10 Reviews

I am so glad I chose this recipe for Spring PAC! I tripled the recipe because I have a family of six, and I knew 3 taquitos would not be enough for a few of my kids. I chose to use chipotle chili powder and regular chili powder in place of the paprika. One package of my corn tortillas were a bit old and they split as I rolled them. The tortillas from the new pack were very thin and difficult to work with however; I found if I started rolling from the side closest to the filling I had much better luck. I am going to keep this recipe handy so that I can make the chicken filling for nachos, burritos, and other Mexican dishes. The chicken has such a wonderful flavor! Made and reviewed for Spring PAC 2012.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate April 12, 2012

Yum, this was delicious! The only problem I encountered was with using the broth to soften the tortillas - perhaps it was the brand I had - but they absolutely disintegrated, despite trying to do a quick in and out of the broth with some tongs. So I resorted to warming them based on the package directions and was in good shape from there. The filling was flavorful and delicious, and I had time to whip up some homemade guacamole while they were in the oven. Served with the guac, some sour cream, and salsa. Wonderful! Thanks for sharing! PAC Spring '12

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews March 27, 2012

These were delicious! Based on previous reviews, I did not soften the tortillas with chicken broth but simply warmed them a few seconds in the microwave. I used canned chicken, which made the recipe super easy. The taquitos crisped up nicely in the oven; nobody missed the deep fry. Thanks so much for a fabulous dish.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tednjoc June 22, 2012

This got definite thumbs-up from DH, which is always a good thing! I used a Costco rotisserie chicken and smoked pimenton in place of the regular paprika. Like Starrynews, I gave up on the broth when I couldn't find a happy medium between not moist enough to prevent cracking, and dissolved tortilla. I heated the tortillas on my comal, which worked perfectly. I really liked the flavor of the filling in this. I served these topped with chopped iceberg lettuce, homemade guacamole, sour cream and queso fresco, and served some salsa on the side. I especially enjoyed how easy these are with rotisserie chicken and no deep frying, so much so that I don't think I'll ever bother frying taquitos again. Definitely a keeper, thanks for posting! Made for PAC Spring 2012

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess April 21, 2012

Very good, and they came out nice and crispy. I did not dip the tortillas in broth, and instead heated them up in the microwave- worked well. The filling is a tad bland for me, but I like bolder flavors than most and that's easily tweakable. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer October 07, 2013

Oh, so good. And a lot of bang for your buck fat-wise too, I think I only used a tablespoon of oil for the whole recipe. I used less salt and took other reviewers advice for the following: skipped the broth (used the microwave to soften the tortillas), subbed some chili powder and chipotle powder in for some of the other two spices and added lettuce to the toppings (the garnishes are really yummy with these and I consider them a must!). The rolling is a little bit of a trick at first. It helps to roll them tight and hold them together as you carefully put them into the pan, holding the seam closed as you transfer. They remind me of another favorite: Baked Chicken Chimichangas. Those are baked at 450, which I would recommend people do with the taquitos (it took 23 minutes for me to get the tortillas crispy and lightly browned). These are worth the work, and so much tastier than any storebought version could be!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito March 10, 2014

This will be the recipe I use when I want a healthier version of taquitos. I already have a favorite, but the taquitos are fried and definitely not healthy. This was great. They did crisp up and the filling was delicious. I served them with sour cream and guacamole. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood March 08, 2014

I made these after spectating the 2013 "Best of" Game and reality loved the lower calorie method of preparation! Lots of tasty crunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan March 03, 2014

Great healthier taquitos! I used flour tortillas and didn't dip them in broth. The filling was tasty and they got nice and crispy in the oven. Served with a salsa/sour cream mix for dipping and really enjoyed - thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for the Best of 2013 event, recommended by rpgaymer

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof February 12, 2014

What a great recipe! I added some chili powder & didn't use the broth/dipping thing, either. I heated them up in the micro for about 20 seconds as directed on the package! Baked for about 15 min till nice & crispy--thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LUVMY2BOYS November 10, 2013
Baked Chicken Taquitos