43 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made these shrimp Sunday afternoon for an appetizer,mmmmmmmmm sooo good! Cut the recipe in half, worked out fine. the flavour is very good, we like cumin and garlic is always good, I used fine unsweetened coconut because that's what I had, maybe not as crisp but very very good, thanks for sharing chia. -- posted Dec 16, 2002, UPDATE: Made these tonight(Dec 24/04) as part of Christmas eve dinner, they really are wonderfull, did them this time exactly as the recipe said, soo delicious with the flaked coconut and panco. We did 12 prawns and 6 big oysters, the oysters were as good as the prawns, nice and moist, much better than deep fried. This dish was the star of Christmas eve dinner!!thanks again for posting it !! -- posted Dec 24, 2004, 2 members found this helpful Dec 24,2005, Me Again, this is our favourite seafood coat, and here we are again on Christmas eve, it has become a tradition for us, this year I did Oysters, jumbo prawns and scallops, Yummy!!! They were sooo good and always a big hit, Thanks again Chia!!!!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf December 27, 2005

Very good shrimp! The only thing I changed was the amount of coconut (I think I used a little over a cup). I served it with an orange marmalade dipping sauce (Everyone raved about the sauce) which consisted of 1/4 cup Orange Marmalade (30 seconds in the micro), 1/3 cup of honey and 4 Tablespoons of Stone Ground Mustard and mix together. Thanks for the great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4TheLuvofWine June 03, 2008

Quick and easy recipe! After I placed the shrimp on the baking sheet, I flipped them over and coated with the rest of the coconut-panko mixture just to make sure I was thorough (I always have a hard time getting coconut to "stick"). Some of the reviews recommended grinding the c-nut first to help it stick better. The shrimp/mixture burned slightly around the edges, but that could just be my oven or timing, and I'll watch that the next time I make them. Overall, it's a keeper! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scouter Girl May 02, 2010

These were good, but a little bland and very dry. This was a very easy recipe to make, though!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaudon May 02, 2008

this is so very very good and easy too. I mixed some orange marmalade with some dijon mustard and heated it through for a dipping sauce....worked great together.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl November 23, 2003

These are great, Chia, Thanks! They are easy, healthy, and awesome! I really love coconut shrimp but they are usually fried (I guess), this was super. I made them exactly like the recipe, but didn't bake them as long (actually 1/2 the time) and they were perfect. The combination of cumin spice and garlic, with the sort of sweet coconut was to die for. Wish I had made more, but there's always the next time. Thanks again

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurita July 14, 2003

Awesome recipe! It was a big hit at the party tonight. My dipping sauce was just orange marmalade with red chili flakes, thrown in the m/w for a minute. I usually do these in the deep fryer but wanted to try them in the oven. I'd say not as colorful coming out of the oven, but still very delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dazaspicymeatball November 18, 2012

Made these for breakfast....yum. Forgot to butterfly the shrimp and they would have been better. Only had to bake 6-8 minutes and did not have to turn for size 31-40 tail on shrimp. Next time I would bake at 425F for 10-12 minutes so the coconut just browns and does not have little black pieces. More heat would be good. I put a dab of mango jam mixed with lemon juice on top of each and it was the perfect compliment.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ambervim March 31, 2012

Love these shrimp! I made them tonight for my parent's wedding anniversary dinner. We all enjoyed them very much. The only problem I had was the extra coconut and breadcrumb mixture burning on the pan (it was so bad, my smoke detector went off). Next time I might try them on a lower heat for an extra minute or two, to see if that helps. We ate them with cocktail sauce and it tasted fabulous! Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie Lou Who September 03, 2011

We really enjoyed this one. Served with warmed up pepper jelly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
padreaming November 21, 2010
Baked Coconut Shrimp