Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Custard Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Custard

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on October 22, 2009

      This custard is excellent! It was so easy to make. Like other people though, I had to cook it for about 10 min. more but, it came out perfect. I substituted cinnamon for the nutmeg because I don't care for nutmeg and I loved it. I loved the fact that it did not require stove top directions. Great recipe! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      OMG I am droling over the photos and will be making this as soon as I have the cream that I'll need. Will rate it soon ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2009

      Had a craving for this and decided to whip it up one night because this recipe was so easy. It was delicious of course! Perfect too because we were going out of town the next day and I needed to use up some dairy. I made 5 custards in custard bowls and froze two because they were left over. I haven't thawed them out to try them yet so I will let you know how they came out when I do. Thanks! UPDATE 8/20/09: Tried the frozen custards today. I thawed them in the microwave using the defrost function for 5 minutes. Unfortunately they came out much much too soggy and were not good, so I would stay away from freezing them :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      Absolutely wonderful. I actually baked a box yellow cake half way, then poured the custard over the cake and finished baking in the water bath. served like 10 people with it and was gone in 10 mins. loved by everyone. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      dreamy, creamy deliciousness! Wasn't up to much fiddling but wanted a smooth comforting cuppa something - I'm taking lottsa NSAIDS for a bum knee. Cooked in indiviual 1 cup servings & had the first warm. Delicious & so soothing! Thank you Fairy Nuff for a lovely recipe I will use again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      I love baked custard but had never made it. This was yummy and easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly as written using the vanialla extract and not the vanilla essence as that is what I had. Loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2008

      I've made this a couple of times and it has turned out great and is so easy compared to most other custard recipes. I used some fat-free milk and some whole milk for the 3 cups and it worked out fine. My DH went back for seconds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      Comfort food! Just the right amount of sweetness. Loved the nutmeg! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      great custard ,dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2006

      This is the best custard recipe ever. My family and I love love love it. In fact its so easy to make no stove top prep is needed no burnt milk. It comes out perfect each and every time I bake it.In fact I lost this recipe once and my husband was upset so luckily I found it again, now we can enjoy it many more times to come. I would recommend this quick and easy delicious recipe to everyone I know! Ann R. from Maine

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2005

      I had to bake this about 20 minutes longer than the recipe stated. At first I wondered what I did wrong, then all of a sudden, it seemed, it turned golden on top and the knife was clean. It was my first time making any kind of custard. My dh thought it tasted too eggy (was it the fresh farm eggs?), and he wondered if it should be sweeter (I subbed powdered sugar, as I didn't have any superfine). My 5 yo didn't like it, and my 3 yo gobbled it up. I'm thinking the rest of it might do nicely in a graham crust with chocolate sauce on top...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2005

      Do you KNOW how much I LOVE custard? And this is easy - no scalding the milk, lol. I didn't melt the butter before greasing the dish. I got absolutely lovely little crispies along the edge of the custard from that butter. *droool* this came out perfect. I didn't tell the kids I made it cuz I don't wanna share. Bad mommy. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2005

      We enjoyed this custard warm with a generous sprinkle of nutmeg on top. Very yummmy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2005

      Incredibly quick and easy to make. Great - easy to follow - instructions for a baked custard that was equally delicious hot or cold, which means it really is well-worth making in larger quantities. I used low fat milk and cream. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2005

      This is wonderful. We had some right out of the over. Then warm for dessert. We finished it when it was cold. All were delicious. I loved it warm or cold the best. This is a nice custard. It is not too sweet, it's very tasty.I had to bake mine longer that 40 min at 325 degrees. I turned the oven back to 350 for an additional 12 minutes and it came out perfect. The nutmeg on top is perfect additiion. Yummy. I will be making this again and again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Custard

    Serving Size: 1 (184 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 314.5
     
    Calories from Fat 162
    51%
    Total Fat 18.0 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 10.1 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 212.1 mg
    70%
    Sodium 108.6 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 25.3 g
    101%
    Protein 8.3 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes