96 Reviews

DD really liked it. And she's not that crazy about chicken. We used chicken quarters and cut them up into 4 thighs and 4 legs. Left the skin on. The pieces were large and barely fit into 1 8x13 glass baking dish. I used only about 1/3 cup of butter and I think it might have been too much still because the chicken was soggy on the bottom side when done cooking. I had to increase the cooking time 5 minutes after turning because the pieces were so big. They turned out really juicy and cooked all the way thru. The top was not as crispy as I would have liked. Probably because the pieces were so big and too much butter. Smaller pieces would probably work better. I also added other spices like onion and garlic powder because that's what I always put on all my chicken. Was definitely tender and juicy. 4 stars for an easy and quick recipe. Update: I tried using a metal baking dish instead and tried not to overcrowd the chicken and it turned out MUCH like it was supposed to. Therefore, I've raised my review to 5 stars from 4. Was really crispy and tasted like fried but easier than frying.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
southern_gal12000 August 22, 2006

We enjoyed this chicken. I really love the simplicity of the recipe. The only thing I did different was to add garlic powder to the flour. Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lighthouse Rita June 15, 2010

Delicious, easy chicken that the family requests. Love it! Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb G December 27, 2009

I hope this is helpful to e b burleson 111 and others..... I found it on yahoo.. odd cup measurements, 3/8 cup equals 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons..... 5/8 cup equals 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons........ 7/8 cup equals 3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons........ last but not least; this chicken is great we really enjoyed it. Thanks hey jude for posting.... nita

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NITA FORMALLY 294904 SOUTHERN GIRL July 02, 2008

Yummy chicken. Tender and moist on the inside and crispy on the outside. Simple and good. I too used less butter and some olive oil with great results. Thanks for sharing. Made for Best of 2012 Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme February 20, 2013

I have been making your recipe since 2007 and did not realize that I hadn't reviewed it until today when I decided to reprint a copy as mine is tattered. This recipe is much loved at our house. I reduce the butter to 1/4 C and sometimes add 1/2 tsp garlic salt and 1/4 tsp ground mustard to the flour mixture just to change it a bit. Excellent chicken!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word February 10, 2013

This was sure a success and got the reaction we all love to hear.....honey, this is outstanding! The only change I made to this was to use seasoning salt instead of regular salt. Thank you for sharing this easy and delicious recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bezbrizan January 25, 2013

Tender and moist chicken with a nice flavored coating. And it took minutes to put together with little clean-up. Thanks! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rmajor June 17, 2010

Thank you! for a wonderful recipe for me to add to my cookbook we love fried chicken but it is so time consuming that we don't have it very often. I did make a substitution I only used a single Tablespoon of melted butter then I used olive oil to make up for the rest of it. it cut out some of the cholesterol and fat content of the meal. I also paired the chicken with chicken flavored rice and broccoli it was a wonderful meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dragon reader April 09, 2010

Love this recipe! Not like heavy fried chicken but with all the crispiness! Be sure to keep all the pieces uniform in size and don't crowd them in the pan - I actually use two pans - one large roasting pan and one 9X13 for the full amount of chicken.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebS #2 March 22, 2010
Baked Chicken