Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Camel Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Camel

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on May 01, 2008

      I was going to make this for Thanksgiving last year in the style of Turducken, but it took so long to prepare the meats that it wasn't ready until the 4th of July. We made our "Turkamella" by stuffing the fish into the turkey, and that into the lamb, and that into the camel. (we forgot the eggs and dates!) We used the eggs and dates we had to stuff the empty eye sockets to keep the thing less creepy, and used 28 cases of Stove Top stuffing to fill the crevices of the turkey before we sewed it up. Of course, it was too hot in July to dig a pit of that size, so we loaded the turkamella on the back of a flatbed tractor-trailer and drove it over to the Wal-Mart parking lot, which we knew that in July, is hot enough to cook anything. It only took about two hours in that heat to cook it through and through. Then we discovered that we had no knives large enough to carve it, so we moved the turkamella off the flatbed into a trailer and drove through the drive-thru of Taco-Bell on the way out of Wal-Mart. We bought just one burrito which we deftly placed in the mouth of the turkamella. We quickly closed the doors to the trailer, and waited. About a minute later the turkamella exploded into bits from the gas buildup. We made skewers out of the shards of the trailer and made shish kebabs out of the bits of cooked meat. I would have posted sooner, but it took this long for the jailers and ourselves to finish off the last of it. Next time I'll get a permit to buy explosive devices first. Who would have thought a burrito was against the law?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      I have just served 2 years in jail for stealing and slaughtering a camel from the zoo, luckily we got to eat it before I was caught and our village has never been the same since. I didn't have any dates to hand so I used 4000 raisins and we used 20 ostrich eggs in place of the seagull eggs. Unfortunately the banana leaves I ordered off ebay didn't arrive in time so we used 10 bay trees. I agree that salt is necessary otherwise it could turn out a little bland. Every cloud has a silver lining, if I hadn't have gone to jail, I wouldn't have met my life partner Butch. thank you so much for this recipe, it has brought more things to me that I could ever have imagined

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Mine took 3 days and we changed the recipe by skinning and/or plucking the critters first. We think it needs a clove of garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      A little too dry when I cooked it. Instead of cuuting open the camel, I fed the lambs to it before it was slaughterd. Instead of a turkey, I fed the 20 carp to an obese pelican.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      made this as a light supper last week, went down a treat. However i added some frogs legs and garlic to the recipe, really gave it a french twist. yummy. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2005

      I don't mean to carp about this, but the whole recipe seems a little fishy to me... LOL, good one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      I have heard tales of this mystical dish in the local pub, and have always dreamt of engorging myself on a hearty plate of Baked Camel. A local sailor named Raymond spun a great yarn about his preparations of Baked Camel, and I now pass it along to you in his stead, for Raymond was recently turned into a polka dot umbrella by a mighty sorcerer named Jeffy. As he told it, the night was enveloped in a dense fog and heavy rains battered the rocky beach. Raymond produced all the ingredients, and laid them out before his muddy pit dug by Djibouitian orphans. To be continued....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      I'm watching my weight so I substituted Egg Beaters for the seagull eggs. It was a little runny but once I realized I could just use a little date paste to seal the carp it was fine. I would also add some salt as this was a little on the bland side. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      I loved this recipe!! and your sense of humour for posting it!! Even the reviews are funny!! Thanks for giving me a laugh this evening. Elly

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2006

      Guess what! A recipe like this really was printed in a cookbook. See it on snopes.com (a wonderful website dedicated to disproving/proving urban legends). Enter "stuffed camel" in the search bar. Very interesting reading!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2005

      luckily we have a backhoe so it didnt take us as long to dig the hole we live on farm , unfortunately im the only farmhand, so we have everything but the camel and seagull eggs but we do have a zoo...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2005

      Unlike Kathy I didn't have too many problems with the lambs - they had just been shorn so it worked out well. I was able to source all of the ingredients bar the seagull eggs at my local Tesco (thank goodness for superstores). Luckily I was down in Brighton & was able to steal some seagull eggs so it all worked out well. My boyfriend got a bit upset as it took 3 days to dig the pit, the meat seemed to cook well however we had a bit of trouble getting the camel out of the pit - I would recommend using the business pages of your telephone directory to find a local crane service - luckily we had a winch guy who lived locally so that wasn't a problem either. There were lots of leftovers, but they froze well. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2005

      You didn't specify if the lamb should be shaved, or the turkey plucked. Also the camel, does it get skinned? Well I did all that and I'm glad I did. Because now I have lamb's wool to make winter coats, feathers for mattress stuffing, and the camel skin is on the floor in front of the fireplace. Thanks for such a versatile recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2005

      I made this dish for my family reunion everyone loved it but we ran out "italian family" I should have doubled yhe recipe Chef Dan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2005

      Very nice... it took 20 slaves a fortnight to dig the pit though... recipe should specify amount of rice needed... I had too much made up and 13 slaves died in the ensuing rice avalanche... I broke a nail

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2005

      I made this "Low Carb" by substituting almonds for the dates. I served it with steamed beetles sauteed in garlic. Mmmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Camel

    Serving Size: 1 (11640 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 22298.4
     
    Calories from Fat 7989
    35%
    Total Fat 887.6 g
    1365%
    Saturated Fat 273.7 g
    1368%
    Cholesterol 37224.0 mg
    12408%
    Sodium 12386.4 mg
    516%
    Total Carbohydrate 2558.7 g
    852%
    Dietary Fiber 265.6 g
    1062%
    Sugars 2170.9 g
    8683%
    Protein 1188.3 g
    2376%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    camel

    lamb

    turkey

    carp

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites