Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Coconut Shrimp Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Coconut Shrimp

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on December 27, 2005

      Made these shrimp Sunday afternoon for an appetizer,mmmmmmmmm sooo good! Cut the recipe in half, worked out fine. the flavour is very good, we like cumin and garlic is always good, I used fine unsweetened coconut because that's what I had, maybe not as crisp but very very good, thanks for sharing chia. -- posted Dec 16, 2002, UPDATE: Made these tonight(Dec 24/04) as part of Christmas eve dinner, they really are wonderfull, did them this time exactly as the recipe said, soo delicious with the flaked coconut and panco. We did 12 prawns and 6 big oysters, the oysters were as good as the prawns, nice and moist, much better than deep fried. This dish was the star of Christmas eve dinner!!thanks again for posting it !! -- posted Dec 24, 2004, 2 members found this helpful Dec 24,2005, Me Again, this is our favourite seafood coat, and here we are again on Christmas eve, it has become a tradition for us, this year I did Oysters, jumbo prawns and scallops, Yummy!!! They were sooo good and always a big hit, Thanks again Chia!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      Very good shrimp! The only thing I changed was the amount of coconut (I think I used a little over a cup). I served it with an orange marmalade dipping sauce (Everyone raved about the sauce) which consisted of 1/4 cup Orange Marmalade (30 seconds in the micro), 1/3 cup of honey and 4 Tablespoons of Stone Ground Mustard and mix together. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      Quick and easy recipe! After I placed the shrimp on the baking sheet, I flipped them over and coated with the rest of the coconut-panko mixture just to make sure I was thorough (I always have a hard time getting coconut to "stick"). Some of the reviews recommended grinding the c-nut first to help it stick better. The shrimp/mixture burned slightly around the edges, but that could just be my oven or timing, and I'll watch that the next time I make them. Overall, it's a keeper! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2008

      These were good, but a little bland and very dry. This was a very easy recipe to make, though!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2003

      this is so very very good and easy too. I mixed some orange marmalade with some dijon mustard and heated it through for a dipping sauce....worked great together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2003

      These are great, Chia, Thanks! They are easy, healthy, and awesome! I really love coconut shrimp but they are usually fried (I guess), this was super. I made them exactly like the recipe, but didn't bake them as long (actually 1/2 the time) and they were perfect. The combination of cumin spice and garlic, with the sort of sweet coconut was to die for. Wish I had made more, but there's always the next time. Thanks again

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2012

      Awesome recipe! It was a big hit at the party tonight. My dipping sauce was just orange marmalade with red chili flakes, thrown in the m/w for a minute. I usually do these in the deep fryer but wanted to try them in the oven. I'd say not as colorful coming out of the oven, but still very delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2012

      Made these for breakfast....yum. Forgot to butterfly the shrimp and they would have been better. Only had to bake 6-8 minutes and did not have to turn for size 31-40 tail on shrimp. Next time I would bake at 425F for 10-12 minutes so the coconut just browns and does not have little black pieces. More heat would be good. I put a dab of mango jam mixed with lemon juice on top of each and it was the perfect compliment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2011

      Love these shrimp! I made them tonight for my parent's wedding anniversary dinner. We all enjoyed them very much. The only problem I had was the extra coconut and breadcrumb mixture burning on the pan (it was so bad, my smoke detector went off). Next time I might try them on a lower heat for an extra minute or two, to see if that helps. We ate them with cocktail sauce and it tasted fabulous! Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      We really enjoyed this one. Served with warmed up pepper jelly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      VERY very good. Maybe not as flavor packed as I had hoped....but I served it with melted hot pepper jelly and that did the trick! I increased the garlic to 4 cloves and followed the rest as stated. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      FINALLY!!! A shrimp recipe my picky 8 year old will eat! Everyone loved this tonight. And best of all it's not off limits to me (on a diet)! Thank you for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      ok...a little dry. needs some sort of dip with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      Ya mon, these were some yummy shrimp. My five star rating is coming from a few places. Firstly, and probably most importantly, I normally hate coconut. It is a texture thing rather than a taste thing and I have had the problem with it since I was a kid. Yet, I have always heard coconut shrimp was good. So, I decided to give this a go and I ended up really enjoying the recipe. I used Panko and there was enough going on in the mixture that the texture I normally don't like from coconut wasn't a problem at all. In fact, I even ate the coating that fell off and got extra crispy as they baked. Then, I loved the low fat nature of this. I can't have very fatty foods and that is another reason I often stay away from coconut. However, with this being baked and using just the egg whites I was able to indulge a bit. The only difference I made to the recipe was to serve it with lime wedges and spritz the shrimp with lime juice just before eating. That was really good! Made for Chow Hounds on ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      A great way to enjoy coconut shrimp without the 'deep frying'. Will def make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

    • on September 13, 2008

      Thanks to PAC08 I chose to try this recipe. Loved this recipe. You can make this up in no time at all. So much better for you than frying. Looking forward to making this dish again. I chose to make Piña Colada Dipping Sauce to go with this nice dish. Will be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2008

      I made this recipe last weekend and I was so happy with the results! I only tried it because the shrimp was baked, not fried. I followed the recipe pretty much exactly and they turned out perfect. Even the cold leftovers were yummy - not greasy and icky! It's just me so I ate them all weekend. I'll try them for company next.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      I made this for a party one night and didn't even get to try ANY because they were gone in less than 30 minutes. Several people asked for the recipe and liked the fact it was baked and not fried. The only thing I had a problem with was getting the breadcrumb mixture to stick to the shrimp? Anyone else have any problems?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2008

      good and super easy! a bit dry, but i served them with lime sour cream and it was great (just sour cream, some lime juice and zest and a bit of cayenne if you like)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Coconut Shrimp

    Serving Size: 1 (73 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 268.8
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    23%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 45.3 mg
    15%
    Sodium 573.6 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 12.7 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites