Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Chicken Chimichangas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Chicken Chimichangas

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on February 13, 2010

      Superb! You can really taste the cinnamon which makes these special. No cheese necessary!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2013

      I didn't especially like the cinnamon addition, it gave it a different flavor that I am used to. It also would have better had there been a sauce on top (I can't remember the name, but it usually is a white sauce). Thanks for sharing, though, it's always fun to try something new.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2012

      This recipe is delicious! Made it for dinner tonight, it made the house smell great and tasted even better! I used nutmeg in place of cinnamon because I couldn't find the cinnamon for the life of me. I also cooked the chicken breasts in a can of mild enchilada sauce before shredding it. Served with homemade salsa and homemade guacamole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      My hubby and I really liked this recipe. The tortilla's turned out perfect and the chicken mixture alopng with the beans was AWESOME. Will definitely make this again. I didnt make any modifications to this recipe. Thanks for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      We really enjoyed this dish but thought it was lacking in flavor and it was very heavy. Not really what we were expecting and it seemed to be missing something. I liked that it did bake up nice and crispy. I topped it off with sour cream, chopped cilantro, pickled jalapeno peppers and a bit of shredded cheddar cheese. Overall a really good chimichaga but not what I would call the best. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2010

      This is a great recipe! The cinnamon is a nice touch. Thanks for posting...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      These were FANTASTIC!!! I did make a couple of modifiacations. I used very little cinnamon. For some reason we do not care for it in our Mexican food. Also, once they were baked I put enchilada sauce and chihauhua cheese on top and baked until nice an bubbly. Great "copycat" recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      Excellent! I had 1 large chicken breast and 1 small. It seemed to be the right amount, although I didn't use quite all of the salsa. I also think I would cut back just a tiny bit on the cinnamon, but they were really very good! Three 17 year old boys were at my house and ate them right up! It was the perfect recipe for feeding them--just what I had on hand--2 chicken breasts and 1 can refried beans!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      These turned out great! I love that they aren't fried and oily. The only difference I made was to add a little cheese to each. Yumm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      I'll admit I used beef instead of chicken but I didn't wander much more than that from the recipe and it was awesome! The tortillas came out awesome and crispy. I topped mine with some queso and couldn't resist eating two!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      These were awesome! I was pleased that they did actually get crunchy like a chimichanga. I was not sure about the beans, but they went perfectly with it. I omitted the cinnamon (DH's preference), used less oil for the sauteing portion, and only 1/2 cup of the salsa, since the kind we use is hot. I could not get these to fold up into a rectangle, so just folded them enchilada style, and did not turn them over, as I knew they would fall apart if I did. Additional garnishes we used were diced tomato and cilantro. They were so delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      This was quite yummy! I did add a few of my own touches to the dish, but I don't think they were far off from the original. Firstly, I used my "Simple Homemade Refried Beans" and leftovers of Maito's "Chile Verde (Chicken or Pork)" for the filling. Since Maito's was not heavily seasoned, I did add all of the spices and the Salsa. Did not have guac, but added Queso Sauce and Sour Cream to the top. My DH loved these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2008

      10 STAR Recipe!! DH said it was one of my top 5 best meals. Did not have salsa so I subbed 1 can of enchilada sauce. Used Fat Free Refried beans. The cinnamon was a nice, surprising touch! Served with carmelized onions on top!!! Too yummy. The tortillas turned out very crisp and crunchy on the outside- the filling was amazing. Next time will serve with jalapenos on the side to add some heat for hubby! Thanks Boots!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      I used Easy Crock Pot Salsa Chicken (leftovers) to stuff these, but added chili powder, cumin and beans as the recipes calls for. I couldn't believe how good these were. I thought baking them wouldn't be as good as fried chimis, but it was even better (and not greasy!). They were very easy and we will most definitely make them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      very good recipe. i tweaked it a little just because my husband is a picky eater. onion powder instead of onions and i used tomato sauce in the mixture and salsa for topping. also i omitted the beans - neither of us like them. very easy to make and very tasty!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      This was wonderful! the cinnamon adds an interesting but great flavor. I used a can of rinsed black beans instead of refried beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      Hi, This was great. I was going to try a different one but found out I was missing one ingredient. I'm happy I was missing it. I did add a jalepeno pepper (I am a spice fiend, and also increase the cin, chili powder and cumin for the same reason. I think perhaps once you start adding exta spice to things it almost makes you a junkie and you mst have everything spicy. I pitty my poor guests. My husband is picky and I always let him rate things. If I don't like his rating and it's my recipe I just tell him to lie (just kidding) This is the first recipe he has given a five. He travel aroung the world, so for him to give it a five it has to be great Leanne I have taken a picture. I am waiting until I have a couple more to download and then I will submit it. Leanne

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      This recipe worked for us very well. I used the shredded breast meat from a grocery store rotisserie chicken (my favorite source of cooked chicken!). I only used about 1/4 tsp. of the cinnamon because we weren't sure how that would taste. I ended up with 10 chimichangas....not a problem, I'm not really agressive with rolling them and they were a bit loose but very yummy. I also 'skinnied' this...used vegetarian refried beans and lowered the amount of olive oil to a bare teaspoon for sauteing the onions and the least amount I could for basting the chimichangas. I really enjoyed this recipe and my heart-patient husband and dieting daughter loved it as well.....kind of like they could have their cake and eat it too!! They both loved 'real' chimichangas in their past lives and now they can have this wonderful, lower-fat version. Excellent recipe Boots, thanks for posting it :) Oh, by the way, the recipe called for 6 chimichangas and, as I stated, I ended up with more. I used a non-stick pan for the first 6 and a glass pie plate for the extras. The ones in the glass pie plate browned up much nicer than the ones in the non-stick pan, which browned up way too fast. I would recommend a glass baking dish for this recipe. Ok, that's all, I'm done. Thanks again Boots!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2006

      These were really very good. As mentioned in previous reviews - the cinnamon adds a nice touch to the flavor. Delicious with sour cream. Thank you for posting this recipe and participating with PAC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2005

      Great recipe, and to think, it's pretty healthy! I love chimi's and found when I cut fried foods out of my diet, I really missed them. This is a great option. I had a problem with the tortillas not folding, but cracking, and coming open (even with toothpicks). I'll try different tortillas next time. Also, I cooked my chicken by simmering it in enchilada sauce, it added another layer of flavor. Although this recipe does not need another layer, it may be fun for other users of this recipe to experiment and find ways to accentuate it. Maybe a lime marinade? Anyway, thanks so much for letting the rest of us look like such great cooks :) Your recipe was fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Chicken Chimichangas

    Serving Size: 1 (263 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 420.7
     
    Calories from Fat 130
    30%
    Total Fat 14.4 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 43.7 mg
    14%
    Sodium 1125.4 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.6 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 5.8 g
    23%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 23.9 g
    47%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites