17 Reviews

This was absolutely wonderful tasting with a mild maple flavor. It would certainly be a great dish for Thanksgiving as it enough to feed a crowd! It was a bit heavy on the currants and a little light on the apples, but otherwise great harvest comfort food. Thanks, NurseDi!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau October 18, 2002

What a wonderful treat this is! Absolutely delicious! I made it as stated with one exception. There was a fair amount of liquid left in the pan after everything was cooked. So, I drained it into a small skillet and cooked it down to a syrupy stage and then stirred it back in. Wonderful! Perfect for Fall. We will enjoy this often. Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Normaone December 10, 2008

This dish was very impressive and I am so excited to have found something new to serve for Thanksgiving. We usually have the same old thing and this squash and apple dish will shake things up. Has a great, mild maple flavor. Thumbs up from the Dennisons.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michaela November 21, 2002

I didn't add the currants (didn't have any) and added 1/2 a cup of chopped pecans on top. I pre-made this and popped it in the fridge for 2 hours and baked as written. Very sweet dish (A bit strange for us Aussies as main meals are savoury), but still delicious. This was the first dish to go tonight and it got many compliments. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingpompom October 21, 2013

Easy to make but too sweet for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Rocky November 16, 2011

This was delicious! It makes a sweet side dish, and could easily be made into a dessert. I had to make a few changes: I had to substitute Craisins for currants but that worked out perfectly. Also, I used about 1/2 of the recommended squash and apples, but I kept the measurements on the sauce and spices the same. I was going to reduce the juice into a syrup like Normaone recommended in another review. Instead, I ended up using the extra juice to save another recipe. :) Since it baked in so much juice, my recipe may have ended up sweeter than the original; I'm not sure. Either way, I'll be using this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rei-chan February 14, 2011

Enjoyed this Butternut Squash with Apples, etc. It was the color for Thanksgiving and gives a different taste to tempt the pallet this holiday.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deborahambler November 29, 2009

I turned this dish into a dessert and it was delicious! I wanted a quick dessert with my left over butternut squash, so just mixed cooked squash in with apple bits, mixed in pecans, topped with butter pats and poured maple syrup evenly over top. ommited currants, and added cinnamin and clove along with nutmeg. of course ommited pepper as well. Then cooked for only about 1/2 hour and topped with pecan date topping....2cups pecans, 4-5 dates, some vanilla and 1/4 tsp salt or so, mixed together in food processsor. Very good!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
notevencool November 08, 2009

I didn't have Currants, Nutmeg, Granny Smith, Pure Maple Syrup, or the Lemon Juice....so I substituted Cinnamon, Red Delicious, more of Ant Jemima Syrup and more butter....Very tasty! Was gonna sub Raisins for the Currants, but didn't have any of those either... :P But I'm going to make this on Thanksgiving this year with some Ham and I think it will be extra tasty!!! Thanks a bunch! ^_^

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jameth15 September 08, 2009

This is a second review - This time I used applesauce and it was wonderfujl Thanks again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy February 28, 2008
Baked Butternut Squash with Apples and Maple Syrup