16 Reviews

So easy yet so delicious! This recipe could be taken a number of directions by adding onions, cheese, garlic, shredded zucchini, etc. I added one small carrot grated for color and a small pinch of freshly grated nutmeg. Be sure not to overcook the dish or it will dry out. Added white pepper and a dash of salt-free garlic powder, too. Served with baked fish and a tossed salad. I did shred the cabbage finely (like coleslaw) and boiled it, but I think next time I will either coarsely chop and boil or shred finely and not boil. Hope that makes sense to cooks out there. Thanks cg

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl January 10, 2009

I'm not sure if I did something wrong but I thought this was gross.. it had no flavor I tried to add some cheese or something to make it taste better but nothing worked we ended up throwing it out :-(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CareyLee November 17, 2011

When I was a kid, I used to beg my Mom to make creamed cabbage for me. This recipe is very close to what she made and I loved it! It was easy to make and went perfectly with my St. Patrick's Day dinner. Thank you for bringing back some good memories and for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lvs2Cook March 19, 2011

We're keeping this one...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tom Collins October 30, 2010

Simple and absolutely delish! I love cabbage and this was just a great dish. Thx
-- Revised to add the stars. Sorry I missed that.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook October 10, 2010

Very nice. Will definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Burgundy Damsel August 20, 2010

I made this recipe last night, and added a bit of garlic as one reviewer suggested. I topped it with cracker crumbs. It was really good! A great side dish, and easy to make. I will be making this again!! Thanks, Marie, for posting this keeper recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin mimi June 30, 2008

I didn't write down "stirring until thick", and poured a very "wet" sauce over the cabbage and put it in the oven. My first portion was less than wonderful, BUT I left the dish in the oven another 10 min., and it was perfect. I loved the simple sauce, and ended up eating another huge helping. I adore cabbage, but my guess is that even cabbage haters would love this. Delicious, Marie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bliss~ May 10, 2008

My husband loves cabbage, so I decided to make this for him. We thought it was really good. I followed the directions without change. Thanks Marie for another great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. January 20, 2008

Made this again, this time for a large family get-together and EVERYONE LOVED IT! I wish I had your recipe back when my kids were little, they'd probably like cabbage now! I increased the amount of white sauce (to 4 T ea butter/flour...) and added fresh grated nutmeg. A great make-ahead dish, Thanks Marie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup October 22, 2007
Baked Creamed Cabbage