68 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is delicious. I've made it with apple butter and plum butter (i just look at what I have in the fridge). Yum!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ABQ Kat June 11, 2010

I'm surprised that this recipe is so popular! Each of the ingredients is delicious individually but the ingredients just don't work well together. This was beautiful when it came out of the oven and I was very optimistic when I put it out for my New Years Eve guests. Unfortunately, this dish was VERY GREASY, almost oily and slimy. It didn't hold its shape and just lay on the plate like a great oily blob. If Zero Stars had been available, I would have chosen that option.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scseely January 03, 2010

Awesome crowd pleaser! Make sure you thaw your pastry well and check and double check for any tears or holes in the pastry before baking. Served with water crackers and green apple slices. I put it on a hot plate to keep warm.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saraquarius November 01, 2009

I made this with strawberry preserves for company Friday night. It's deceptively simple to prepare and the presentation and taste are so impressive. This will be a staple of mine for entertaining from now on. I'm looking forward to trying it with different variations of preserves and nuts.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyloves2cook September 28, 2008

scseely must have used a really cheap brie...I had no trouble with this, and the taste was extraordinary.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Apophis B. December 28, 2013

I made this recipe as directed for New Years Eve. It was good, but not quite as great as I would have expected given the reviews. The pastry shell didn't quite crisp, so I think next time I will use the egg wash a few reviewers suggested. Also, the top of the rind tended to collapse as the cheese was consumed. I had to keep cutting away at it so that guests could eat the cheese towards the back. I think next time I would suggest cutting just the top of the rind off.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kreebs January 08, 2013

Awesome with pepper jelly

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amysellers333 December 26, 2012

this was absolutely amazing especially with the rosemary crackers I served with it. I omitted the almonds and used raspberry. I recommend waiting 10 min before cutting into it or else it will spill it all over. this was the last thing out of the oven at as potluck and still the first thing to go!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sofie-a-toast December 21, 2012

Delicious! I made it with raspberry preserves and it turned out just wonderful. Thanks for the great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slimknitty May 24, 2011

I never would have guessed this could be so easy! Made it last weekend for my Wine and Cheese tasting. Easily the most favored one of the cheese offerings. Really, really good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kc in la March 03, 2009
Baked Brie in Puff Pastry With Apricot or Raspberry Preserves