! I will be making this often. I tasted it warm and cold, both ways are excellent. Mine turned out just perfect, silky, smooth, and creamy. I used 1% milk, next time I will try whole milk. Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      I had never made baked custard before. I always thought it was hard. Easy peasy!!! It was just like it should be!! Thankyou!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      This was great. I was looking for a milk (instead of cream) based custard, and this was wonderful. Not too rich, great texture. Wonderful for the kids.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      This is exactly how my mum made baked custard.... simplicity yet outcome is delcious... the custard she used for "difference" in bread and butter pudding... crusty on top but of course... awesome.. thank you for sharing... Many memories came flooding back.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      This is exactly how I remember my grandma making it as a child. The only thing I did differently is add the nutmeg to the milk/egg mixture. Everyone from my in-laws to my 1 year olds loved it! Thank you for a perfect reminder of my childhood!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2007

      Made this the morning before afternoon periodontal surgery. Bless you for this recipe - smooth, delicious. I doubled recipe (good thing b/c I ended up with a tissue graft - soft foods for 2 weeks & no talking for 24 hours) and used 24 ounces (2 cans) evaporated milk as I was running short on regular stuff. Turned off heat at 75 minutes (had to go to surgery) & they looked not set - but were perfect when I staggered home w/ice pack on face. Even better today. Needless to say, this doesn't have to be limited to convalescents - lovelycool, creamy cuppa would be good anytime! Thank you for the recipe ellie - I will use it again - soon :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2006

      Shades of childhood!!! My husband ate three ramikins at one sitting. Tastes just like Grandma's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2006

      This is not really a review - just a suggestion for future bakers. I used 2% milk and it came out watery after baking 2 hours. When I took a spoonful out of the corner water filled the whole. I will try again using whole milk or maybe a mixture of whole milk and half & half. I just didn't think about the effect 2% milk would have. I can't wait to try it - it smelled wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2006

      A light and simple dessert...I used low fat milk....its so smooth soft and melt in the mouth. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Custard

    Serving Size: 1 (164 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.3
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    34%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 110.0 mg
    36%
    Sodium 95.5 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 16.8 g
    67%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes