Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baked Buttermilk Mustard Chicken Thighs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baked Buttermilk Mustard Chicken Thighs

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on August 28, 2013

      Really good, everyone enjoyed this dish. Very tender with lots of flavor. Buttermilk (lowfat) keeps the chicken moist. Used Grey Poupon and didn't find the mustard flavor at all overwhelming. I doubled the recipe, but needed to triple the crumb recipe. Used all of the mustard mixture for dipping the chicken, so we went sauceless and it was delicious. Next time I will line the pan with foil for less mess. Followed baking directions but ended up broiling the top for a few minutes cause it was a bit too wet. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2011

      Moist and succulent. I used 9 thighes bone in and doubled the marinade mix and used fresh rosemary and sage and after coating them (omited the onion flakes as I don't use them for dietary reasons) in the crumbing mix I put them on a rack and gave them a light spray in olive oil baked at 180C fan forced for 45 minutes for succulent baked and delicious chicken. The sauce was wonderful flavour wise but I think needs to be thickened with a little corn flour - took 60 seconds in a 900 watt microwave to bring up to temperature but a worthwhile addition (only used about a `/3 of it though - we like a little sauce just don't like to drown the dish in it). Thank you Julesong for a love dinner and to Averybird for the recommendation, made for I Recommend Tag Game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      Our family was split between "ok", "good" and "great". It was moist and we all liked the flavor, but would have liked the chicken to be a little more crisp. Might broil it next time. The mustard was overpowering in the sauce (we doubled the sauce for a total of about 10 thighs and still had plenty) - though we only had Dusseldorf, so I'd cut that in half next time. Served it with brown rice - again, the sauce overpowered the rice, but the chicken was extremely tasty with the rice!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      Oh, this was good....really, really good! The buttermilk/mustard mixture was devine and the chicken thighs ended up having a really nice flavor. Thanks for the posting!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Julesong - I had some chicken thighs (bone-in, skin-on) in my freezer and wanted a recipe that had a crisp coating and a delicious sauce. Your recipe was excellent. I served this with the freezer ore-ida steam 'n mash red potatoes, and pearl onions with cream sauce (my recipe) and the meal was delicious. Next time I make this, I will put the skindown first for about 5-7 minutes, then turn over, and bake for the remainder. Some of the wonerful coating and skin stuck on the pan, even though I sprayed liberally with Pam. The sauce was very good, and I am happy to add this recipe to my cookbook. Thankyou Julesong.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2003

      YUm YUm YUMMMMMM. EAsy, tasty, everyone loves them. I never tell how simple this classy dish is. People are surprised by what you can do with the amazing very-affordable chicken thigh. hehe. I served this with #34382 and #31403

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2012

      Excellent flavor, very easy to prepare - I only had time to marinate for 20 minutes this time, next time I'll try for a longer time per other reviews - it can only get better! Thanks for posting Julesong - this will be in our regular dinner rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2012

      This is one of my sons favorites. I pound the chicken thin because we like it that way. Great way to use up extra buttermilk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2011

      It cannot get any easier! I served the sauce as a dipping sauce. The flavor of the chicken is good as it is. The sauce gives it a different dimension. Either way, it was a very satisfying meal. Served with rice and salad. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2011

      Delicious! We really enjoyed the recipe- great flavor! I only refrigerated the prepared chicken for 15 minutes- but followed all other instructions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      We thought this was excellent! I let mine marinade for about 6 hours and used skinless bone-in thighs. I'll be making this again soon. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      I loosely followed this recipe. I mixed up the buttermilk mixture(with less honey, as suggested by others), and placed all the thighs in to marinate in the fridge for 5-6 hours. I don't think you get the benefits from the buttermilk and spices unless you marinate it for a while. Then, I placed the thighs on a baking sheet and topped with the panko mix( I also used chopped chives instead of the dried onion) and pressed to adhere. Baked for the recommended time, but didn't turn the pieces. The chicken was flavorful and so moist, and the topping was crispy and brown. I forgot to reserve some of the buttermilk mix to pour over, but I think it was perfect without. Keeping this recipe on hand! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      We loved this recipe. It was so flavorful. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      Loved this chicken! I used bonelss chicken thighes and breasts. and used Brownwood Farms Kream Mustard instead of dijon...it was fabulous...really nice and moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      We really enjoyed these. The sauce is very good and the coating crisp and flavorful. Served with coleslaw and new potatoes. I will definitely make these again - thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2009

      We really enjoyed this chicken! The sauce made the dish even better. The thighs are my favorite part of the chicken so I'm really happy to have this new way to serve them. Thanks, Julesong! Made for alphabet chefs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      I used only about half the honey since I didn't want it to be too sweet. I marinated the skin-on, bone-in chicken in the buttermilk sauce for a few hours before breading it since the meat had the skin. It still didn't seem to penetrate the meat as much as I had hoped. The overall flavor was quite tasty, and I do think I'll make it again. I'm considering simply skillet cooking it in the sauce and just skipping the breading part, since that was kinda soggy anyway, and the stovetop uses a lot less energy (and produces less heat in this hot weather) than the oven does. Since a few other reviews mentioned the topping sauce being a little thin, I sprinkled in just a pinch of cornstarch before I heated it so that it would thicken a little bit. It was really a delicious sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      This was a good recipe for boneless, skinless chicken thighs. I doubled the recipe and barely had enough crumb mixture for 8 thigs. I used panko breadcrumbs and a mix of parmesano-reggiano, asiago, and provolone. The coating worked very well with baking. My husband and 8 yr old son loved the flavors. I personally felt that the mustard was a little strong. We all wished the the sauce was a little thicker to go on top, but my husband was willing to take for leftovers and that means this a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      We tried this tonight. Now I admit we didn't make it exactly -I was out of breadcrumbs so I used whole wheat tortilla chips that I pulverized in the blender. I wanted the chicken to be really crispy so I only marinated in the sauce, then dunked in the crumbs just before putting in the oven. Now we like skin so this may have affected our outcome. The skin was crunchy and flavorful, the meat moist and tender but not a lot of flavor. We both needed the sauce to taste it in the meat. But found the sweetness was not for us. Will make again without the honey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      WOW this was so good I wanted to drink the sauce but there wasn't any left (and we doubled the sauce - for two of us!). DH baked the chicken thighs in his giant cast iron skillet, then it was served over egg noodles with roasted zucchini, with the sauce on everything. We will make it next time with pork tenderloin medallions to see how that turns out. The two-year old loved it too! Thanks for the keeper. UPDATE: Made it again with chicken livers instead of thighs. Served over egg noodles with the sauce poured over. It was PERFECT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baked Buttermilk Mustard Chicken Thighs

    Serving Size: 1 (146 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 265.6
     
    Calories from Fat 144
    54%
    Total Fat 16.0 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 82.3 mg
    27%
    Sodium 567.4 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.1 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 19.5 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes