13 Reviews

A+! We really enjoyed this recipe, I didn't have enough room for 8 eggs in my 2 1/2 qt dish so I used 7. It is just my DH and I and we ate half of it, I would suggest doubling the recipe if serving to company. I added 1/4 tsp garlic powder, a few shakes of seasoning salt, paprika and pepper to the potatoes when in the skillet. It took about 15 minutes for the potatoes to brown up nice. I mixed everything together (except cheese) and put 1/2 potato mix in dish, sprinkled 1/2 small cubed brie cheese over it, topped with the rest of potatoes/cheese and added eggs. I think I made the wells a bit too deep because it took my eggs about 20 min to set. We do like them runny, but next time I'm going to try and scramble them then pour over and bake. This really is such a great recipe, I can't wait to try this on company!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rollin in the Dough! February 21, 2010

This recipe made it into book#234156! I wish I could rate this with 10 stars. It is fantastic!!!! It has that special "wow" factor in both presentation and taste. I had family coming for an overnight visit so I prepared the recipe the day before and put it in the fridge. In the morning, I just heated the oven and the breakfast was a breeze. I served this with toast and some fruit and yogurt. Everyone was so impressed and loved the taste. It is very filling, too! Since I love potatoes, I used 6 instead of 4. I used some good quality ham found near the deli department. The brie and ham combo...mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm. I thought it was such a pretty presentation with the eggs nestled into the mixture. I forgot about the paprika but I loved it as it was. If you like your egg yolks a little bit runny (like I do) , I would suggest checking them after 10 minutes instead of 15. Don't wait for company to try this breakfast, treat yourself!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood December 30, 2008

Made for the *Best of 2008* cookbook tag game & I can never find that darn 10* rating when I need it! DH is a breakfast/brunch hound, reveres potatoes (as all Icelanders do), we both love brie & this is a new fave. Iceland has far too few pre-made products IMO, but to my surprise does have frozen bags of cubed potatoes & ham that are ideal for this. So my fix was even easier than most when I began w/Prep Step 2, skipped the warming step & used leek for the green onion rarely found here. I have a raw-egg aversion (unlike DH) & opted to cook it till the whites were *very* well-set, which he did not mind. Thx for sharing this sure-to-be repeated recipe w/us. *Yum* ! :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis February 21, 2009

We make this during snowmobiling season, it works very well, the only thing is to add more potoates.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hilaryvardy February 18, 2009

I made this tonight and it was just OK. Couldn't taste the brie at all and not much flavor. The presentation was beautiful but it just needs some spices. I'm going to try this again only this time I'm going to use cream cheese instead of the brie. Could easily be made on stovetop in a skillet as well. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msjill111 January 25, 2009

Very tasty! I just made for x-mas brunch and we really enjoyed it. I couldn't really taste the brie (using the whole amount and cutting everything else in half) but it was still very good. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLBoyle December 25, 2008

SO delicious, and just so great that you can prepare most of it ahead. Love crispy potatoes, love Brie and both were at their scrumptious best in this dish. I used a blend of olive oil and butter when frying the potatoes and added some minced garlic, and some grindings of rosemary and sage (from a mini grinder) in the last 5 minutes of cooking the potatoes. I subbed cooked bacon for the ham and cooked the dish till the eggs were set as I don't like my eggs runny. I made a scaled down version for this morning's brunch, but I'm to make a larger quantity to take to my brother's place for everyone to enjoy on Boxing Day morning! A fabulous blend of flavours, GaylaV! Thank you for sharing this recipe. Made for PRMR.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder December 19, 2008

What a special, special brunch this morning! I love the mix of flavors! This is definitely going in my keeper file. I cut the recipe in half, and only used two eggs so there would be some "untouched" by eggs for picky kids! They loved the potatoes by themselves. I did everything this morning, so my potatoes were already warm. So I cut out the initial 15 minutes of baking and put the eggs right into the casserole. I baked for about 17 minutes. Next time I'll reduce to about 14 minutes because I prefer a runny yolk. Thanks for another delicious recipe, GavlaV! Made for PRMR tag!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom November 30, 2008

Excellent breakfast or brunch dish!!!! I made an extra baked potato the night before and then cut this up in the morning for the dish. I used bacon in place of the ham. I didn't want the soft yolk, so I scrambled them and poured them over the potato mixture. I think the brie cheese put this over the top!!! I did reduce the recipe to serve 2 and cut the brie into small pieces to get even distribution. Will definitely make this again, especially when having company. Thanks for the recipe Gayla. Made for PRMR.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 November 11, 2008

Delicious casserole for brunch or dinner any time. I used a 9x13 glass baking dish and the back of a large serving spoon to make the wells for the eggs. Served with sliced tomatoes and thick slices of French bread toasted and buttered. I will make this again and try different cheeses and bacon for variation. Yummy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodtvfan November 10, 2008
Baked Brie, Potatoes, Ham and Eggs