9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Good recipe! I added 1 cup of peas as well. The mayo makes me a little less inspired to make this regularly though. Good but fattening!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dizzyfreedom October 31, 2012

It was simple and delightful, I added a leek with the celery when sauteing and crumbled potato chips on top and didn't have to make a trip to the store :) Next time I will add some capers to amp up the tartness, although marinated artichoke heart would be awesome as well. Thanks for a great basic recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lanibobonnie May 17, 2010

Made for a quick, yummy supper! We made a couple of modifications: added some onions, cherry tomatoes and fresh spinach as well as sprinkled a little bread crumbs on top for some crunch. DIdn't have the time to boil the eggs, but don't think it made much difference. One year old DD ate it up! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Sherm May 08, 2010

Great tasting, inexpensive and all ingredients already on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blondmema April 15, 2010

This recipee was very delicious! My 3 yr old and 2 yr old inhaled it! I did change it a bit. I used calorie wise miracle whip and I also added a small can of pepper and lemon tuna. It added wonderful flavors. I topped it with grated cheese and left out the onion rings. I also chopped up a small onion and fried it with the celery. Thanks for a delicious recipee!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Makalah April 30, 2008

This is a wonderful light casserole. Being a Canadian, I used Miracle Whip instead of mayo, and so skipped on the lemon juice. I also did not use french fried onion rings, though I could see how the taste of onion would improve the dish and will definitely saute some chopped onion with the celery next time I make this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
starsrift September 03, 2007

Great brown rice recipe. I didn't have time for the eggs, but I don't think I missed much without them. I wish I could sub the mayo for something less fattening. I also added some chedder cheese on top before baking. Delicious. The brown rice stayed crunchy. I omited the ff onion rings due to my meals are all gluten-free.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
glutenfree55 July 16, 2007

i have made this many times but never reviewed it. i make this exactly as posted, except for the celery, can't do cooked celery. i just sprinkle in about 1/2 teaspoon of celery salt into the mix and also use low fat mayo. when i am really lazy. i use success or instant minute brown rice. great recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears March 22, 2007

I made the recipe as stated...tho forgot to top with onion rings (we use Funyuns here as we are gluten free!) I was afraid it wouldn't have much "taste" as there are no onions (aside from the topping) or other seasonings but it was GREAT! The lemon juice added the right amount of seasoning. Both my 3 & 4.5 year old LOVED it. The 4 year old liked cracking the boiled eggs, which I had just happened to boil up in the morning! All in all, a nice, easy, tasty GLUTEN-FREE casserole! Thanks Dancer^!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smidgentigre smith March 21, 2007
Baked Brown Rice & Tuna Casserole