32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Diana, these were fantastic! I have made chimichangas before but deep fried them. I like this recipe much better then my own. I served it on a bed of lettuce as suggested but topped it off with homemade green chili that I had frozen, diced tomatoes, guacamole and sour cream. Absolutly delicious with a side of refried beans and spanish rice.

24 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen From Colorado January 03, 2002

You can make this recipe much quicker by buying Old El Paso prepared Mexican style meat and adding your own finishing touches like chipotle peppers or just using the meat lik it is. We also use the Mexican style Cheddar-Monterey Jack cheese which gives this recipe some oomph and use the condiments on the side as you normally would. Also, we are very fat conscious and use some Pam spray directly on the chimis as fat and they "fry" crisper than you can believe. The important thing is using the oven cooking time posted because the poster was correct on that. We also use shredded pork, shredded chicken or believe it or not, good crab meat in these and the taste is awesome!

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseChef May 19, 2002

*****EXCELLENT*****

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teri June 23, 2002

I tried this last night and it was delicious. I would love to have the recipe for the spicey gravey you serve over this.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BetsyRDH August 30, 2002

Made these tonight for dinner using chicken and cooked the meat in the crockpot. It was very tender and flavorful. I love the idea of baking these in the oven. They turned out better than the ones that you fry in oil. We all enjoyed them and they were a breeze to put together. Thank you DiNeal for a terrific chimichanga recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JaydensMommy22 August 28, 2003

wish i could give this 6 stars! great recipe- i used shredded chicken and mixed in some onion and garlic cooking sauce when i sauted the onions- gave it a little more kick...also made a spicy gravy out of the drippings and chicken broth...the whole family loves them- even the 2 yr old :) thanks DiNeal!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
booper January 06, 2004

I made this for the first time 2 weeks ago. We have now made these 4 times since then. My favorite thing to get in Mexican restaurants is Chimichangas, but this way I'm sure is much healthier and in my opinion just as tasty. If you prefer not so spicy dishes, you may want to consider eliminating the red pepper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stephanie Martens January 11, 2004

OH BOY!! These are wonderful! I used meat that was done in the crockpot. And baking them is SO much easier than frying. Served the way you suggested, and yes..I'm still full!!(Made them Sat. night)LOL..Thanks for a real keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mNotHere October 20, 2003
Baked Chimichangas