Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Butternut Squash Stuffed With Apples and Sausage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Butternut Squash Stuffed With Apples and Sausage

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on September 10, 2011

      This was such a delicious supper! I made exactly as directed, except I used original sausage -- wish I would have done the maple like suggested, that would have been a great flavor addition to this. I was just cooking for myself, so I halved the recipe to make 1 squash (2 halves). I ate the one half and then scrapped the other one into a bowl to eat for lunch tomorrow. Can't wait! Thanks for posting such a yummy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2011

      This was my first time cooking butternut squash and this was a great recipe to start with! I used spicy Italian sausage with was a nice match with the sweet flavours of the apples and sugar. I think this could be a great make ahead recipe for my next dinner party. Thank you for posting! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      meh, not bad, but not overwhelmingly great - i'm sure that user error proved to be some of my downfall, though! one thing i did notice is that the amount of cooking time for the squash is far greater than the recipe indicates. i actually ended up sticking the halves into the microwave after the 40 min time came and went. i'd suggest either increasing the amount of time or turning the oven up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2003

      Good. I had high expectations for this recipe as I love all of the ingredients. This looked so beautiful when completed, but I found the flavors to be not as balanced as I had anticipated. I think I would first mash the pulp with butter (and use a bit more) and cream or milk, then add the herbs & seasonings and even some additional flavors such as raisins, cinnamon etc - to give it a bit more flavor. I was also wishing there were quite a bit more sausage in the recipe - next time I will use more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2003

      I'm adding this to my Great Recipes list. It was amazing! I used regular beef sausage, unpeeled apples and omitted the pecans (only because I didn't have any in the house). I dotted the tops with the mix of brown sugar, butter, sage, and salt and pepper, which did away with the second round of butter and brown sugar. The other great thing about this recipe is that I prepared the whole thing in the morning and it kept in the fridge till suppertime when all I had to do was pop it in the oven. A BIG thank you, chef Jan Marie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2014

      *Continued* Look more pleasing. I love the taste of this dish

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2014

      Yum! This was a new flavor experience for my hubby and I and we really enjoyed it. I used acorn squash and walnuts instead of butternut and pecans just because that's what I had and I doubled the amount of sausage to make it heartier. My 2 year old liked it too! Will make again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      This was good. It is similar to a baked acorn squash recipe we like... but the acorn squash size/serving is a better size for a single serving and is easier to serve, I think.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2011

      Time allotted for this recipe is dependent on starting with a nice, ripe Butternut squash. Now two hours into this, still trying to cook my relatively unripe butternut to the point that it is scoopable to add to the other ingredients to complete this dish. Otherwise, the recipe, ingredients, etc. all look great to this point!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

    • on October 10, 2009

      This was so great! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      A great dish! I had some butternut squash that I had frozen, so I simply made it into a casserole. I followed the directions with the exception of the squash shell. I used Sweet Italian and regular apples,(because they were all I had) but next time I will use regualar sausage, and granny smith apples. I think that would be better. We loved it, and doing it my way, its a great main dish, or a side dish. I used splenda brown sugar, and light margarine.My kids came over for our friday nite game nite, and they didn't care too much for it, but who cares??? They don't live here anymore...ha! My dil loved it tho.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      Tried this last night. It was great! I did use sweet Italian Sausage instead of breakfast sausage. Think I might cut the apple into smaller pieces next time. Thank you for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      Very good. I made some changes to make it a little healthier and it was still delicious. I substituted the bulk sausage for healthy choice smoked turkey sausage and I used the splenda brown sugar. I also opted to not use any oil. I just sprayed my pan with cooking spray and also sprayed the top of my squash. (approx 6 Weight Watcher points per serving.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2006

      This was a lovely recipe, I used a spicy italian sausage, which I thought balanced nicely with the brown sugar, kind of sweet and spicy. Thanks for a lovely recipe Jan Marie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2003

      This was a bit too sweet for me when I used the maple sausage. I would recommend a regular or slightly spicy breakfast sausage (I tried it again and used spicy). Also, it was more tedious than I had first expected. The second time the outcome was much better, and it smells good while cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Butternut Squash Stuffed With Apples and Sausage

    Serving Size: 1 (409 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 507.6
     
    Calories from Fat 294
    58%
    Total Fat 32.7 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 9.6 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 64.2 mg
    21%
    Sodium 375.4 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.8 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 8.0 g
    32%
    Sugars 21.7 g
    86%
    Protein 12.3 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes