15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very delicious and simple! I just bought a donut pan and wanted to try something that didn't seem too difficult to pull together on a Saturday morning. I stuck to the recipe, only changed the sugar---for the white, used 1 cup Splenda, and kept the remaining amounts of white and brown sugars the same. And, the kitchen smelled wonderful with cinnamon baking!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ginamiller1 September 09, 2010

I've only tasted these straight out of the oven, but they are delicious. I made them exactly as the recipe except I did not include the mace. Thank you for this keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dutchgranny May 31, 2010

So delicious and full of flavor! I didn't have mace so I just subbed in 1/8tsp of cloves instead. I was also out of brown sugar, so I used white sugar for the topping. After the donuts cooled enough to handle, I brushed melted butter on both sides and then dipped them in the cinnamon/sugar mixture. Great cake donut!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stefany Anne August 18, 2013

Phenomenal recipe! These are ridiculously delicious. This was my first time baking donuts and this recipe made it a breeze. They tend to crisp up while cooling down. After several batches, I decided 15 minutes was the best amount of cook time. I subbed ground cloves for mace (about 1/8th tsp), vanilla-spiked brown sugar and used about half the butter listed for drizzling. Still turned out perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandy at Food.com January 30, 2013

I made these tonight and they are both easy and delicious! I topped half of them with glaze and the other half with cinnamon and sugar. I put mine on after they were baked though instead of before. I am anxious to play around with this and omit the spices and add some cocoa for chocolate ones....or plain with maple icing, powdered sugar coated...the possiblilites are endless. Now we won't have to deprive ourselves of donuts any longer since these are so much healthier than the fried versions. Thanks so much, these were alot of fun.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar mate January 23, 2011

I baked ours in 4oz ramekins for 30 mins and they turned out great! I inverted them on a plate since the topping was on the bottom of the dish and then topped with powdered sugar. My family, including my 3 year old loved them! (made about 10 donuts this way)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michigan-fan January 11, 2010

Wow, these are soooooooooo yummy!!! :) They are fluffy and airy on the inside with a nice crunch on top from the cinnamon-sugar. The dough was so easy to work with and the hardest part was pouring it into the pans without making a total mess. ;) I dont like my baked goodies to be too sweet, so I reduced the sugar in the dough to 1/4 and sprinkled each doughnut with a ts or so, which was still plenty for me. I cant eat yeast anymore, so I havent had doughnuts in quite a while and this recipe really makes a great sub! THANKS SO MUCH for sharing your wonderful keeper with us, Seasoned Cook! Ill definitely make it again! Made and reviewed for Ed'n#9 Christmas Edition Decembre 09.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula December 19, 2009

Great simple baked donut recipe. With no waiting to cill the mixure, these were made and on the table in no time. Love the favour, and the fact that not much fat is used in this recipe. I've printed this off as it's a definite keeper. Thanks Seasoned chef

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Themadwife November 16, 2009

I bought a donut pan & was dying to make some for hubby! The recipe that came w/ the pan didn't work but once again Zaar came to the rescue! This was fast, easy & according to hubby--very yummy! I didn't have a chance to read the reviews (never turn down advice!) but thankfully the recipe still worked great. I used Splenda, skim milk & had no mace in the house. The topping was wonderful. I used a nonstick spray & had no problems w/ sticking. I can't wait to make these again for him; thank u for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS November 12, 2009

These are fantastic! The only problem I had was getting them out of the pan, even though I used a nonstick, and brushed it liberally with melted butter. Next time I'm going to try a paste of flour and butter, and see if that works better. A good reason to try this again! I made some with and some without the topping, and actually preferred the ones without, although they were both great. Thank you for the recipe! Update: I've since made these several more times. I greased the pan with melted butter, then dusted with flour, and the donuts released beautifully. Thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meryl November 09, 2009
Baked Cinnamon Donuts Doughnuts