Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Cornish Game Hens Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Cornish Game Hens

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on December 04, 2002

      This may be a traditional dish, but the lemon and rosemary really gave it a wonderful flavor and made it into something special. I sprinkled the ingredients over the hens and just basted once the juices started to accumulate. They came out very moist and delicious. I served with stuffing and veggies. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2003

      i agree that lemon and rosemary make this special. wonderful

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2004

      I felt like I was eating a gourmet meal! It was fabulous. I doubled the lemon juice(used fresh lemon)and the rosemary along with 2 crushed garlic cloves. I also put 2 lemon slices inside the cavities before roasting. The flavor of these hens was just wonderful. I have the need to go buy a few more hens right now!!!! Thanks Mimi

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2003

      Wonderful flavor - I roasted potatoes around the hens (I half cooked them first) awesome. The one problem I had was that there was not enough juice to baste every 10 minutes in fact there was not enough to baste more than once. I added 2 oz of Vodka to the bottom of the pan and swirled it around this made enough "Juice" to baste the hens and get the potatoes absolutely golden brown. Easy delicious recipe. Will do it again

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2003

      Oh my goodness! This is absolutley delicious. I used fresh lemon and rosemary and roasted the hens on a bed of root vegetables and fresh brussels sprouts. The marinade gave the veggies such wonderful flavor!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2003

    • on June 29, 2003

      What a flavorful blend, so easy too! I put 1/2 a lemon (peeled), garlic clove, and rosemary in my little chopper and poured that mixture over the little hens, basting occasionally. I put the other two quarters of lemon inside before baking. The aroma was superb, the citrus made it very tender and juicy, and the taste was nothing less than gourmet! Served with a wild rice and braised squash medley...this was better than most 5-star restaurants! Perfect for a candelit romantic evening at home.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      Made these for Christmas dinner and they turned out great. I liked the slight tang the lemon juice gave it. The only thing I would do different is turn the heat up to 400 for the last 10-15 mins of cooking to give more color to the skins. I will definately be making these again. Thanks Mimi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      One word,Delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      Wonderfull! Everyone just loved it. I put 2 sweetpotatoes,peeled and cut into big pieces around it and sprinkled the potatoes with 1/4 tsp.cumin and 1/4 tsp.cinnemon,it was a great meal and I fix my little pousins only this way!thank for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2009

      I love to cook cornish hens. this recipe is just great. I make these alot during the holidays and we all know most meats do need a little seasonings, I cant have much salt so this with the garlic it best for me. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      I liked this, it was simple and quick to prepare. I added some salt and pepper to the recipe after reading some of the earlier reviews and I think it worked nicely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      this is a good base recipe but it definitely needs a bit more flavor added to it. i added at least 3 cloves more of minced garlic to the butter sauce, and then stuffed the hen with a few more whole, peeled garlic cloves, as well as a small bunch of fresh oregano. then i also put the extra already-squeezed fresh lemon peels inside, which helps keep the hen moist while adding a bit more flavor (remove lemon peels, oregano & garlic cloves after you're done cooking the hen). i then sprinkled some salt & pepper on it before putting it in the oven. the resulting cornish hen was tender, moist, flavorful & VERY delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      What a delicious dinner! I added a covering to the hens of kosher salt and pepper before roasting. Also, I used a few extra cloves of garlic. I thought the hens were very good. There was a hint of garlic and lemon throughout. They came out incredibly moist as well. I will make this again, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      This recipe worked for us because we are a family with a young toddler who isn't ready for alot of spices yet. I thought the hens were moist, tender with a slight herby flavor. You do need to salt and pepper the hens but the garlic, rosemary and butter was a nice flavor combination that didn't overpower the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      I made this recipe tonight and was expecting the hens to have more flavor. It smelled really great while it was cooking, but once it was ready I found I still had to add more salt to give it flavor. I'll probably make it again, but I may add a few other ingredients to make it taste better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      For any ocassion, this is a delicious treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2004

      I made this for a get together with some family and friends. I was very disappointed with it. The hens were totally bland. I guess I wasn’t the only one who thought so as I noticed my guests all reaching for the salt shaker. I shredded the leftover meat and used it in another dish which turned out much better than this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Cornish Game Hens

    Serving Size: 1 (276 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 485.0
     
    Calories from Fat 278
    57%
    Total Fat 30.9 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 16.6 g
    83%
    Cholesterol 278.5 mg
    92%
    Sodium 326.3 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.2 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 48.2 g
    96%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites