Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Creamed Cabbage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Creamed Cabbage

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on January 10, 2009

      So easy yet so delicious! This recipe could be taken a number of directions by adding onions, cheese, garlic, shredded zucchini, etc. I added one small carrot grated for color and a small pinch of freshly grated nutmeg. Be sure not to overcook the dish or it will dry out. Added white pepper and a dash of salt-free garlic powder, too. Served with baked fish and a tossed salad. I did shred the cabbage finely (like coleslaw) and boiled it, but I think next time I will either coarsely chop and boil or shred finely and not boil. Hope that makes sense to cooks out there. Thanks cg

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2011

      I'm not sure if I did something wrong but I thought this was gross.. it had no flavor I tried to add some cheese or something to make it taste better but nothing worked we ended up throwing it out :-(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      When I was a kid, I used to beg my Mom to make creamed cabbage for me. This recipe is very close to what she made and I loved it! It was easy to make and went perfectly with my St. Patrick's Day dinner. Thank you for bringing back some good memories and for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2010

      We're keeping this one...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      Simple and absolutely delish! I love cabbage and this was just a great dish. Thx
      -- Revised to add the stars. Sorry I missed that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2010

      Very nice. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      I made this recipe last night, and added a bit of garlic as one reviewer suggested. I topped it with cracker crumbs. It was really good! A great side dish, and easy to make. I will be making this again!! Thanks, Marie, for posting this keeper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2008

      I didn't write down "stirring until thick", and poured a very "wet" sauce over the cabbage and put it in the oven. My first portion was less than wonderful, BUT I left the dish in the oven another 10 min., and it was perfect. I loved the simple sauce, and ended up eating another huge helping. I adore cabbage, but my guess is that even cabbage haters would love this. Delicious, Marie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      My husband loves cabbage, so I decided to make this for him. We thought it was really good. I followed the directions without change. Thanks Marie for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      Made this again, this time for a large family get-together and EVERYONE LOVED IT! I wish I had your recipe back when my kids were little, they'd probably like cabbage now! I increased the amount of white sauce (to 4 T ea butter/flour...) and added fresh grated nutmeg. A great make-ahead dish, Thanks Marie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      Very good. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2006

      We just finished dinner, and I had to thank you right away! This was so comforting and good. I used a big frying pan with some water to cook the cabbage instead of boiling and draining. I also used skim milk and added a little bit of cheese to the sauce. It was so rich and creamy. I will definitely serve this to company as well. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2006

      This is so good, what a wonderful way to enjoy one of my favorite veggies! I sauteed some onions and garlic before the addition of butter for the roux, topped it with Parmesan cheese and the breadcrumbs also...we loved this, thanks Marie! Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2005

      Creamy and delicious! This earned an "I looooove cabbage!" from my 2 1/2 year old! Thanks Marie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2005

      A nice, mild, tasty dish! This was my first time trying creamed cabbage and I like it! I quartered the recipe just for me. Thanks Marie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2005

      This is one of our favorite ways to cook cabbage. My husband really enjoys this. I do everything exactly the same except sometimes I add a dash of hot pepper sauce to the white sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Creamed Cabbage

    Serving Size: 1 (228 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 159.7
     
    Calories from Fat 75
    47%
    Total Fat 8.4 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 23.8 mg
    7%
    Sodium 334.6 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 5.0 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites